Fport

Discussion in 'other security issues & news' started by tom772, Jul 12, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tom772

    tom772 Guest

    FPort v2.0 - TCP/IP Process to Port Mapper
    Copyright 2000 by Foundstone, Inc.

    Hey, i was just wondering if any one has used the above programe and where i could obtain a copy. (is it worth the download?)

    Thanx, T
     
  2. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    The folks at Foundstone are top notch in the consultant field....and one of the first books I read that they were involved with was Hacking Exposed....a must for anyone truly interested in system security.

    As for Fport....you can find it on their Intrusion Detection Tools page.
     
  3. Tom772

    Tom772 Guest

    Thanxs B!:)
     
  4. Tom772

    Tom772 Guest

    Thanxs B!:)
     
  5. Tom772

    Tom772 Guest

    Thanks Bubba!
     
  6. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    They say....third times the charm....and you are Welcome, Welcome, Welcome :cool:
     
  7. Infinity

    Infinity Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    2,651
    maybe he's a bit lost with posting lol j/k :D
     
  8. Tom772

    Tom772 Guest

    I had a really bad connection, kept hitting sumit reply, so there we go!!!;)

    Downloaded Fport clicked on it and the DOS screen flashes and thats it, sorry to ask but how do you use it properly.

    Thanks T
     
  9. Kye-U

    Kye-U Security Expert

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2004
    Posts:
    481
    Start Menu, Run, type in "command" (without the "s)

    Then, use "dir" to list the contents of a director "cd.." to go one directory higher, or "cd *FOLDERNAME*" to go to a folder (type all without the "s)

    Go to the directory where fport.exe is stored.

    Once you're there, type "fport" in command (without the "s).

    Perhaps you can tell us what OS you have and where you placed fport, and I can tell you how to get there.
     
  10. tom772

    tom772 Guest

    Kye-u,

    Im totally new to using DOS> Im using Xp pro and home and have saved Fport to desktop for example how do i go about using it, thanx T.
     
  11. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    Placing it on the desktop is a little more cumbersome to explain....but if that is the route you want to go....we would then need to know what user name that that particular Desktop folder is located....to then explain how to give the DOS command string to execute fport.exe.

    For instance....C:\Documents and settings\tom772\Desktop

    I'm a firm believer in organization when it comes to storing files. If you are not organized....perhaps we could kill 2 birds with one stone :doubt:
     
  12. tom772

    tom772 Guest

    ok 'Documents folder' if thats ok
     
  13. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    Are you meaning Documents and Settings....or strictly Documents
     
  14. iceni60

    iceni60 ( ^o^)

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    5,116
    an easy way to run command based programs is to put it in the system32 directory (fport.exe) - C:\WINDOWS\system32
    because command will automatically check there when you need to run one.
    so, once it's in the system32 directory go start>run>cmd, OK. then in the dos box type fport, or for help fport /? for the switches.

    another way to run dos programs is to install PowerShell XP 3 that way all you need to do to run it is right-click fport.exe and select Command Prompt, then type in fport in the dos box and it should run
     

    Attached Files:

  15. Kye-U

    Kye-U Security Expert

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2004
    Posts:
    481
    OK, put fport.exe in the C Drive. Then open the command prompt and type the following:

    1. Type "cd.." (Without the "s)

    2. Type "cd.." again (Without the "s)

    3. You should now see "C:\>"

    4. Type "fport" (Without the "s)

    5. Enjoy!
     
  16. tom772

    tom772 Guest

    cheers Kye-U, finally got it working and it shows no threats or strange connections, so very happy. A big thanks to kye-U, but to all who gave advice i really think this forum kicks ass. ( with sites like this, the net will be a better place)

    T
     
  17. Kye-U

    Kye-U Security Expert

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2004
    Posts:
    481
    I'm happy it worked :)

    Don't hesitate to post any more questions. ;)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.