G-Data IS2013 problems with windows login

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by natsecurity, May 29, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. natsecurity

    natsecurity Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2012
    Posts:
    31
    Location:
    australia
    Having problems with G-Data on my system that I had to reinstall MSE and re-engage windows firewall. obviously, this is not the ideal situation I want to be in as I need a higher calibre antivirus and firewall.

    OK, so whats happened to my system since I installed G-data IS 2013? Every now and then perhaps 2 to 3 times out of 7 my computer would hang after login. And if it didn't hang it would take ages to get from login to the desktop. like in the minutes range

    I check the logs and system services would timeout aplenty and DCOM and all sorts of stuff would fail or timeout to start. The only thing I could do

    No such problems now that I have uninstalled G-data. login only takes 20-30 seconds now.

    just wondering if others have experienced something similar and if there is a fix?
     
  2. Ford Prefect

    Ford Prefect Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    Posts:
    103
    Location:
    Germany, Ruhrpott
    Are there any mapped networkdrives which are not always accessible during login?

    In additon you could give IS2014 a try - should be available via (the trial section of) the UK website.

    Regards,
    Ford
     
  3. natsecurity

    natsecurity Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2012
    Posts:
    31
    Location:
    australia
    no mapped drives

    my license is for IS2013. I don't think It works for 2014
     
    Last edited: May 29, 2013
  4. Ford Prefect

    Ford Prefect Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    Posts:
    103
    Location:
    Germany, Ruhrpott
    it will work :)
     
  5. natsecurity

    natsecurity Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2012
    Posts:
    31
    Location:
    australia
    Sorry I made a mistake in my reply.

    I have the license for IS2013, not 2014. I've edited the correction.

    I'll give IS2014 a try. hope I get better luck.

    Still, would like to know why gdata is causing all these issues.
     
  6. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,531
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
    Strange, most of people using v.2013 have not had major issues with it.

    As Ford said above, try the new v.2014 but remember to update the entire software build (not just virus definitions) right after it's installed.

    By the way, you can always upgrade to their latest versions while your subscription period is valid.
     
  7. natsecurity

    natsecurity Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2012
    Posts:
    31
    Location:
    australia
    yeah, its working fine on another pc we have. we only have dell here. Its a bit slow, on the other PC but no problems.

    I guess its just not stable with some PC or software configurations. but we can't figure out whats wrong. If everything is fine with MSE, then its not hardware related. So it must be software related
     
    Last edited: May 30, 2013
  8. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,531
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
    Who knows ;)

    FWIW, I too had issues with the initial 2014 version which were fixed in the latest build.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.