fresh Buster 10.3 Cinnamon and terminal won't allow PASTING

Discussion in 'all things UNIX' started by Palancar, Feb 22, 2020.

  1. Palancar

    Palancar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Posts:
    2,218
    As the title says. The new OS (10.3 Cinnamon) is running fast and updates well. I can copy and paste files anywhere to and from each other, EXCEPT to the terminal. I do quite a bit of terminal work and not having the ability to paste in my command lines when I work on them is a hassle. Sometimes they are long and I don't want to re-key them. For now I am using executable batch scripts but of course that is sub par.

    Just starting to look around for solutions. After I spin out a few forensic level backups I will get hands on with a solution as needed. The systems where I upgraded to Buster from Stretch/Jessie don't have this issue. I am assuming some settings remained in place during the upgrade. Straight Buster is fine except for this issue. Looking.

    Anyone else here running clean installed 10.3 (especially Cinnamon) and experiencing this issue? Do you guys have any thoughts? Casual reading (not much so far) doesn't show too much out there. Maybe installing a different terminal emulator?
     
  2. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    10,704
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Palancar,

    Does it happen with both mouse and keyboard copy/paste?
     
  3. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    10,704
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    I've installed Buster 10.0 and 10.3 in a UEFI multi-boot system. Secure Boot enabled.

    During both OS installs I ticked auto-login. Both installs ignored this and when the OS is loading it requests username/password.

    Both OS don't allow copy/paste into a Terminal.

    I plan to delete both OS partitions and remove the booting files from the ESP.
     
  4. reasonablePrivacy

    reasonablePrivacy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2017
    Posts:
    1,083
    Location:
    Member state of European Union
    It would be my first thing to do. It would work both as a workaround for problem, but also may give some information - it would be strange if both terminal emulators would not allow copy-pasting. I use Sakura terminal in Openbox/X11 setting. I don't use Wayland yet.
     
  5. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    10,704
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    There are two Terminals in Buster. Neither work for Copy/Paste.
     
  6. pandlouk

    pandlouk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,974
  7. Palancar

    Palancar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Posts:
    2,218
    I use a very simple solution for autologin and can confirm it works well!

    Paste solution:

    VERIFIED 2-11-2020 WORKING!!!!

    How to autologin user permenantly on Debian Buster

    Autologin means than when Debian runs a session starts without entering any password.

    To get this in Debian we modify the /etc/lightdm/lightdm.conf file and change the lines:

    sudo gedit /etc/lightdm/lightdm.conf

    #autologin-user=
    #autologin-user-timeout=0

    change above to below removing # of course

    autologin-user=your_user
    autologin-user-timeout=0

    Simple and fast.

    End paste.

    I am also looking into installing gnome terminal 3.30.2, which is what is on my Buster systems that came about as upgrades from Stretch. I may not get to this today, but I may be able to.
     
  8. Palancar

    Palancar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Posts:
    2,218
  9. Palancar

    Palancar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Posts:
    2,218
    Success, took me less than two minutes to get my old familiar terminal back with all the capabilities I am used to. I installed gnome terminal 3.30.2-2 (version for Buster) directly from Debian. Just placed a terminal icon on my Desktop and I am back in business!

    Downloaded from Deb's ftp to my Desktop, verified shasum (small file) and installed as below. Easy as hell. I don't have to contend with xterm now. Happy about that. Sailing along now.

    cd Desktop && sudo dpkg -i gnome-terminal_3.30.2-2_amd64.deb

    #needed to run for dependencies

    sudo apt-get install -f

    Only needed to install a few files, not alot of dependencies.
     
    Last edited: Feb 23, 2020
  10. pandlouk

    pandlouk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,974
    @Palancar I checked on my machines and xterm does not allow copy paste in Stretch too.
    I always use xfce4-terminal, so never noticed it in the past...
    about the autologin. lightdm.conf editing is the first thing to do on debian installations since debian 7 (wheezy).
     
  11. Palancar

    Palancar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Posts:
    2,218

    I know that. I simply like to add "connect the dots" for anyone coming along that would be new to this. I don't know why Debian doesn't honor the autologin selection when an install is happening. Many of us are using Debian on fully encrypted LUKS volumes. Access is protected behind long passwords even booting our machines in the first place. Just saying!
     
  12. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    10,704
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Palancar,

    Thanks for the tip on auto login.
     
  13. pandlouk

    pandlouk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,974
    Lightdm is not even listed on the debtags
    https://debtags.debian.org/search/?wl=&q=tag:x11::display-manager AND tag:role::program&qf=default
    so I doubt that we will see better support for it for the next decade.
     
  14. pandlouk

    pandlouk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,974
    Brian if you have multiple users you may want to change also the line
    #greeter-hide-users=false
    to
    greeter-hide-users=false
    to avoid typing the user name manually.
     
  15. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    10,704
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Panagiotis,

    I'm a single user.

    I have multiple Linux OS booting from BIU. I was interested in seeing which Linux OS support Secure Boot. The only Linux OS I really use is Mint Cinnamon and I have IFL installed and BootNow.
     
  16. Palancar

    Palancar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Posts:
    2,218
    Welcome! :thumb:
     
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.