Future Changes to Nod32

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by Blackspear, Oct 1, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JuMz

    JuMz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Posts:
    3
    I figured as much but I meant specifically. What entries to be exacto_O Where in the config.xml file? etc.
     
  2. NOD32 user

    NOD32 user Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Posts:
    1,766
    Location:
    Australia
    Not at all KrackerJack - you just never noticed it before, and because you asked about your issue you now have a soultion.

    Cheers :)
     
  3. kar

    kar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    Posts:
    6
    Inhibit virus-scan during HDD defrag

    To avoid data loss when antivirus starts automatic scan during HDD defragmentation, make NOD32 detect defrag process and stop/inhibit/hold virus scanning until defrag terminates. Virus scan during defrag process increases defragmentation time and often causes unwanted data loss.
     
  4. kar

    kar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    Posts:
    6
    Autoupdate to check presence of cable/adsl connection
    When automatic update each hour is selected, NOD32 should check first if PC is connected to the internet before trying to update, or at least shouldn't generate Event log alert 11001 in case it coudn't update because PC wasn't connected to the Internet ISP!
    Regards,
    Radi
     
  5. Ocky

    Ocky Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Posts:
    2,713
    Location:
    George, S.Africa
    Right-Click Tray Icon 'Toggle' for Compatibility Mode.

    Perhaps via a right-click menu on the tray icon with options:

    - Higher Compatibility
    - User Defined Settings
    - Higher Efficiency

    When doing a non ftp speed test for example, I now have to open IMON
    to change settings. In Higher Efficiency mode the whole test file will
    be downloaded at once after checking by IMON resulting in false speed
    reading.

    Edit : Discovered after posting this. There is a menu shown when right clicking the
    opaque download progress box with options to terminate or switch to passive mode.
    However it would be nice to be able to do this beforehand, eg. the speed test case,
    and then be able to revert to the original settings as defined by user.
    Sorry, should have checked.
     
    Last edited: Nov 30, 2006
  6. KrackerJack

    KrackerJack Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2006
    Posts:
    20
    Thanks for the warm and fuzzy feeling. :-*

    I still should've rtfm properly.

    Cheers
     
  7. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Hi callmejacko, welcome to Wilders.

    As your question is a topic in its own right and not related to the topic at hand, I have split your post into its own thread HERE

    Cheers :D
     
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2006
  8. penjoseph

    penjoseph Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Posts:
    26
  9. apenhorwood

    apenhorwood Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2006
    Posts:
    1
    List the install date and the date of expiration in the information section.
     
  10. Silo24X

    Silo24X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Posts:
    2
    I would like to see 3 things in a future version of NOD32:

    1.Improved Trojan and spyware detection.
    2.Detection of rootkits.
    3.A posibility to hide important Windows processes from viruses.
     
  11. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    NOD32 already detects and removes successfully rootkits . Rootkits are detected via signatures as well as advanced heuristics . The new anti-stealth technology allows NOD32 to even detect and remove even active rootkits .

    ;) :thumb:
     
  12. Owner

    Owner Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2006
    Posts:
    24
    Location:
    Moscow
    I'll be glad to see HIPS(Host Intrusion Prevention System) module in future products :)
     
  13. tsilo

    tsilo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Posts:
    376
    It wil be good to have option play sound when virus found :)
     
  14. AaLF

    AaLF Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Posts:
    986
    Location:
    Sydney
    :thumb: Display of 'estimated time to completion of scan' in progress is important.

    :thumb: A fancy gizmo like 'Advanced Heuristics Scanning' should be up on the top layer to 'select / deselect' with each scan, not hidden way in the bowels of the AV where only techno-freaks travel.

    :thumb: Control over applications / Reg changes?

    :thumb: Why not shoot for a Security Suite?
     
  15. strict

    strict Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Posts:
    12
    it seems to me that some of these have been implemented in 2.7... for example:


    AMON

    1. Add Clean (if cleanable) or Delete (if uncleanable) options.

    2. Add Quarantine.

    3. Enable by default when installing.
     
  16. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,751
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    These don't seem to be remotely accurate. At least most of the ones I've seen in some Av's.
     
