Fortknox firewall

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by Brocke, Mar 26, 2017.

  1. jadinolf

    jadinolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Posts:
    962
    Location:
    Southern California
    Well, another question is regarding the PAID version........one year oro_O
     
  2. NiteRanger

    NiteRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2016
    Posts:
    618
    Location:
    Far East
    Just installed.

    It said it's a shareware. Not sure it can be used for how long before needs paying
     
  3. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    34,973
    The trial can be used for 15 days, then it switches to a limited mode. "Many features and options are disabled", but it is not mentioned what features and it is also not mentioned on the website.
     
  4. NiteRanger

    NiteRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2016
    Posts:
    618
    Location:
    Far East
    Thanks
     
  5. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    34,973
    "Lifetime license":
    Fortknox_Buy.png
     
  6. jadinolf

    jadinolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Posts:
    962
    Location:
    Southern California
  7. NiteRanger

    NiteRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2016
    Posts:
    618
    Location:
    Far East
    Just tried and then uninstalled it

    It's very slow to act like when you pressed the buttons they take a few seconds to respond and sometimes even take longer to respond when you are opening a browser at the same time.
     
  8. aktiffiso

    aktiffiso Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2013
    Posts:
    19
    Location:
    M?xico
    Hi i want to know if this software are active development, the autor page seems outdated, i want to know if you use it or what another free two ways firewalls recomends i would like to use it
     
  9. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,994
  10. boredog

    boredog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Posts:
    2,499
    Tinywall
     
  11. warrior99

    warrior99 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2014
    Posts:
    47
    Last updated: 4/8/2017
    digital sig ‎Friday, ‎04 ‎August ‎2017 6:29:21 AM
    development, the answer is Yes
    active Yes
     
  12. NiteRanger

    NiteRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2016
    Posts:
    618
    Location:
    Far East
    Just installed on my 2 tablets on trial and they are running well :)

    It has very impressive features. The below features are no longer there

    - Ad blocking
    - Referrer blocking
    - ActiveX blocking
    - Cookies blocking

    Actually, not required since other software and the browser/extensions already have them
     
  13. Disney

    Disney Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2012
    Posts:
    131
    Location:
    USA
    Good firewall. Too much paranoia here. And I just found out it is still actively developed. This was from their support team so take it with a grain of salt.
     
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2018
  14. Disney

    Disney Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2012
    Posts:
    131
    Location:
    USA
    And you can get a lifetime license for 5 computers if you look .:thumb:
     
  15. TairikuOkami

    TairikuOkami Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Posts:
    3,112
    Location:
    Slovakia
    I contacted their support, they replied within a day, not bad for a free product. Still they replied, that it does not support IP ranges, that is not good, not good at all for a firewall. :doubt:
     
  16. Disney

    Disney Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2012
    Posts:
    131
    Location:
    USA
    Interesting you say this as I see no problem with it. Guess it depends on how paranoid you are.
     
  17. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,994
    Does it still have the problem with the local proxy hole? Or has that been fixed?
     
  18. imuade

    imuade Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2016
    Posts:
    745
    Location:
    Italy
  19. TairikuOkami

    TairikuOkami Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Posts:
    3,112
    Location:
    Slovakia
    Matousek (outdated) tested AV and HIPS capabilities, not firewalls. That is the reason he renamed it from a firewall challenge to proactive security, but no one took him seriously anyway.
     
  20. Circuit

    Circuit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2014
    Posts:
    939
    Location:
    Land o fruits and nuts, and more crime.
    Windows 7 64.

    @Wolfram: https://www.wilderssecurity.com/thr...an-additional-layer-of-defense.398859/page-96 #2377

    Have I done a WhoIs lookup on 64.6.64.6? Yes, I have. I mentioned this in my first post. The IP corresponds to VeriSign.
    I quote myself: "URL: VeriSign Global Registry Services - which is my DNS."

    I use a Firewall called "FortKnox". It is a nearly perfect clone of the "old" Sygate Personal Firewall PRO. And it works "like greased"."Have I done a WhoIs lookup on 64.6.64.6? Yes, I have. I mentioned this in my first post. The IP corresponds to VeriSign.
    I quote myself: "URL: VeriSign Global Registry Services - which is my DNS."

    I use a Firewall called "FortKnox". It is a nearly perfect clone of the "old" Sygate Personal Firewall PRO. And it works "like greased".


    Tried it out, freezes when opening VPN. Advance options reverted back to default after re-boot.
    No pop-ups about blocked programs, even though I opted-in.


    Needs some more work.
     
  21. Wolfram

    Wolfram Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2019
    Posts:
    31
    Location:
    Romania


    I am using FortKnox on a Windows XP Pro 32-bit system. I have never used it with a VPN.

    In my case, after every reboot, the Options are kept as I set them.

    I confirm the fact that after checking the option "Show blocked applications messages in the system tray", sometimes, after many hours of intensively using the PC, FK does not always generate the expected messages. (If there are, indeed, blocked applications, right at that moment! If there are not, than you have to wait until they appear! You do not have to infer that FK does not work properly.)

    The solution is, either a PC restart, or a Firewall restart. In the latter case, before disabling FK, you should also [temporarily] disable your LAN-Internet connection.

    If you do not want to be bothered with endless notifications about blocked programs, there is an alternative: on Traffic Log window, above the button "Export..." select "Denied". And, voila, you have the list of the blocked apps.


    Traffic - Denied.png


    The only thing I do not like about FK is its graphical interface. For example, you can not re-order the list of executables, alphabetically. In this regard, Sygate PRO sat a little better. Oooh, how I miss the golden age of the Sygate Pro Firewall... Even if it was about to become a SPYgate, it has remained my favorite firewalls of that era... At that time I was 15 years younger...
     
    Last edited: Feb 1, 2019
  22. Circuit

    Circuit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2014
    Posts:
    939
    Location:
    Land o fruits and nuts, and more crime.
    Problem they never appeared. For example had CCleaner blocked never a message for this or any of the other programs blocked.

    I like to be bothered with the blocked messages, like to see the action.

    Cleaned with privazer and ccleaner after install maybe they cleaned to much to make the options revert (file-sharing).

    I wanted this firewall to work for me, I am glad it works for you. :)
     
  23. Circuit

    Circuit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2014
    Posts:
    939
    Location:
    Land o fruits and nuts, and more crime.

    It seems to be working better (maybe updated?), pop-ups are mostly there, settings are not changing. So I decided to buy the lifetime license, for that price it looks good. Got it working with VPN, with svchost blocked (added a couple of advanced rule), and services (all blocked).
    Did get a notification on malware-bytes anti-exploit, nothing for OSA 1.4.2, yet.
    I will report back on any issues.
    (win7x64)


    Update, FN reported blocked app's fine when in "block all" mode, but nothing in "normal mode".
    Using a third party connections viewer, FN seems to be doing the job.
    Nothing reported with OSA, as of now.
     
    Last edited: Feb 16, 2019
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.