Genie Backup Manger & Shadow Protect

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by info, Aug 23, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. info

info Registered Member

Recently, being influenced by PC Magazine's Editor's Choice of Genie Backup Manager Pro 8 in the file and folder backup category, I purchased the program becuase the writer of the review and others stressed it's power and ease of use. I also was very interested in Shadow Protect which also received the Editor's Choice in the backup imaging software category; but, I was a bit nervous about imaging software, which I have no experience with, and was concerned that this lack of experience might result in my hosing my entire system. At the moment, Genie seems to be running quite well on Vista Home Premium for me, although I am not at all the expert at backup software and have not used it extensively yet. I can say that I have not experienced any of the crashes that were described in one of the few lengthy and very helpful reviews I found on Wilder's Security Forum. However, I have not yet tested all of the problem areas that were mentioned either.

My question here is: since this is not an imaging type program, does anyone see potential problems or conflicts if I also install Shadow Protect on my system (alongside Genie Backup Manager) and use it concurrently? Does anyone have both of these running on a Vista system without problems? I have read and benefitted from many of the posts here warning of problems with Acronis True Image which would have been my first choice because of the support it enjoys on this forum (as compared to the almost non-existent support Genie has, and the little support Shadow Protect has), but I refrained from installing it feeling that it might almost certainly conflict with Shadow Protect when and if I decide to try it out.

Backup software has always been a complicated area for me. Thanks for any help or comments.

2. ellison64