GeSWall BSOD with CCleaner

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by IceCube1010, Dec 15, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. IceCube1010

    IceCube1010 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Posts:
    963
    Location:
    Earth
    Hi

    Just something I noticed since I'm using GeSWall again. Has anyone had a BSOD when using ccleaner cleaner? I only get this after browsing with GeSWall and I exit the browser and run ccleaner. This is on a Win7 32 pc.

    Ice
     
  2. blacknight

    blacknight Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,433
    Location:
    Europe

    I use GesWall in XP Pro SP3 since many years, ccleaner too, together. Never had problem. I have Seven too, but I had issue with GesWall 2.9, alone ccleaner, I didn't tried GesWall 2.9.1 in 7. Actually I don't use 7, I use XP and Ubuntu 10.1
     
  3. IceCube1010

    IceCube1010 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Posts:
    963
    Location:
    Earth
    It's strange since I have never had this problem with any version of GeSWall and ccleaner on any OS. I will try and get the specifics of the BSOD and post them here. I was just curious if anyone had encountered this.

    Ice
     
  4. johncage

    johncage Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Posts:
    70
    same problem here.
    I mailed Brian the issue, he suggested I upload the full memory dump file to their ftp to do further investigations. But the dump file is so big (nearly 2GB), I am still uploading. I think you should mail Brian the issue, hope their can resolve the conflict.

    John
     
  5. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    i am currently trying GeSWall Free it looks nice interface and also i like the greenish color bar on top:D also it is fast it doesnt slow down any thing:thumb:
     
  6. IceCube1010

    IceCube1010 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Posts:
    963
    Location:
    Earth
    thanks. I thought I was the only one with the issue. I'm using BZ Pro on my other pc and I'm leaning toward it. Both programs offer great protection.
    Ice
     
  7. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    man after reboot my geswall vanished away;) where did it go?:D
     
  8. cm1971

    cm1971 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Posts:
    727
    I use GeSWall and CCleaner and have never had a problem with either.
     
  9. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    you like boy:D i am trying to use geswall since like 2007 or so but not lucky:D
     
  10. stackz

    stackz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Posts:
    619
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    Probably due to interaction between AV + Geswall when renaming the file. (I assume you've set ccleaner for secure deletion?) Send the dump to Geswall, it probably shows a double trap exception.
     
    Last edited: Dec 16, 2010
  11. Boost

    Boost Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Posts:
    1,293
    Same here,I've used Ccleaner & Geswall together,never an issue.
     
  12. IceCube1010

    IceCube1010 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Posts:
    963
    Location:
    Earth
    I don't have ccleaner set to secure deletion. It's definitly an issue between the 2. I was able to pin it down to, if I'm browsing, exit the browser and immediately run ccleaner the BSOD happens 75% of the time. If I wait a few minutes and then run ccleaner it does not happen. So it seems like a timing issue between the 2. Not sure about the AV part, maybe I should disable the realtime and give it a whirl.

    thanks for the input,
    Ice
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.