free security & protection.

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by roger dovey, Jul 11, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. roger dovey

roger dovey Registered Member

i'm just wondering what free security some of you lot using. also is anything i'm using any good or do i need more. i'm using:
    windows xp home sp2
    avg free antivirus
    windows firewall
    aol spyware protection
    i have norton internet security 2oo4 preinstalled on my pc but i do not use it as it made my pc very very slow when i installed it. i have upped the ram from 256 to 512mb, would this make a difference with how norton would work.
    i'm not very experienced on pc's so any advice would be great to keep me safe.

2. Bio-Hazard

Bio-Hazard Registered Member

Hello roger dovey and welcome to wilders!

I am sure you are going to get lot of good suggestions in here. I would like to ask few questions?

1) Do you have router?
    2) Are you using IE7 or another browser?

I would get a software firewall which also have outbound protection aswell. Windows firewall is lacking that feature. There are few free ones out there. I would recommend Comodo Pro firewall.

I would change your antivirus program to avira or avast, both have free version and they are good. You could also look into SpywareTerminator for realtime protection against spyware. It is also free.

On-demand scanners i would go with Superantispyware free and AVG Anti-Spyware Free.

I would recommend using alternative browser to IE7. Firefox or Opera.

3. WSFuser

WSFuser Registered Member

AV: avast, AOL AVS, or Avira
    FW: Comodo FW
    AS: Comodo BOClean (if you want realtime), SUPERAntiSpyware and/or AVG AS (ondemand)

And use Firefox or Opera instead of IE.

4. Meriadoc

Meriadoc Registered Member

Hi, as by your own words you are not very experienced may I suggest you learn how to configure your browsers settings.