Former Opera CEO Launches Vivaldi, A New Browser For Power Users

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by ronjor, Jan 27, 2015.

  1. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    9,578
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    I can copy/paste from Vivaldi to AbiWord.

    And I can copy/paste on this forum:

    Looks like I am not the only one (you always feel better when it happens to someone else as well :))

    I'm running Win 7 x64.
     
  2. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    9,715
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
  3. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    17,452
    Location:
    UK
    I've just discovered that I can paste a url in a post if I turn off the forum Rich Text Editor (not had to do that previously)
     
  4. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    9,715
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    Good find and effort on your part to have kept searching alternatives to that new mystery. Seems sometimes maybe, i'm no expert on this, that different forum codes respond or fail to respond sometimes when any browsers are released that have been worked up with modified code etc.

    Glad you discovered a working method and it must have seemed weird with something not working that did work before.

    I've really fallen head over heels with this browser, it took a long time to part with Palemoon just like when using Opera back on XP, but with the STRONG extensions, security and reasonable privacy, not to mention performance, i'm pretty settled in with this browser and it's ongoing development.
     
  5. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,787
  6. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    17,452
    Location:
    UK
    It's a bit of a mystery. I have discounted and tried lots of things and reasons, but the plain fact is that on this forum with Rich Text enabled I cannot copy and paste or spell check (with Vivaldi built in one) since updating to Vivaldi 2.
    No problems on Invision Power Board forums and Vivaldi 2
     
  7. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    40,286
  8. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    14,569
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I'm planning to use it as my main browser, I must say these guys did a great job. Plus it works great together with Sandboxie. Mozilla really dropped the ball, what a huge disappointment FF Quantum has been, so after all of these years I can say so long Firefox!
     
  9. blacknight

    blacknight Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Posts:
    3,087
    Location:
    Europe, UE citizen
    As I already said, my problem is that it is impossible to resize the thumbs in Speed Dial.
     
  10. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    4,015
    tried viv v2 this minutes, as "standalone = portable", copied my chromium profile into "user data" - working.

    and it worked without any modifications in sandboxie like some special user(s) here always spread fud.

    edit: copied it to my other computer - "portable" = epic fail.
    it wont lose settings but all extensions are gone.
     
    Last edited: Oct 1, 2018
  11. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    40,286
  12. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    9,715
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
  13. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    40,286
    Vivaldi v2.0.1309.37 Released (October 02, 2018)
    Announcement
    Download
     
  14. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    9,578
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    Hmmm ... now I'm having problems pasting some links into Proton Mail.
     
  15. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    9,715
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    Updated. Thanks. No issues found yet.
     
  16. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    17,452
    Location:
    UK
    I have issues pasting links on Wilders with Vivaldi 2. I have to turn off Rich Text to do it.

    Didn't have issues before version 2.
     
  17. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    9,578
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    Yes, I have a feeling this is going to be a long running bug. I'm now having problems with the spell checker. The dropdown menu giving alternatives works, but doesn't replace the word when you click on it.

    At least they fixed the icon delay with the bookmarks toolbar lol.
     
  18. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    17,452
    Location:
    UK
    Same issue here.
     
  19. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    9,578
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    I hope they're working on an update fix! Oh well, back to Chrome I suppose lol.
     
  20. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    17,452
    Location:
    UK
    If I use bb code on Wilders the spellchecker and pasting works, and then I can just switch back to Rich Text.
    I did do a bug report for it with Vivaldi but no one else apart from one or two posters mention that this happens to them.

    I wonder what we have in common that makes it happen for us? I discounted uBlock0 and EAM.
     
  21. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    9,578
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    I only have six extensions on Vivaldi, I doubt any of these would be the cause. Disabling them seems to make no difference anyway.

    d8e79d22-9671-49f8-a22d-58d7255caef7.png
     
  22. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    17,452
    Location:
    UK
    I only have uBlock0 on Vivaldi.
     
  23. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    14,569
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I have noticed that some sites do not work correctly. Can you guys check if you can get at5.nl to scroll any further. You need to scroll down and click on "Meer nieuws", it doesn't load any new articles on Vivaldi.
     
  24. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    9,715
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    Must be something going on for you. "Meer nieuws" loaded immediately on-click for me after the ani icon spinned a few rounds.
    cc.jpg

    Plus my Vilvaldi also shows this from extensions but didn't prevent it from loading that additional.
    33.jpg
     
  25. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    14,569
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Thanks, must be some extension, will try again with all extensions disabled. I didn't have any problems in Chrome with only Privacy Badger running.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.