Game requires 3D hardware accelerator card, same as physics accelerator?

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by gracie123, Dec 19, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. gracie123

    gracie123 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2005
    Posts:
    397
    Hello, I would like to buy myself a game for my PC but it says it requires a 3D hardware accelerator card. Is that the same as a physics accelerator or?
     
  2. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,045
    No the physics accelerator is another step yet beyond.
     
  3. gracie123

    gracie123 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2005
    Posts:
    397
    Oh ok so my system should be able to play the game?
     
  4. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,045
    If you have a reasonably good graphic's card yes.
     
  5. gracie123

    gracie123 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2005
    Posts:
    397
    Hi, oh ok. well, this is the graphics card I have: 1GB NVIDIA GeForce 7950 GX2 Dual-GPU.


    Gracie
     
  6. lucas1985

    lucas1985 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    4,047
    Location:
    France, May 1968
    you have more than enough horsepower ;)
     
  7. BlueZannetti

    BlueZannetti Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Posts:
    6,590
    Ummm, yes, that one will do quite nicely..., with every commercial game released to date and for a while to come. Very nice option and I'm jealous by the way!

    Blue
     
  8. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,045
    Your only problem may be not accelerating them off screen:D
     
  9. BlueZannetti

    BlueZannetti Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Posts:
    6,590
    The second GPU will handle that...., but as most of us have learned the hard way - including Bill "640 kb" Gates :) - your choice of buying for the distant future is absolutely the only way to go, especially on the front end of the Vista release. It seems like a plenty of power now, but at some point it will be just right...

    Blue
     
  10. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    8,697
    Hello,
    Your electricity bill will soar up, that's for sure.
    Mrk

    P.S. My gaming, workhorses, I have 128MB 6600GT, even the heaviest FPS on high detail run smoothly, and on another machine 256MB 7600GT, every game works perfectly. So your card is quadruple super-overkill. Cheers!
     
  11. lucas1985

    lucas1985 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    4,047
    Location:
    France, May 1968
    For example, the 7950 GX2 consumes less power than a X1950 XT.
    The VGAs with the most "bang for the buck" are:
    -7600 GT
    -7900 GS
    -X1950 Pro
    Also, if you have a LCD/TFT screen you must buy the VGA according to the native resolution of the monitor. It´s worthless buying a 8800 GTX for a 1600x1200 screen.
     
  12. BlueZannetti

    BlueZannetti Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Posts:
    6,590
    That's simply not true as a blanket statement. It is a balance between current incremental cost increase, other performance attributes that may be germane, and future upgrade flexibility. In general though, my experience is that the tradeoff usually is "total ownership cost optimized" at a step or two below the just released current state of the art.

    Blue
     
  13. lucas1985

    lucas1985 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    4,047
    Location:
    France, May 1968
    I agree with you, but monitors aren´t upgraded very often. As you said, mainstream/performance mainstream hardware is the best choice
     
  14. Inspector Clouseau

    Inspector Clouseau AV Expert

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Posts:
    1,329
    Location:
    Maidenhead, UK
    Actually it depends on your monitor. Example: I'm using a TFT which requires MORE THAN ONE Dualink DVI Connector. If the Gfx Card doesn't support it it is useless. (I'm running at 2560x1600 resolution)
     
  15. lucas1985

    lucas1985 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    4,047
    Location:
    France, May 1968
    I´m jealous. Do you have an Apple HD Cinema Display or a Dell 30inch? Certainly a VGA with dual dual TMDS transmitters is helpful here :p. Luckily, most midrange VGAs have at least one dual link DVI-I connector.
     
  16. BlueZannetti

    BlueZannetti Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Posts:
    6,590
    Yep, there's a serious case of card/monitor envy going on here as well :)

    Blue
     
  17. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    sure is:D
    lodore
     
  18. gracie123

    gracie123 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2005
    Posts:
    397
    Hi all :), thanks for the info. I am glad I'll be able to play this game.

    Gracie
     
    Last edited: Dec 20, 2006
  19. lucas1985

    lucas1985 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    4,047
    Location:
    France, May 1968
    Vista will run smooth as silk in your hardware ;)
     
  20. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,045
    Gee shucks. You all are making me feel inferior with my Geforce 8800GT, and two Samsung 214t's
     
  21. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    you making me feel like ive gone back to the stone age with my ATI 9800 pro all in wonder graphics 120mb:D
    lodore
     
  22. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    Darn you guys are making me drool. I'm currently chugging along with a 1440x900 widescreen display and this GeForce 6800 GT handles most games pretty well, luckily....
     
  23. Brian N

    Brian N Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,148
    Location:
    Denmark
    My 7800GTX will last me another year or so, don't see any reason to upgrade just yet.
     
  24. lucas1985

    lucas1985 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    4,047
    Location:
    France, May 1968
    You could sell it and pick a 7900 GS. Same performance, less power/heat, more value.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.