  17. fredflintstone

    fredflintstone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Posts:
    1
    • In Remote Administrator Console, ability to add clients automatically to Groups based on
      • Active Directory Organisational Unit (Container)
      • IP address Range
      • Other criteria?
    • Then depending on what group the client is added to, automatically apply a specific configuration task
     
  18. NOD32 user

    NOD32 user Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Posts:
    1,766
    Location:
    Australia
    In the update module, add some metadata to every http get request to avoid as many proxy issues as possible.
    eg:
    http://<esetupdaserver>/update.ver?<current.time>
    http://u26.eset.com/update.ver?1718

    In fact, even just the question mark on its own should be sufficient.

    Cheers :)
     
    Last edited: Jan 10, 2007
  19. rubb

    rubb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2007
    Posts:
    1
    Display info about a scheduled scan in progress, with option to pause/stop

    There have been some other requests pertaining to scheduled scans, but what I would ideally like to have is a way to view what's going on with a scheduled scan that's in progress (reference). Essentially, I'd like to see the same info that's shown when a manually triggered scan is running, and have the same options to pause or stop the scan. This could be accomplished with, for example, a separate tray icon that appears when a scheduled scan is running; it could be clicked to pop open a window showing the scheduled scan in progress. Or, perhaps it could be done by automatically opening up a progress window when the user opens up the Control Center if a scheduled scan is in progress. As it is now -- unless I'm missing something (hey, I'm new) -- scheduled scans run entirely in the background and apart from looking at the scanning log, there's nothing you can do to verify that a scheduled scan is in progress, let alone monitor or stop the scan.

    Thanks.
     
  20. kostelo

    kostelo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2007
    Posts:
    2
    I would like very much to see the ability to right click the tray icon and quickly disable AMON or any other module just like Kaspersky. Many times I copy a lot of files from dvds to my hdd and I have to open the control panel to disable amon because copying finishes a lot faster with amon disabled.
    So I would appreciate if there was a way to quickly disable it with a right click option in tray icon. ;)
    Thanks a lot and I hope you'll consider it. :)
     
  21. Dilbert_2

    Dilbert_2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    Posts:
    15
    What's wrong with the current LEFT click on the tray icon, selecting AMON, and clicking on the checkmark by "File System Monitor (AMON) Enabled", which disables it. And same process to re-enable AMON when desired. This is pretty fast. Or am I missing something here? Regards.
     
  22. kostelo

    kostelo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2007
    Posts:
    2
    Nothing is wrong with this but I find it easier to quickly disable it by a right click menu. By left clicking the tray, the whole control panel has to show up, browse to AMON (if you aren't there already) and then disable it. Anyway, it's just a proposal that would improve this excellent program in my opinion. Thanx.:)
     
  23. Almighty1

    Almighty1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    Posts:
    5
    Location:
    San Francisco, California USA
    After using NOD32 2.7 for 2 days, my input for future versions is that for both AMON and the On-Demand scanner is that there should be a option when something is detected to add that item to the excluded list and not prohibit access to the file since this is a lot easier than having to manually add files by selecting it. Also, the exclusion list in AMON, when one specifies a file, maybe there should be a option that one can specify like xyz.exe and just have it exclude any file with that name regardless of where it's located. I noticed when one is on that object to Exclude from scanning, the Exclude folders option has it in reverse since Yes would become No when added and No would become Yes when added.
     
  24. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,441
    This would mean that excluding, for instance, a legit system file svchost.exe by name would make your system exposed to many trojans disguising in svchost.exe files. We'll see what we can do with exclusions in the future.
     
  25. Almighty1

    Almighty1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    Posts:
    5
    Location:
    San Francisco, California USA
    Yes, but remember, it's the user who allowed it so the user has to assume that risk on their own if they choose to exclude that way, since the problem is there are files that I copy to two different folders which is for installing on other people's computers so I don't want to exclude the same file manually each time. I know when I used Norton AntiVirus even the 2006 version, you can put in the filename like C:\test.exe and then including subfolders. Maybe the other way is better, AMON will put up the warning and then there is a exclude option so what it does is just add the full path and filename of the file to the exclusion list and allow access to the file.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.