Future Changes to EAV

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by Blackspear, Jan 20, 2008.

  1. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,441
    That sounds sensible, I'll definitely add it on the wishlist :)
     
  2. BedreAntivirus

    BedreAntivirus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Posts:
    92
    FYI: when will eset allow us to uninstall it in "Safe Mode" ?
    the Windows installer service is not available there and its kinda annoying... :blink:
     
  3. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,441
    We're not going to replace MSI with our own installer similar to the one used in v1/v2. In order to start the Windows Installer service in safe mode, follow these instructions:
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/315346
     
  4. DX2

    DX2 Guest

    How about lowering system resources? Maybe a cloud version? ESET is a awesome, if not one of the best security setups out there.
     
  5. jjc225

    jjc225 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Posts:
    273
    My kid likes the ESET games, the one where the robot is catching viruses, but I can't find it anymore. Am I looking in the wrong place on the website?
     
  6. agoretsky

    agoretsky Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,034
    Location:
    California
    Hello,

    Do you mean this? ESET Agent Surefire: Breach Buster

    Regards,

    Aryeh Goretsky

     
  7. rnfolsom

    rnfolsom Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    Posts:
    247
    Location:
    Monterey, California
    In ESET's security warning notifications or announcements (I'm not sure which label is correct), the text should be selectable and copyable.

    In at least some of those notifications/announcements, the text is an image that cannot be selected and copied. The result is that it cannot be selected and saved. The only way to save it is to type it manually into notepad or some other software.

    And in my case, that wasn't easy. My laptop's 15" screen is UXGA (1600x1200 pixels). Consequently, ESET's image text was in such small print that I needed a magnifying glass to read it. To type it, I had to ask my wife to hold the magnifying glass and read ESET's message to me while I typed.

    That's why I think that in ESET's security warning notifications/announcements, the text should be selectable and copyable.

    BACKGROUND:
    This issue of difficult-to-save ESET security warnings came to my attention after I had instructed a software website to download and install an update to some previously installed software.

    When the download was essentially complete (judging by the blue progress band), ESET intervened with the following message (without the quote marks):

    "Potential Threat Found
    "Object:
    "http://c1236872.r72.cf0.rackcdn.com/PDFXVwer_2205.exe
    "Threat:
    "a variant of Win32/Bundled.Toolbar.Ask potentially unsafe application
    "Comment:
    "Threat was detected upon access to web by the application: C:\ProgramFiles\Accessories\PDF-XChange_Viewer(TrackerSoftware)\LiveUpdate\LiveUpdate.exe. Please submit this object to ESET for analysis."

    I had run this software's update feature before, with no problem, and I was fairly sure that this warning was a false positive.

    Nevertheless, I clicked the ESET message's Disconnect button, which cancelled the update installation. So I posted this issue on Wilders' ESET forum
    (https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=330624), and a reply by ESET Moderator Marcos assured me that I had no problem. So I will again download and install the software upgrade, and this time I will ignore any ESET warning.

    (I do want to continue receiving all the anti-malware protection that ESET's NOD32 4.2.71.2 can provide. Therefore, in my Settings Tree, at Web Access Protection > Setup > ThreatSense Engine Parameter Setup > Options, everything will continue to be checked, including Potentially Unsafe Applications and Potentially Unwanted Applications.)

    "All's well that ends well." But first dealing with the warning, posting a message on Wilders, responding to Marcos's reply, and submitting the current post, has cost me several hours. So I am hoping that someone pays attention to my suggestion.

    R.N. (Roger) Folsom
     
    Last edited: Aug 21, 2012
  8. manak

    manak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2012
    Posts:
    78
    1. 'Disable autorun' function
    2. Add exploit blocking engine like Kaspersky's Automatic Exploit Prevention.
     
    Last edited: Aug 27, 2012
  9. rnfolsom

    rnfolsom Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    Posts:
    247
    Location:
    Monterey, California
    1) You probably have much more computing knowledge than I have, but I disabled 'autorun' in my WinXPsp3 operating system --- but that's for CDs and DVDs. So are you asking for an additional 'Disable autorun' in NOD32's settings, which presumably would disable NOD32, or some component of NOD32? What would you want 'Disable autorun' to do in NOD32?

    2) I would like to know what an exploit blocking engine, like Kaspersky's Automatic Exploit Prevention (I have heard of Kaspersky, but not of its Automatic Exploit Prevention), would do in NOD32, that NOD32 doesn't already do. On several occasions NOD32 has warned me of malware that is trying to come in from the internet.

    Roger Folsom
     
    Last edited: Aug 27, 2012
  10. manak

    manak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2012
    Posts:
    78
    1) According to ESET July Malware. (http://m.eset.com/mobile/news--blog...orldwide-htmlscrinjectb-top-threat-in-europe/)
    Eset knew INF/Autorun was the top malware worldwide but they don't provide feature to disable autorun or any USB Immunizer tools. ( If NOD32 has this feature. Please let me know) Some vendors provide tools or integrated function.

