G DATA Antivirus kit 2007

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by greenhorn113, Nov 21, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. greenhorn113

    greenhorn113 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    Posts:
    149
    Location:
    England
    Which 2 antivirus make up this release
     
  2. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    2006 uses kaspersky and bitdefender,

    2007 and 2008 use both kaspersky and avast.
     
  3. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,531
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
    Kaspersky & Avast engines. There's a trial (v.2007) here :)

    You can get the newest v.2008 (same engines but better performance) if you buy it now. Or you can upgrade through its UpgradeService website after your trial period has ended.
     
  4. greenhorn113

    greenhorn113 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    Posts:
    149
    Location:
    England
    Thanks both I will trial it
     
  5. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,531
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
    one more thing: you will maybe need to do some minor tweaking while/after installation, for example deselecting the 'outlook plugin' and 'security news' modules while installing (using custom install). And/or disabling the 'check network access' and 'check system areas at system startup' options after installation (options / monitor tab).

    Good luck :)
     
  6. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    sorry Mac for speeding in with the reply, i know this is Your baby :D

    lol :D
     
  7. greenhorn113

    greenhorn113 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    Posts:
    149
    Location:
    England
    Thanks again I will be careful when installing,I hope
     
  8. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,531
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
    No problem Chris, this baby always visit his 'doctor' ;)
     
  9. tec505

    tec505 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2006
    Posts:
    284
    Location:
    Romulus, class M planet
    What about PC performances?
    Is it possible to set POP3 and SMPT ports, email scanning?

    Thanks.
    Mike
     
  10. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,531
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
  11. tec505

    tec505 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2006
    Posts:
    284
    Location:
    Romulus, class M planet
    Thanks.

    What about PC performances? My brother is using AVK and he's feeling some PC slowing down.

    Mike
     
  12. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,531
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
    It really depends on your hardware/software configuration. Two scanning engines running simultaneously will somewhat decrease your pc's performance. Suggest your brother to set the real-time monitor to scan with the 'engine A' only and see if there's a improvement. :)
     
  13. tec505

    tec505 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2006
    Posts:
    284
    Location:
    Romulus, class M planet
    Now I've only to test it.

    Thanks.
    Mike
     
  14. Pfipps

    Pfipps Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Posts:
    181
    I wish that G DATA would use AVIRA and NOD32. I think it would offer comparable (maybe even better) protection rather than Kaspersky and Avast. Certainly it would be faster.
     
  15. interstate ron

    interstate ron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Posts:
    65
    Location:
    over the hill from West "By God"
    Hi Macstorm,where do I get the best price on 2008 av only? I live in usa
     
  16. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,531
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
    Hi Interstate ron, this is the best offer that i've found, link. 21.81euro (around US$32), it's the german download version but you can activate the given serial number on its servers through the english version of the program. Then, your one-year subscription will start when you activate this serial code.
     
  17. interstate ron

    interstate ron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Posts:
    65
    Location:
    over the hill from West "By God"
    Thank you very much for this info Macstorm. This program is amazing in that I have not encountered one bug yet contrary to numerous other av's. It is sharp,crisp and detailed for me and no(I repeat no)slowdown at all.Wish me luck!
     
  18. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,531
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
    You're welcome :)

    I also have two words to describe this av: simplicity & effectiveness.

    Good luck.
     
  19. s4u

    s4u Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Posts:
    441
    Testing GData Total care at the moment and I'm impressed. very effective and so heavy as I thought it would be
     
  20. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    GDATA is probably underrated, and i'll tell you why....

    2006 was such a HOG, i mean it practically crashed my dual core 2gb laptop when i tried it, and its surprising how a bad version, can damage ones reputation.

    look what norton 2006 did for them :doubt:

    however, obviously enough complaints for them to re-write everything and make the great 2007 version.

    i think the same applies for gdata 2006, 2007 was a big improvement on that, and i 'hear' that 2008 is a further improvement on performance.

    sometimes, it takes a really bad version to kick somebody up the arse. :)
     
  21. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    im really interested in how heavy this one is myself..
     
  22. s4u

    s4u Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Posts:
    441
    Why don't you try yourself?
    It sure is a little bit heavier that ESS, but it is far less heavyb than everyone is saying
     
  23. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    i just hate all this installing and uninstalling .. makes such a mess i have to keeo cleaning up all over the comp and registry.. id rather no try it at all if i know its a hog, so far avira suite is by far the lightest i have used. ess was a bit heavier even. f-secure was horrible on my machine never again..i want a av and firewall that you simply dont know are running unless you need to or want to do a on demand scan or change firewall settings.. etc.. otherwise i want the system to run like it did before anything was installed. any less than that and im not happy
     
  24. s4u

    s4u Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Posts:
    441
    Well, in the beginning every suite or set up needs some tweaking. You need to give you set up some time to adjust to it's environment. After one or two weeks you can really say if it is working well or not. After this time most pop ups are gone and you don't need to do a thing.
     
  25. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    zfactor, you should consider the purchase of rollbackrx pro, you can set the clean/or any environment in just seconds.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.