Future Changes to Nod32

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by Blackspear, Oct 1, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. X3ro

    X3ro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2005
    Posts:
    69
    Location:
    Omsk, Russia
    what about usability...i like nod32 i like the way it does its work but...guys..do something with the GUI ...
    may be it's just thing of originality (i don't know) but many people turn away from this AV cause its GUI "is not comfortable". BUT we all want to do nod32 better so could we do some contest "The new look of nod32 (3.0)" or something and all users interested in this part of the AV will choose the best. ?! so what you thing?
    ps. sorry for my ENG
     
  2. fosius

    fosius Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2004
    Posts:
    479
    Location:
    Partizanske, Slovakia
    This has been already announced. NOD32 v 3.0 will have brand new interface.
     
  3. crystaLity

    crystaLity Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Posts:
    6
    another post from me...

    be the way it would be nice if my other ideas could be considered

    anyway here is another suggestion: make nod32 available to scan SSL secured emails too, i apologize if NOD32 can already do that with OE or was already posted as suggestion.
     
  4. kalpik

    kalpik Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Posts:
    369
    Location:
    Delhi, India
    That is not possible. SSL is designed so that it cannot be scanned. No AV can *ever* do that!
     
  5. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,441
    In order to scan SSL, you'd need to use a local proxy that would communicate with the SPOP3 server via SSL and route decrypted data to your mail client via POP3.
     
  6. kalpik

    kalpik Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Posts:
    369
    Location:
    Delhi, India
    Like Stunnel am i right?
     
  7. webyourbusiness

    webyourbusiness Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Posts:
    2,662
    Location:
    Throughout the USA and Canada

    yes it could - Marcos just explained how it would work. It's a pitr though, and would slow down mail collection significantly I think.
     
  8. rpremuz

    rpremuz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Posts:
    100
    Location:
    Croatia
    In RA Console -> "Remote Install" -> "Successful Installs List" the Date column should be sorted chronologically, not alphabetically.

    I notice this bug in RAC v. 1.0.9 with "Appearance of date/time columns" set to Relative.
    AFAIK, other date and time columns in the console are sorted correctly, but the Date column in "Successful Installs List" is not.

    -- rpr. /Robert Premuž/
     
  9. NOD32 user

    NOD32 user Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Posts:
    1,766
    Location:
    Australia
    Why don't you try it - you might be surprised :)
     
  10. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,537
    Yes :)

    I use it and works very well...

    You can also hide the icon of stunnel...
     
  11. X3ro

    X3ro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2005
    Posts:
    69
    Location:
    Omsk, Russia
    IMON

    make bold font when these words appears: "....file IS MOVED TO QUARAN..." for better understanding why NOD32 disallows the MOVE and DELETE buttons when thread's detected
     
  12. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,441

    That's because there's actually nothing to move and delete if a threat is detected and blocked before it could make it to the disk. BTW, IMON will be discontinued from the next version so don't expect any changes to made to it.
     
  13. X3ro

    X3ro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2005
    Posts:
    69
    Location:
    Omsk, Russia
    IMON (or future IMON)

    Auto-high-efficiency for well known applications (i.e. IE,Opera, Firefox..)
     
  14. Joliet Jake

    Joliet Jake Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Posts:
    911
    Location:
    Scotland
    Read Marcos' post just above yours. :)
     
  15. ComputerAid

    ComputerAid Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Posts:
    3
    Provide programme variable of current signature version so as to be able to used in notifications (%SignatureVersion%).
     
  16. NOD32 user

    NOD32 user Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Posts:
    1,766
    Location:
    Australia
    Fix the discrepancy between the Configuration Editor and the Control Center at EMON-->Setup-->Extensions-->Scan Extentionless Files
     
  17. X3ro

    X3ro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2005
    Posts:
    69
    Location:
    Omsk, Russia
    I understood that, therefore I wrote "future IMON"...the traffic scanning ability would be kept in the next release :cautious: I hope ;)
     
    Last edited: Mar 7, 2006
  18. anotherjack

    anotherjack Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Posts:
    224
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Been running into this a lot lately, so I figured I'd toss this one out. The ability to exclude files from a NOD32 scan. Easiest way? Probably a check box for using the AMON list would be the easiest IMHO. See example below.

    Short version of it is that we use a remote control package in my company that NOD picks up and deletes every time I run a scan on the machines. I can (kinda) get by right now by unchecking the "Potentially dangerous applications" box, but that will, I'm sure, come back to haunt me at some point.

    Jack
     

    Attached Files:

  19. NOD32 user

    NOD32 user Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Posts:
    1,766
    Location:
    Australia
    If it is possible, could somebody please let me know if I should believe EMON or the Configuration Editor in the interim?
    I know which one I think I should believe, but that's not what it says is it :)
     
  20. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,306
    I like the plan for a new interface.
    I am trialing NOD, and almost did not keep it a day. It seemed very cumbersome to navigate, and not at all user friendly for an average user.

    I would make Blackspears settings default with the option of changing them of course. Many here like to tweak any program, and have the ability to do so. But folks like me want a top product to run at high effectiveness and efficiency "out of the box."

    I appreciate that ESet "listens" to its users.

    Thanks,
    Jerry
     
  21. blipblop

    blipblop Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Posts:
    15
    Never had a problem with NOD's gui/interface. By reading some posts I felt like we were talking about something totally awkward, when it's really not the case. Of course the enemy of "good" is always "better", so if the developers think that they can make things even better, I welcome any change. Still though, things are quite simple even for novice users.

    Best luck and hope you keep bringing us the same great quality in the years to come.
     
  22. X3ro

    X3ro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2005
    Posts:
    69
    Location:
    Omsk, Russia
    I agree with JerryM.
    There are many novice users that install nod32 and say "oh it's hard to understand how to...where's that..amm.." etc. And they prefer to stay with (I am sorry for the reminder.but..) Panda or KAV, or even drweb...although they say that nod32 is really more faster and reliable
    I think developers do very great software not only for advanced users but also for those ones
     
  23. NOD32 user

    NOD32 user Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Posts:
    1,766
    Location:
    Australia
    It's been suggested a few times that the GUI have a button called 'max protection' or something similar - basically configuring NOD32 as per Blackspears ExtraSettings. But this button would be a nightmare for network admin. The issue is that NOD32 current out-of-the-box setup is great for network admins and Blackspears settings are great too but I think admin's still prefer to use the current default and then work on a tweak up to suite themselves. Some don't want any automatic delete function for example, but clean then prompt. The current default settings offer very good protection and are 'safe' for anybody anywhere to install without needing to worry.
    JMHO
    Cheers :)
     
  24. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,306
    Why couldn't network admin just ignore that button? I would asssume that they are much more competent than users like me.

    Thanks,
    Jerry
     
  25. NOD32 user

    NOD32 user Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Posts:
    1,766
    Location:
    Australia
    Yes, of course if admin have set a password for thier NOD32 settings then there's no problem if somebody using that PC clicks away at random - for whatever thier reasons, not everybody secures their settings. I know that I do for each setup, but then I know others that don't, perhaps with good reason, perhaps not.... :)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.