Get out of safe mode

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Rico, Nov 6, 2019.

  1. Rico

    Rico Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,939
    Location:
    Texas
    Hi

    My old laptop on my network 4 machines!

    I tried "msconfig > boot > safe mode reboot Windows asks for password (no sign in option)
    enter password said its wrong, retry all fail. Tried the same password on another machine (normal startup, offers pin or password to enter) it worked

    Perfectly good laptop, stuck can't get into SM (password only, won't accept)

    Tried
    1. password re-enter many times
    2. Unplug & remove battery
    3. Success running system restore

    still in "safe mode"

    anyway to get out of SM without calling M$
     
  2. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    5,295
    Location:
    USA
    You probably need to find some kind of boot disk to blow out that admin password. That or a boot disk that will let you load the registry and change that setting. Not fun stuff. Also, never take a PC off of a domain without having a local account to log into afterwards. Similar problem.
     
  3. sbwhiteman

    sbwhiteman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    Posts:
    86
    Google "sticky keys password reset."
     
  4. itman

    itman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Posts:
    7,733
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    From recovery environment -> command prompt option, enter this, bcdedit /deletevalue {default} safeboot . Hopefully when you reboot, you will be in normal mode.
     
  5. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    3,019
    safe mode with or w/o network?

    it could be possible you cannot login when using ms account.
     
  6. Rico

    Rico Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,939
    Location:
    Texas
    @itman - I saw the BCDedit thing, how to get to a command prompt, with all the futzing, windows repair came up on a reboot
    I
    got to a command prompt. It was X:\ the command did not work, tried (from x:\) cd c:\ that failed as well.

    @sbwhiteman - I'll try

    @xxJackxx ideas for a boot disc (Free).

    It's a bad day
     
  7. Rico

    Rico Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,939
    Location:
    Texas
    Thanks Guys!

    Some how, I got back to windows 'auto repair' on boot up, got to cmd. Command line entries, (Fuzzy this old man), got to c:\ typed bcdedit command, & it said 'error' element not found (re bcdedit...safeboot), exit rebooted back to normal windows. Oh! the sys restore, indeed occurred, so now updating. Time for my victory lap!
     
  8. itman

    itman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Posts:
    7,733
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Assuming you're running Win 8.1 or 10, I forgot to mention this must be done via Win installation media -> repair option.
     
  9. Rico

    Rico Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,939
    Location:
    Texas
    Thanks Itman! It's fixed, fixed via cmd prompt from on boot up it entered auto repair, I then used bcdedit to fix
     
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.