free avast modules, which are you using?

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by mantra, Jul 6, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,143
    hi

    which avast nodules did you install and use ?

    i did install and use only File System Shield because
    my email isp provide several antivirus layers and anti spam
    i use firefox with adblock and script block
    don't use p2p , outside i download ubuntu via utorrent but it's incompatible with P2P Shield ,don't use im

    don't know if i could need Network Shield & Behavior Shield , and i don't know how effective they are...

    and i read that many users lost internet after uninstall avast

    could you share your avast setup ?

    thanks
    cheers
     
  2. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    Network Shield + Web Shield + WebRep.

    Nothing else.
     
  3. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,143
    even no File System Shield ?
    thanks
     
  4. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    Unnecessary with Panda Cloud running. Even without, I'd rather not, because of duplicate detections.
     
  5. JimboW

    JimboW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Posts:
    209
    I've used Avast previously. The shields I used were:

    File, Network, Web and Behaviour shields.
     
  6. majid20

    majid20 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Posts:
    24
    - File System Shield
    - Web Shield
    - Network Shield
    - Script Shield
    - Behavior Shield
     
  7. Matthijs5nl

    Matthijs5nl Guest

    I usually just use all the shields, simply because removing the "unnecessary" shields such as the mail shield, IM shield and P2P shield doesn't make the product lighter in my eyes; atleast I don't notice any difference.
     
  8. majid20

    majid20 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Posts:
    24
    It is wrong that you think with those Add-Ons , you don't need webguard
    Why ?
    - script block is not a real guard because If you allow script in one site (It is clean) but after that site infected, script block can't do anything
    - What you do with spy cookies ?
    - What you do with phishing sites?
    .
    .
    .

    If you don't want use avast webguard you must add some add-ons to your firefox. like
    - Cookie Monster (It is like script block but block cookie)
    - BrowserProtect (For Browser Hijack Protection)
    - Ghostery Extension (Protect your privacy)
    - Anti-phishing/malware browser free plugins like : Bitdefender anti-phishing Or Comodo Verification Engine
     
  9. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    Apart from the fact that you don't get Auto Sandbox feature because of that and you also don't have Behavior detection either. It's like you just cut off half of the most important subsystems in avast!...
     
  10. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,143
    but in my case , the only file System Shield should be enough ,should not it?

    does the alwil team discover the issue after uninstall avast and consequent loss of internet?
     
  11. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    Not really. To have a full spectrum of protection you need File System Shield, Web Shield, Network Shield and Behavior Shield. You could theoretically cut out Web Shield (which serves as a prevention buffer for possible browser exploits) but all the others are critical to have.
     
  12. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,143
    and what about the internet issue after the uninstall?
     
  13. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    What issue? If there is any it's most probably related to a system problem. Quite frankly most of users have systems thrashed badly and then they blame it on some other software that just happens to fail to work right. And it's not just avast! here, i've seen it with other software as well.
     
  14. eugene91

    eugene91 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Posts:
    189
    Used this even on the IS version :D
     
  15. IceCube1010

    IceCube1010 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Posts:
    963
    Location:
    Earth
    All of them. I see no reason to shut them down since I do not see any speed reduction with them off. Also as RejZor said, shutting down 1 shield might affect another.

    Ice
     
  16. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,143
    i read lots of topic about users without internet after installing/uninstalling avast6


    by the way the help file is tiny
    Network Shield ->malware should be stopped by filesystem too because it monitors saved files too

    and about Behavior Shield is there a test file to try it ?
     
  17. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,143
    well only the system shield needs only 2 or 3 mb , i used process hacker
    with all the components are more , i guess 60mb ??
     
  18. Kernelwars

    Kernelwars Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Posts:
    2,155
    Location:
    TX
    using the credit reporting module:argh: :argh:
     
  19. pabrate

    pabrate Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Posts:
    685
    Maybe it doesn't make the product lighter, but I never understood those Mail, IM and P2P shields ...
    I mean, if you have File System Shield , it would catch files received via Mail, IM and P2P.
    So, what's the point ?
     
  20. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,143
    me too
     
  21. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    2,825
    I run all of them. No slowdowns here. :D
     
  22. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,559
    When I run Avast, is use all the shields except Mail & IM. I don't use an IM client of POP mail, so no need for them.
     
  23. bollity

    bollity Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    Posts:
    179
    - File System Shield
    - Web Shield
    - Script Shield
    - Behavior Shield

    you don't need Network Shield if you have a firewall.
     
  24. IceCube1010

    IceCube1010 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Posts:
    963
    Location:
    Earth
    On my win7 64 machine with all shields enabled both processes can fluctuate between 30~60 meg. I guess if you have the memory, this shouldn't be a concern. I think all the shields work nicely together.

    Ice
     
  25. majid20

    majid20 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Posts:
    24
    Yes you right ... But Network Shield is compatible with firewalls
    I think Network Shield complements your firewall
    Network Shield can be a good backup protection for your firewall
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.