    Sophos
    Panda Cloud Antivirus Pro Edition 2.0
    BitDefender USB Immunizer (Free)
    Quick Heal

    When I take a look Panda Cloud Antivirus Pro Edition 2.0
    There is simple option
    USB Vaccine(Immunizer) -> "Disable autorun on my computer"


    Actually I don't expect ESET provides Immunizer function but least I hope that they provide feature to disable autorun for user convenience.
    Easily turn on/off this. Of course I know there is instruction on MS Web site( http://support.microsoft.com/kb/967715 ) Some people can easily follow this some people cannot.


    2) I believe you can use Google search.

    I like to add one more thing. I hope that ESET is focusing on improving HIPS.
     
  11. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,064
    hey manak,
    There is a simple microsoft fixit one exe to enable and disable it on the link you provided. its not hard for anyone to download an exe and run it.
    what autorun do you want to disable? microsoft updates disabled some autorun ages ago.
     
    Last edited: Aug 30, 2012
  12. manak

    manak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2012
    Posts:
    78
    Is this thing still going on?
    I pointed out usability issue already my last post.

    "its not hard for anyone to..."

    It's dangerous viewpoint.

    Do you think that every people have same level of knowledge?
    Do you think that every people use same windows version(Up-to-Date) in same environments?
    Do you think that every people find out the link what they want all the time?
    Even If someone porvide the link. Do not be sure its not hard for anyone to download .exe file and run it. Decision making is different issue.
     
  13. manak

    manak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2012
    Posts:
    78
    - Add "Update virus signature database" or "Check for Updates" at Tray menu.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Oct 8, 2012
  14. TheQuest

    TheQuest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Posts:
    2,304
    Location:
    Kent. UK by the sea
    Hi manak
    :thumb: +1
     
  15. karlisi

    karlisi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Posts:
    68
    Location:
    Latvia
    +1 from me too
     
  16. dfw

    dfw Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    42
    With more features being added to Nod32 AV, like hips in Version 5 and all the Anti-Theft etc in version 6 can we have custom install so users like me who only want a good plain Antivirus can just install the AV engines, as I may already have a favorite hips program etc and no need for the Anti-Theft.
     
  17. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    That's not possible I think, because the HIPS is connected to self-defense module as well. And I don't think it's possible to use the AV engine alone, as all modules are tightly integrated to make things as fast and stable as possible.
    Besides by not using the WebProtection module you will lose much of the protection that the product offers.

    But you can always disable certain modules permanently that you don't want e.g the new Anti-theft in V6 is one feature that I will disable as I have no use for it at the moment.

    So personally I hope that ESET does not start to split up the product into stand alone modules :thumbd:
    Since having everything integrated is a huge reason as to why I use & love ESET's products!
     
  18. Q Section

    Q Section Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Posts:
    778
    Location:
    Headquarters - London & Field Offices -Worldwide
    There are some who use what they believe to be a better HIPS than what ESET provides along with NOD32 for the anti-virus. It is being done successfully everyday. This applies to version 5 and version 6 has not been tested here thus far in that regard.

    Best wishes
     
  19. rnfolsom

    rnfolsom Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    Posts:
    247
    Location:
    Monterey, California
    SweX and/or dfw:

    I am still using Eset NOD32 v 4.2.71.2. I would very much appreciate knowing what HIPS means, and what the additional features of NOD32 v5.x are, compared to 4.2.71.2. (I probably won't consider using v6.x until it is well out of beta.)

    Roger Folsom

    P.S. I am about to renew my NOD32 licenses, after considering Eset Smart Security.
    If anyone reading this is interested in my decision, the thread is at
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=334532
     
  20. siljaline

    siljaline Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,618
  21. agoretsky

    agoretsky Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,034
    Location:
    California
    Hello,

    Not a future changes question, per se, but perhaps the following two articles will be of use:

    • ESET Knowledgebase Article #2950, "What is HIPS (Host-based Intrusion Prevention System) in ESET Smart Security/NOD32 Antivirus? "\

    • And the following message here on Wilders: "ESET NOD32 Antivirus 5 Unveiled"

    Regards,

    Aryeh Goretsky


     
  22. rnfolsom

    rnfolsom Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    Posts:
    247
    Location:
    Monterey, California
    Mr. Goretsky:

    Thanks for the links. They were very useful to me.

    And I have upgraded to Eset NOD32 v5.2.9.1

    Roger Folsom
     
  23. chrizio

    chrizio Guest

    A long time ago I saw a nice feature in one of free av solutions:
    on-demand scan report window does not pup up at all if no threads were found. The scan-in-progress window just closes without any scan summary report and prompt for closing.
    I wish to have to be able to set EAV this way as well.
     
  24. chrizio

    chrizio Guest

    I wish I had the "Apply" button in the EAV advanced setup module.
     
  25. er34

    er34 Guest

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showpost.php?p=2187694&postcount=3

    For ESET Business products


    In order to make it more clear and more visible, perhaps you should change the program number of ENDPOINT versions . For example

    ESET Endpoint Antivirus version 1
    ESET Endpoint Security version 1 and then continue with version 2, 3, 4 , etc.

    Keep the current version 5, 6, etc only for the home versions.

    And ESET should also make the programs GUIs more and more different - at the moment EEA/EES (Business edition 5) GUI very much looks like EAV 5/ESS 5
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.