full backup and partitions change

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by tperica, Jan 28, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tperica

    tperica Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2006
    Posts:
    4
    hi to all

    W2k3 SP1 - all updates
    Acr. TrImg Enterprise Server 8.0(build 1.206)

    My first HDD0 had two partitions, one C:(sys) and D:(backup). I have created full backup image, just for C:(sys) partition.

    Later on, I have added one more HDD1, resized first HDD0 with Partition Magic. So now I have just one partition/per HDD:
    c:(sys) - HDD0 - solely for system
    d:(backup) - HDD1 - solely for backup

    Can I use old full backup of my c:(sys) partition, made while I had two partitions on my HDD0. I just want to restore C:(sys) partition on my HDD0 as the only one, possible ?


    cheers
    tomislav
     
  2. noonie

    noonie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Posts:
    299
    If you mean that your original image is of the original drive0, then you can restore it to your new drive0 and delete the 2nd partition with your partition magic.


    if you mean that your old full backup of the c partition is of that partition only, then you can still do as above, but will have to do the mbr repair in addition to make it bootable.

    In future make images of the complete drive0 to simplify the restore proceedure.
     
  3. tperica

    tperica Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2006
    Posts:
    4
    aha. so basically I can restore just one partition on drive0, although when I was making backup, there was two drives. and for the future, it is better to make full drives backup and then change it on restore process ?
     
  4. noonie

    noonie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Posts:
    299
    I assume that will be your future config, so when using Ti, make a full drive0 backup and aim the tib files to be saved on drive1. When restoring from the tib files, you will reimage the complete drive0.
    This also allows you to use drive1 for other data, in addition to "solely for backup", if space allows.

    Just curious; why are you using the Ti Enterprise version?
     
  5. tperica

    tperica Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2006
    Posts:
    4
    my company just that licence, it was small part time project
     
  6. Shootist

    Shootist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2005
    Posts:
    30
    Yes you can use that image to restore BUT it will delete ALL partitions and then recreate them as they were when the backup was made. At the end of the restore you need to use the Partition Magic rescue floppies, or CD if you have made one, to boot the PC and merge the 2 partitions together.
    If you need a ISO of the PM rescue files for a boot CD send me a PM and a email and I'll send the ISO to you.
     
  7. tperica

    tperica Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2006
    Posts:
    4
    thanks !!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.