Free AV's

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Kees1958, Apr 17, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Boost

    Boost Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Posts:
    1,294

    I dont see how their updates are a problem as they've added new servers and I myself get updates every day.

    Comparing Avast's detection to Aviras is simply no comparison either.Antivir has better,period,end of story. You,do however,have the choice of what you prefer :)
     
  2. KDNeese

    KDNeese Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Posts:
    236
    With all the talk about heuristics, have any of you ever caught an actual virus (confirmed virus, not just that the AV said it was malware) via heuristics? I've tested all of the AV's in actual everyday use, and the only results I've gotten from all these supposedly advanced heuristics are false positives. I think there's a big difference between what an app is supposedly capable of doing versus what occurs in actual use. Personally I've come to the conclusion that process/execution control is more effective than signature/heuristic detection. The latter to me seems a bit like rolling the dice and hoping it comes up snake-eyes.
     
  3. Boost

    Boost Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Posts:
    1,294
    Yup, years ago. I took an up-to-date AVG, an up-to-date Avast and an up-to-date Antivir and tested their detection with 8 different viruses / malware.


    Avg did the worst,followed by Avast in second. Antivir found all 8.

    It's been My choice of free antivirus since it was still in version 6 ;)
     
  4. KDNeese

    KDNeese Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Posts:
    236
    I'm not talking about testing or using already known samples. Of course at least one of the AV's is going to have the signatures for those. I'm talking about normal every day use without deliberately attempting to collect malware for testing purposes.
     
  5. solcroft

    solcroft Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Posts:
    1,639
    So you're talking about normal every day use where normal viruses don't usually appear, and hence the heuristics have nothing to act on while process execution has bajillions of chances to produce useless FPs, and judging by that scenario heuristics are useless while process execution is the miracle panacea?
     
  6. Boost

    Boost Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Posts:
    1,294

    I didnt "deliberately" collect anything. I simply visited some cracks / serials websites and then scanned my computer using Kaspersky online scanner.Then after I knew what I was infected with,I sent AVG, Avast and Avira to the test.

    In EVERY test,Avira won.
     
  7. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
    Same experience
     
  8. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
    Hi,

    I compared Antivir Free on Xp with Antivir on Vista64, guess what, no self protection on X64, see pic On XP you have an extra tick box area called "Protect processes" in that area you can select Protect Antivir processes from unwanted termination.

    Others also noticed this?
     

    Attached Files:

  9. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,102
    Location:
    North Carolina USA
    thanks kees, so that box is not there for vista64, is that what you are saying.
     
  10. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
    Before deciding to remove Avast for Antivir I checked the time passed between sleeping (closed umbrella) and active guard.

    At load of Antir/VistaFireWallControl you can see the avast symbol spinning. While Antivir stays asleep for over 20 seconds. See pic

    Seems that the GMER anti rootkit knowledge (Avast used) and the cross platform capabilities of Avast clearly give a it an advantage over Avira 8 on Vista64 bit platform.

    So decided to keep the weaker Avast on Vista64 box, because a sleeping strong guard is not what I want

    regards K
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Apr 18, 2008
  11. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
    Got it right
     
  12. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,102
    Location:
    North Carolina USA
    thanks kees, it is reported.
     
  13. Boost

    Boost Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Posts:
    1,294

    You shouldnt have 2 anti-virus programs running on a computer-period!
    You wanna compare programs fine,but running both programs is just asking for trouble.
     
  14. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
    Even with Avast removed it kept sleeping, so non relevant reply.
     
  15. Big Apple

    Big Apple Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Posts:
    724
    The reply is pretty relevant, as he is absolutely right. No way you should have two AV programs active.......they're most likely to clash.
     
  16. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,102
    Location:
    North Carolina USA
    Or possibly delay the opening of a certain umbrella.
     
  17. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
    Remark about 2 av's is irrelevant for the cause of the delay. After removing Avast it kept sleeping. So the cause (Avira protection startup slow) is not related to having 2 AV's. With ONLY Avira installed, it kept on sleeping, ergo reply irrelvant.

    Could you check whether the self protection is available on Vista32? (it is not on Vista64)
     
  18. Big Apple

    Big Apple Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Posts:
    724
    The remark about two av's is always relevant, no matter what situation.
     
  19. Boost

    Boost Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Posts:
    1,294
    Antivir is compatabile for 32-bit and 64-bit vista systems. If the guard isnt working,there's a conflict in your system,it's not Avira's fault your tryin to install 2-antivirus programs. I guess it's easier to place blame on a program then it is to actually find out what is causing the particular problem.
     
  20. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
    It seems I am talking to wood, but I will explain te procedure followed
    - did a system restore to situation when only Avast was installed
    - did a remove (de-install) of Avast
    - did a re-boot
    - installed Avira
    - did a reboot

    Guess what:
    a) self protection still is not an option in the configuration module of Avira
    b) guard still sleeps for 20 secs before opening its umbrella

    :argh:
     
  21. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
    It is good practise, but that is something different than always see http://www.antimalware.eu/

    By the way I am not bashing Avira, changed back to Avira on the XP box.
     
  22. Big Apple

    Big Apple Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Posts:
    724
    Self protection is available on Vista32 and is working good. It's not available on Vista64, according to the statement in the Help section:

    Protect configuration file against unwanted modifications
    Protect configuration
    If this option is enabled, the Avira AntiVir Premium Configuration can only be saved with administrator rights.

    Warning
    This option is only effective if Avira AntiVir Premium is installed on an NTFS partition.

    Protect job files
    When this option is enabled, only a user with administrator rights can change existing scanning and update jobs and protect jobs he has created.

    Protect processes
    Prevent AntiVir processes from being terminated
    If this option is enabled, the AntiVir processes are protected against unwanted termination by viruses and malware or against 'uncontrolled' termination by a user e.g. via Task-Manager. This option is enabled by default.

    Important
    Protection is not yet available for 64-bit systems!
     
    Last edited: Apr 18, 2008
  23. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
    Thanks
     
  24. tepe2

    tepe2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Posts:
    543
    Thank you so much for this information :thumb: I will try when I have time for it :)
     
  25. Gamof

    Gamof Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Posts:
    6
    Location:
    The Carrier
    Avast and Avira actually co-exist perfectly fine. I've been running this 2 anti-virus setup for over 2 years with no problems at all. I disable the standard shield in Avast and run all the other shields. Right now i'm on Vista 64 and use Avira 8 & Avast 4.8 still with no problems.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.