Generic desinfection, how does it work?

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Durad, Apr 23, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Durad

    Durad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2005
    Posts:
    592
    Location:
    Canada
  2. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,481
    What are you trying to refer with Generic Desinfection?
    Is it Generic signatures? :D
     
  3. yaslaw

    yaslaw Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Posts:
    167
    Location:
    Poland
    I guess that the question is about avira generic disinfection feature.
     
  4. dawgg

    dawgg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2006
    Posts:
    818
    Most AVs use generic disinfection these days don't they?

    Simplest example... after detecting malware, search certain parts of the registry for the same malware (filename/location) and tasks and remove the entries/files.
     
  5. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    2,588
    you cant clean up an infected system!

    Help: I Got Hacked. Now What Do I Do?
    http://technet.microsoft.com/de-de/library/cc512587(en-us).aspx
     
  6. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    I would agree with "You can't clean every infected system!"
     
  7. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    2,588
    admitted - you can clean up some rogues.
    in general i prefer any backup/image - its faster :D
     
  8. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    also wiser to have :)
     
  9. 3GUSER

    3GUSER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Posts:
    812

    But not always possible and present .
     
  10. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    2,588
    i know - at that state i recommend a backup of present system,
    install from scratch and get data and other important (clean!)
    settings back from backup. then create a new backup.
    otherwise the problem still exists that the computer can not be trusted.
    on the other hand some can think about a new safety configuration,
    the old failed.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.