G Data Total Protection 2014 BETA

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by chabbo, Feb 14, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Taliscicero

    Taliscicero Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Posts:
    1,439
    G-DATA 2014 as with 2013 gives you an option to run with (A)&(B) , (A), or (B) so technically engine (B) would give you a really low detection rate on its own, where as it would have been Avast! before. I did a test of Avast! on my 100 files just for interest and it detected 79 of them which is pretty good as they were very new files conspired to the new (B) which only detected (3), I would rather the Avast! engine any day.
     
  2. markcc

    markcc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Posts:
    185
    Location:
    Michigan, usa
    I would agree with BoerenkoolMetWorst on this one. I would test it as it is designed to run & compare it to the 2013 version.
     
  3. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,552
    Location:
    Outer space
    Yes, but hypothetically, if engine A would detect 83 files and old engine B(avast) 79 files, of which 78 are the same files as engine A and the new engine B detects only 3, but since it's complementary, none of those 3 are the same as the ones detected by engine A. So together engine A + old engine B would detect 80 files and engine A + new engine B would detect 82 files. I also think the point why people choose G-Data, Emsisoft etc is because they have really high detection rates, because they use multiple engines, so then why would you want to run such a product with only 1 engine enabled?
     
  4. Ford Prefect

    Ford Prefect Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    Posts:
    111
    Location:
    Germany, Ruhrpott
    How did you manage to run only engine B?
    I'm using G Data 2014 - regarding the engine options I can select 'just one engine' - but I cannot choose between A or B.
    Having in mind @BoerenkoolMetWorst posts and the CloseGap approach, I think it's intended that one cannot switch to engine B only.

    Kind regards,
    Ford
     
  5. Cimmerian

    Cimmerian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Posts:
    410
    Location:
    New Jersey
    I second that. Testing the whole solution would give the most accurate results of its capabilities.
     
  6. newone

    newone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2006
    Posts:
    71
    Location:
    UK
    yes, testing the whole product is the way to go, looks great, :thumb:
     
  7. Cimmerian

    Cimmerian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Posts:
    410
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Same here, just checked the option choices.
     
  8. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,103
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    so how light is it compared to last year? have not had a chance to try the final version i did try a early beta and for me it was still pretty heavy. is it any better now? always liked gdata just was to heavy for me even on the newest of hardware.
     
  9. railroader66

    railroader66 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    6
    Hello ,

    I tried Gdata totalprotection 2014 from the link above.
    After that, my pc was doing verry strange. I did an online scan from Kaspersky.

    Kaspersky found a trjojan inside Gdata (nice)o_O
    Heur:Trojan.Win32.Generic in C:\Program Files\Gdata\Total Protection

    After that I had a blackscreen , and everything was gone.

    I needed 24 houres to format and reinstall everything.
     
    Last edited: Mar 27, 2013
  10. Ford Prefect

    Ford Prefect Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    Posts:
    111
    Location:
    Germany, Ruhrpott
    I scanned my system which is running TotalProtection using 'Kaspersky Security Scan' - I would guess it's a false positive by KL regarding the new G Data AutostartManager :rolleyes:
    https://www.virustotal.com/de/file/...2c4109e065571dbce239fa89/analysis/1364383293/
     
  11. Cimmerian

    Cimmerian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Posts:
    410
    Location:
    New Jersey
    I'm experiencing a pretty nice performance gain with 2014. I haven't checked any usage numbers for comparison, but the difference is very noticeable. No lag opening any programs, and much faster boot and shut down times. This is on a several year old Dell XPS 410, with an Intel E6600 2.4GHz processor, and 8gigs ram, so pretty old spec-wise. Try the release version, maybe you'll get a nice surprise..:)
     
  12. Ford Prefect

    Ford Prefect Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    Posts:
    111
    Location:
    Germany, Ruhrpott
    KL confirmed the false positive.
    Will be fixed in the next update.

    Edit: new Kaspersky update has been released and fp has been fixed.
    lol - now EAM generates a fp on this file
    ~ VirusTotal Results Removed per Policy ~
    Edit2: fp also confirmed by Emsi
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 28, 2013
  13. luckyboy

    luckyboy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2013
    Posts:
    49
    Location:
    България
  14. Taliscicero

    Taliscicero Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Posts:
    1,439
    I don't get how anyone found 2013 slow or heavy.... I had it on 4 computers and still on 3 of my family's computers. I have it installed on my fathers notebook with a 1.6ghz core and 1GB of ram running windows 7, and it does not slow the system down at all. I could swear the problem with G-DATA 2013 is just people who don't know how to optimize their system start up and defragmentation.
     
  15. Cimmerian

    Cimmerian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Posts:
    410
    Location:
    New Jersey
    I've never found G Data to be heavy either, it's always performed well for me. But every system runs differently. My co-worker and I bought our Dell XPS 410's within a week of each other. Same pc, except he opted for a better cpu & graphics card than I did. I told him to try G Data when I had used it for some time, and he got rid of it pretty fast, said his pc became a quagmire. Better specs, but for some reason a huge performance hit.
     
  16. Taliscicero

    Taliscicero Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Posts:
    1,439
    I can almost guarantee he had 20 or so programs running in the background that G-DATA 2013 had to constantly scan and monitor. None of these programs were probably necessary to be running actively 24/7 but regardless he did not realize they were there. I play video games on a laptop with a mid-tier graphics card and a mid tier CPU, I am able to run the quality on high with very little frame loss. I was able to run games great with G-DATA 2013. I can almost guarantee he had Java,Flash,Updates,Drivers,Quicktime, etc etc running in the background constantly that he did not even need.
     
  17. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,024
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
  18. siketa

    siketa Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2012
    Posts:
    2,718
    Location:
    Gaia
  19. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,024
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    @siketa;

    Much better offer thanks; :thumb:

    Any links for the 2014 versions of the AV or now the IS?

    Just taken a close look at the BitsDuJour offer; may only be applicable to the 2013 version :'(
     
    Last edited: Mar 29, 2013
  20. Taliscicero

    Taliscicero Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Posts:
    1,439
    Just fyi, if you want G-DATA and you live in the UK, they charge 50% more for all products. If you buy from the American website you can effectively get everything 50% off.
     
  21. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,024
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    But you find that a lot of American sites restrict their offers to the States/Canada.
     
  22. Taliscicero

    Taliscicero Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Posts:
    1,439
    I'm in the EU and was able to buy from G-DATA USA without a problem. I don't see why anyone else would have a problem.
     
  23. Securon

    Securon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Posts:
    1,960
    Location:
    London On
    Good Evening! I'm in Canada...went to the U.K. site to download G-Data 2014 I.S. Strange about the lag experienced from the G-Data...U.S. site. Sincerely...Securon
     
  24. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,641
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
    I want to thank Ford Prefect for his valuable contribution to this forum regarding GData products :thumb:
     
  25. Securon

    Securon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Posts:
    1,960
    Location:
    London On
    Good Evening! Well said Macstorm! Sincerely...Securon
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.