Free AV/AM - on-execute only

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by rdsu, Mar 31, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,456
    Hi,

    What are the AV/AM that you know that can be configured to scan only on-execute, in Real-Time?

    I want something to complement AppGuard, on my Wife account, and have the least possible overhead on performance...

    avast! is one of them (same settings for all users)...
    Avira Free is not possible... :(
    Qihoo 360 IS is also possible (settings for each user)...

    Thanks
     
    Last edited: Mar 31, 2014
  2. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    5,044
    ESET Nod32 can be configured to scan on-execute only.

    hqsec
     

    Attached Files:

  3. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,456
    Thanks hqsec, but I want just the free ones... ;)
     
  4. siketa

    siketa Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2012
    Posts:
    2,694
    Location:
    Zagreb, Croatia
    Emsisoft can , MBAM also by default.
    EDIT: Sorry...those are paid products.....
     
    Last edited: Mar 31, 2014
  5. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,456
    In Real-Time, and on the Free version? ;)
     
  6. siketa

    siketa Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2012
    Posts:
    2,694
    Location:
    Zagreb, Croatia
    Oooops!!!!!
    Sorry...I missed the "free" word......:D
     
  7. phalanaxus

    phalanaxus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Posts:
    499
    Has been a long time since I tried these but ZA free and 360 IS did have that option if I remember correctly. Immunet may or may not have it, but I think it has some similar option.
     
  8. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    I think AVG also had this option, though i haven't tried the 2014 version yet.
     
  9. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,456
    On my first post, I wanted to say Wife account and not Wife PC... :(

    I don't want to use any AV at Real-Time, but for Her could be useful...
     
  10. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    5,044
    So you want to protect only one account with real-time antivirus? I don't know any AV (free or paid) that could do this.

    hqsec
     
  11. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,456
    I never liked AVG... :(
     
  12. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,723
    Location:
    localhost
    yes for ZA, but not per account as OP wants.
     
  13. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,456
    It seems that you can with Qihoo 360 IS.

    At least you can choose different options for each user...
     
  14. lordraiden

    lordraiden Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Posts:
    3,066
    SecureAplus Beta and Voodoo shield beta.
    Both AE with multiscan on the cloud, SAP with 8 engines for now, and VS with more than 50.
     
  15. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,456
    SecureAPlus have a free version, but Voodoo Shield...

    They can also be used in a specific windows account, or every user must use it with the same definitions?
     
  16. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    Comodo IS is on-execute as well if you only use Firewall with D+ (cloud detection). AV component itself doesn't offer such control though.
     
  17. ichito

    ichito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Posts:
    1,485
    Location:
    Poland - Cracow
    I think Crystal Security can do this...portable, light, simply, cloud based...just try it :)
     
  18. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,456
    Thanks for all your suggestions!

    I will take a look... ;)
     
  19. trott3r

    trott3r Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Posts:
    829
    Location:
    UK
    Is that MBAM v1.75 or 2?

    When i opened a directory with some virus samples in MBAM v1.75 quarantined them so that should be on access rather than execute only?

    I did use directory opus file manger to navigate dirs but i would expect it would not change that behaviour.

    thanks
    Martin
     
  20. siketa

    siketa Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2012
    Posts:
    2,694
    Location:
    Zagreb, Croatia
    I still think it is on-execute.
    Maybe I'm wrong?
     
  21. FleischmannTV

    FleischmannTV Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2013
    Posts:
    1,070
    Location:
    Germany
    Since MBAM Pro is not free, this is off topic.

    ----------------------------------------------

    I think MBAM execution protection chimes in once the file gets loaded into memory. Checking the file properties for example does that. Maybe the way viewing the folder is configured on the individual desktop has something to do with it.

     
  22. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,456
    Well, I tried some of your suggestions, and Qihoo 360 IS seems to be the best option for my needs, but I will wait for the next version...

    Crystal Security also seems a nice product, but...

    Until then, my Wife will use their Limited Account with AppGuard, and I'm sure everything will be fine... ;)

    Thanks!
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.