Former Opera CEO Launches Vivaldi, A New Browser For Power Users

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by ronjor, Jan 27, 2015.

  1. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    8,059
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    Kind of surprised it opened for me since as can be seen from the screenie there is a pile of extensions in a row.

    For sure ScriptSafe was 0FF too while trying this because it's an Iron Fist and blocks quite an amount all on it's own.
     
  2. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    69,530
    Location:
    Texas
  3. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    69,530
    Location:
    Texas
  4. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    8,059
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    Im glad I jumped back on with Vivaldi when I did. It's really ramping up and I think they got something with this one this time.
     
  5. blacknight

    blacknight Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,918
    Location:
    Europe, UE citizen
    I like Vivaldi, but I find very disturbing to not be able to resize the thumbs in Speed Dial. :(
     
  6. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    11,364
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Yes, I agree. I should have made the switch way sooner, can't believe that I stayed with Firefox 52 so long. I just love the speed of the Blink engine. I'm also loving the tab-based bookmarks manager. Of course the resource usage is a joke, but it could have been worse. With 50 tabs opened it uses about 3 to 4 GB of RAM. I'm still using good old Opera 12 for a couple of sites, so this also helps. But main browsing is done with Vivaldi.
     
  7. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    11,452
    Vivaldi v2.0.1309.40 Released (October 15, 2018)
    Announcement
    Download
     
  8. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,691
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    Well, they haven't fixed the copy/paste problem and the spell checker dropdown menu bug still happens for me in Proton Mail. Ah well ... back to Chrome again. :(
     
  9. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    11,453
    Location:
    UK
    No they haven't :'(
     
  10. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,691
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    They did fix the bookmarks toolbar loading time though lol. :rolleyes:
     
  11. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    11,452
    Vivaldi v2.0.1309.42 Released (October 17, 2018)
    Announcement
    Download
     
  12. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    8,059
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    Seen the update available notice this AM. Thanks @mood for keeping up with it. Great browser for this user.
     
  13. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    11,364
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I've noticed that Vivaldi freezes when you select "Bookmark All Open Pages", especially when you have at least 30 tabs open, can you confirm? What's also weird is that it doesn't always open websites in a new tab (via address-bar), seems like I will have to report this annoying bug.
     
  14. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,691
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    I never have more than three tabs open anyway lol. Vivaldi is starting to resemble Opera Presto with an accumulation of bugs they never fix.
     
  15. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    8,059
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    That's lot more tabs than even a busy user might have open. I think I gone as far as maybe 10 max.

    The only issue I continue to have is on first opening Vilvaldi. I get that grey background with the V that sort of just hangs there for seconds which is a pain but there might be some way around that when I can find it.
     
  16. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    11,452
  17. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    8,059
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
  18. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    11,364
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    It's not that bad, but I can't believe that they didn't spot certain quirks. When you select a URL in the address-bar (or use copy and paste), it should always open in a new tab, it should be optional at least. But it should not open in a new tab if it's the speed dial page.

    I guess it comes down on your browsing habits. When I open websites, I first make a selection of articles I want to read, and open them in the background via middle-click. So before you know it, I might have 50 tabs open from multiple sites.
     
  19. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    11,364
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    It's weird as hell, but all of a sudden Yahoo Finance has become choppy to load when you scroll down. But this doesn't happen on older versions of Vivaldi, so I don't know if it's caused by certain extensions. I have no idea where these weird problems come from! I've also noticed that Vivaldi doesn't have any crash recovery, it crashed on me two times, not sure if it was because I was running out of RAM.

    You're not going to believe this, but the problem on at5.nl was caused by the "I don't care about cookies" extension, luckily it has a white-listing option.
     
  20. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,535
    If you are on that tab, makes sense to open that url on the same tab.

    If you want to open in a new tab you have two options:
    1. Open a new tab, and enter the URL
    2. Enter the URL and Alt+Enter or Shift+Enter, depending your Vivaldi settings, to open in a new tab
     
  21. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    11,364
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Nope, it's about convenience. You don't want to open a new tab every time you want to launch a new website. The funny thing is, it sometimes does and sometimes doesn't do this, so it's clearly a bug.
     
  22. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,691
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    I think they're concentrating on adding new features, to the detriment of keeping the more prosaic functions working properly.
     
  23. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    11,452
    Vivaldi 2.0 review: The modern Web browser does not have to be so bland
    Vivaldi says about half of all the 2.0 features come from user feedback and suggestions
    October 19, 2018

    https://arstechnica.com/gadgets/201...deal-browser-if-youre-willing-to-invest-time/
     
  24. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    11,364
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Wow, that's a big review. But yes, currently Vivaldi is the only choice for power users. Mozilla made a big mistake by making Firefox just as crappy as Chrome.
     
  25. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    11,452
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.