Found this to be interesting

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by Warklen, Mar 30, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Warklen

    Warklen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Posts:
    107
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 30, 2010
  2. dw426

    dw426 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Posts:
    5,543
    Lol, it took NO time for an Avira vs Avast debate to kick in there. That is pretty screwed up though. If Avira isn't replying to Avast, then things are looking a little funny.
     
  3. gery

    gery Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Posts:
    1,786
    lol it is ridiculous i clicked it and it took me to avira
    very big lo for avast:D :D :D :D :D :D :thumbd:
    they should stop this from running any longer
     
  4. Jav

    Jav Guest

    hmm... :doubt:
     
  5. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    geez Vincent. Why dont you leave that Symantec behavior behind instead of polluting Avast with it since your arrival. Just like the one you wrote in a earlier blog bragging about the new Avast Sandbox and how it is better then Kasperskys because theirs doesnt do 64 bit. Guess what, yours doesnt do 32 bit. Lol.
     
  6. johnyjohn

    johnyjohn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Posts:
    126
    Hi,

    When looking at WHOIS, we can find that antivir.cz was registered in 1997, time at which H+BEDV Datentechnik (which became Avira) already use AntiVir as a trademark since 1988.

    So do not hastily conclude...
     
  7. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    O rly? And where is the proof for that overconfident claim? Sandbox works just fine on 32bit and so does on 64bit systems.

    "antivir" also stands for "antivirus" in short. So don't jump to any conclusions too fast. Can you say the same for "avast" held by AVIRA? No, because "avast" can only mean "avast" and nothing else.
     
  8. stratoc

    stratoc Guest

    i tried avira, i used them a few years back. i tried the latest version and removed it due to the 'warning trial version' messages. the next day i had 2 e mails warning me i was using the trial version lol. i have now been removed from their spam list after e mailing support.
    it may be a great product, but i wont ever use or recommend it to anyone again. dirty scare tactics and re directs puts them in the same group as rogue products IMHO shame i used to like it.
     
  9. icr

    icr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Posts:
    1,588
    Location:
    Mumbai

    Well I do have to say Sandbox did work well for me, have used avast IS(during BETA and then on trial for sometime) on Win Xp and 7(both 32 bit) and did had much of issues with it;)
     
  10. PC__Gamer

    PC__Gamer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Posts:
    526
    lol, this does not surprise me one bit!
     
  11. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    its a bit of an underhanded thing by Avira, ESPECIALLY the part where they are not responding to avast either, that especially looks bad.:thumbd:
     
  12. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,468
  13. IceCube1010

    IceCube1010 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Posts:
    963
    Location:
    Earth
    This does look bad on Avira's part. They really should fix that url.
    Ice
     
  14. Espresso

    Espresso Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    Posts:
    975
    Maybe Tjark is opening a chain of plumbing supply shops.
     
  15. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    4,953
    Location:
    USA
    I have used Avira, and Avast and i like them both. I'm using Avira / NOD 32 now, but i believe Avast is an excellent product. I'm building a few new machines next week, and i plan on trying Avast on one of them. Is their problems with the newest version of Avast i should know about?
     
  16. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    not really from my experiences, its generally working pretty good.
     
  17. Brocke

    Brocke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Posts:
    2,191
    Location:
    USA,IA
    ALWIL has antivir.cz which leads to avast.com maybe they could swap?
     
  18. Leo2005

    Leo2005 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Posts:
    179
    Location:
    Braunschweig (Germany)
    seems it was a bit diffrent from how it is written in the blog.
    have a look at tjarks comment.

    and btw why where the history notes removed...
     
  19. pasha101

    pasha101 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Posts:
    34
    Reading the blog that is posted it looks like Avast isn't too interested in transferring that domain to themselves. Tjark's post seems quite reasonable. I would imagine that this issue will be resolved quickly if Avast wants it resolved.
     
  20. IBK

    IBK AV Expert

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Posts:
    1,819
    Location:
    Innsbruck (Austria)
  21. IBK

    IBK AV Expert

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Posts:
    1,819
    Location:
    Innsbruck (Austria)
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.