Future Changes to Nod32

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by Blackspear, Oct 1, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. SaM_J

    SaM_J Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2005
    Posts:
    13
    Suggestion ( Locked files spaming when using on demmand scanner )

    1 - To be able to right click and select "These files are OK, hide untill changed" would be wonderfull for the average user.

    or

    2 - Highlight NEW locked files - flash them - or make them more visible in someother way.

    Why?

    It is nice to be able to see locked files - Especially NEW ONES. But as there are so many of them I tend to not look at them. Therefor it would be usefull to be able to selectively supress files I know are OK. Files of my choosing. For instance the 30 or so SpyBot SnD files that come up every time I do a Scan.

    Or somehow make the new files more visible in the list of locked files. Make them blink or high light them or shadow the old locked files that come up every time I do a scan. For instance if a Locked file has come up on a scan lets say 3 times then its considdered old and will be faded into gray or something.

    /Sam
     
  2. webyourbusiness

    webyourbusiness Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Posts:
    2,662
    Location:
    Throughout the USA and Canada
    scanning logs - I want to suggest that we be able to hide the 'is OK' entries at the click of a button - I just spent 1/2 an hour trying to find 2 "threats" in a daily scan log which ran to 23.5Mb - in the end, I saved it to a file, used grep on *nix to get rid of the "is OK" entries, as I couldn't find the 2 lines out of the many thousands that were of interest... any then only to find it was two eicar zips which were of no consequence... that feature would have been VERY useful... something like "hide OK" - or "show interesting logfile entries" ... so that wading through TONS of ok lines isn't necessary...
     
  3. zashita

    zashita Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2005
    Posts:
    309
    Hi Greg,

    For that, don't check the 'List all files' box in the setup tab of the on-demand-scanner, and only interesting entries will be wrote in the logs ...
    (if it is what you mean)
     
  4. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,633
    all logs - i want a way to customize what gets logged. for example in event log, u can select only errors or info. in the scan log u can select to omit clean files or locked files or only show infected files. and lastly, there should be an option to turn off any or all of the logs.

    edit: if these options are already available, id like them to be available in nod32 setup or options
     
    Last edited: Dec 15, 2005
  5. webyourbusiness

    webyourbusiness Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Posts:
    2,662
    Location:
    Throughout the USA and Canada
    I want the detail - but I also want a way within NOD32 to FILTER the detail...
     
  6. Patrician

    Patrician Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2005
    Posts:
    132
    An option to enable the reatime monitor to scan, and clean, within archives.

    For the On Demand Scanner to scan, and clean, within archives.

    When the option to "Scan All Files" is selected fo NOD32 to do just that and Scan All Files.

    For all the different components to be configured from one interface.

    For the seperate components to be named for what they do and no more of this Amon, Imon etc. Reatime Scanner should be called just that.
     
  7. ejr

    ejr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2005
    Posts:
    538
    I would like to see the settings that Blackspear reccomends on the sticky in this forum come as default settings. That way, computer dummy's like me don't have to spend 30 minutes to an hour configuring the program with each install and people that really know what they are doing can go tweak away at the settings to their hearts content.
     
  8. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,751
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    Not a good idea because Blackspear has set up some things to act automatically and it's better that the user regard his sticky as a guide as some may want to be notified and asked regarding some actions. I use his settings for the most part except for the method of configuring the scheduled scan.
     
  9. ejr

    ejr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2005
    Posts:
    538
    Yep, I use Blackspears settings for all but the scheduled scans too. Couldn't get his scan application to function properly on both of my machines. The execution of an external application by NOD32 Kernel just wouldn't work on one of my machines for some reason. So I went with the on demand scanner instead.
     
  10. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    If you right click on the scan and click on "run now" does it start up?

    Cheers :D
     

    Attached Files:

    • run.gif
      run.gif
      File size:
      37.1 KB
      Views:
      258
  11. billaku

    billaku Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2005
    Posts:
    67
    Location:
    Texas Central Coast, US
    Option to Startup Full Screen

    Option to startup with NOD32 'Not Minimized'.

    Then would see if IMON active or not, not have to remember to click on NOD32 in systray to check - until ESET can clearup PestPatrol interference with ComputerAssociates, hopefullly.

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showpost.php?p=635489&postcount=10
     
  12. ejr

    ejr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2005
    Posts:
    538
    Blackspear...the scan starts, but perpetually lists that it is cleaning.
     
  13. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Ahhhh that's right, wasn't Bandicoot on the case of that one? No further results from Eset yet?

    Cheers :D
     
  14. ejr

    ejr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2005
    Posts:
    538
    My answer from ESET was that I was not to use that type of scan. That I should be using only the on demand scanner to schedule scans. Though, I believe this answer came from my sales rep and not an SET support person.

    I kind of thought that it was a lame response...
     
  15. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    I think so to, I have set it up on 100's of machines without an issue. I'm sure Bandicoot or Marcos will get to the bottom of it, as from memory there was at least another with the same issue, I just can't remember which thread it was in :rolleyes: ;) :D

    Cheers :D
     
  16. jg88swe

    jg88swe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    Posts:
    181
    Well my proposal will probably be rejected instantly but lets give it a try. : )


    Rescue Disk

    Well,
    I think that it would be great if a Antivirus could make a bootable cd which includes the current Updates and the Scanner to make it possible to disinfect unbootable windows computer in the same network or maybe help a friend who got problems.
     
  17. Brian N

    Brian N Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,174
    Location:
    Denmark
    Yep, this has been suggested a few posts back - At least a bootable CD is better than floppy, I haven't used those in years, yet the "super new high tech" AV's still use em.. Makes you wonder :)
     
  18. Xophile

    Xophile Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Posts:
    161
    Won't there be a piracy problem if you have paid for a license and then update it and use it at a friends house with no benefit for Eset?
     
  19. webyourbusiness

    webyourbusiness Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Posts:
    2,662
    Location:
    Throughout the USA and Canada
    various security software manufacturers have "technician" licenses - they are handled in different ways, but the general idea is that the more people you can demonstrate the effectiveness of the software to, the more buyers you'll convert....
     
  20. pc-support

    pc-support Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    285
    Location:
    Edinburgh, UK
    Maybe not what we want in version 3 but...

    A genuine, legal and proper NOD module for Bart PE instead of the one I cobbled together and give away to anyone who wants it!
     
  21. mccracky

    mccracky Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Posts:
    33
    Location:
    Quito, Ecuador
    I see that under "everything else" number 51 that it was requested (and accepted?) to allow port specification. I would really like to expand that to include SMTP over SSL (standard port 465) for notifications. It is a nice way to set up traveling laptop users to connect in to our own smtp server and bypass most ISP port 25 blocks. Our standard setup for laptop users is user authentication with SMTP over SSL. It would be great to have this in the NOD32 configuration as well. Once again, it also allows bypass of ISP port 25 blocking so we don't miss any notifications.

    sjm
     
  22. markrlondon

    markrlondon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4
    I totally agree with this. The On-Demand section is ridiculously confusing.
     
  23. webyourbusiness

    webyourbusiness Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Posts:
    2,662
    Location:
    Throughout the USA and Canada
    a simplification would be a benefit to everyone when it comes to on-demand - that's probably the most confusing section within NOD32 in my opinion too...
     
  24. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,633
    i think this may have been mentioned already but i would like a way to clear the processes listed in "Client compatibility" under IMON | Setup | HTTP.
     
  25. Brian N

    Brian N Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,174
    Location:
    Denmark
    There will be no IMON is Ver3, but I think there will be a client list of some sort to cope with any issues a user might have.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.