Generic Host for Win32 Process error and svhost.exe crash with VPN

Discussion in 'privacy problems' started by zero2008, Sep 3, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. zero2008

    zero2008 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2008
    Posts:
    14
    I'm getting this error when my VPN connection is on. I can't surf the web with this error, but my P2P programs are still running fine. Can I just ignore this error? I don't care if I can't surf the web. Will all the traffic still go through my VPN even with this error and the svhost crash? Thanks.
     
  2. iceni60

    iceni60 ( ^o^)

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    5,116
    i think svhost.exe is malware and the real MS process is called svchost.exe (with the c in it). you should at least check that out, i looked it up quickly to make sure i got it right and it looks that way.

    but, if you are getting an error with svchost.exe though there's a fairly good chance you can fix the problem or get a good idea where the problem is. there should be a DLL and process you can identify, you can try in the event viewer. there's this cool looking program that might give a bit more info than the native event viewer -
    http://www.eventlogxp.com/
     
  3. zero2008

    zero2008 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2008
    Posts:
    14
    Yes, it's an svchost error. Can I ignore it though? Will the VPN still work correctly (not leak unencrypted traffic to the regular connection)? Thanks.
     
  4. iceni60

    iceni60 ( ^o^)

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    5,116
    i don't ever use anything like VPNs but as no one else has answered this is all i can say -

    maybe the error could mean the VPN is being bypassed, the only thing i can think of is checking with some network monitors and packet sniffers and maybe seeing if the key exchanged worked. loads of people use VPNs someone should have a better answer! i'd check on the home page of whichever vpn you are using, they should have a troubleshooting guide.

    you really should try and fix the svchost error though
     
  5. zero2008

    zero2008 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2008
    Posts:
    14
    I fixed it. By upgrading to SP3. It's been a day connecting with VPN now, and so far no errors. So I guess something's wrong with SP2 and VPN.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.