FTP

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by maddawgz, Mar 11, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. maddawgz

    maddawgz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Posts:
    1,276
    Location:
    Earth
    hi i noticed i had an address in my my documents browser thing dont rememeber it at all, as i dont use FTP 206.132.195.163
    i see files when i hit enter is that connected to someone elseo_O? is this dangerous can i disable ftp? using win xp pro thanks MD
     
  2. iceni60

    iceni60 ( ^o^)

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    5,116
    ftp is a protocol for moving files from one computer to another, it uses port 21. the IP you gave leads to a wood mill in Arkansas.

    where did you find the IP address?

    i know what it's like wondering about odd connections i seem to send half my life confused by what i find o_O :oops:

    EDIT maybe it's Phoenix, Arizona. the mill is called Arkansas Mill :D
     
  3. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    Using HTTP you are correct but using FTP:// 206.132.195.163 it leads to a directory listing of a few files. I am also not clear which location the IP was found in :doubt:
     
  4. iceni60

    iceni60 ( ^o^)

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    5,116
    thanks, i can't ever connect to ftp with my proxy, but i just disconnected it and had a look. lots of cabs and other windows stuff in the /Office Professional 2003 and a /zip file with a funny name.

    i think it's in Phoenix.

    http://www.dnsstuff.com/tools/ipall.ch?domain=206.132.195.163
     
  5. maddawgz

    maddawgz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Posts:
    1,276
    Location:
    Earth
    well it was in my documents address bar i typed ftp and there it was ? its not a security risk is it? im in oz so not sure never been to a mill..lmao MD
     
  6. iceni60

    iceni60 ( ^o^)

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    5,116
    i'm not sure, i think i've forgotten how windows works, you mean autocomplete? sorry if i sound slow, i'm not using windows atm and i've never used autocomplete. you could do a search for a file called winks.zip and see if you have it on your HDD, i saw that on the server.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.