Former Opera CEO Launches Vivaldi, A New Browser For Power Users

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by ronjor, Jan 27, 2015.

  1. quietman

    quietman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2014
    Posts:
    511
    Location:
    Earth .... occasionally
    I've been " road-testing" it for a few weeks now , and it certainly has some nice features .

    But I wonder if the lack of support from Privazer and CCleaner might discourage some people from
    switching to it as their main browser ?
     
  2. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    13,578
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Perhaps I should reinstall Flash. And I think it's best to use a script-blocker to control sites, the only problem is there are no simple ones available for Chrome and Vivaldi.
     
  3. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    107,227
    Location:
    Texas
    https://vivaldi.net/en-US/teamblog/107-snapshot-1-1-453-36-vivaldi-1-1rc1
     
  4. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    13,578
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    It might be my imagination but Vivaldi v1.1 feels a bit heavier than v1. And in order to avoid future problems, I think they should integrate Flash just like Chrome did. Because I still couldn't make it work, it's not even listed on the plug-ins page.

    I don't see how this should be a problem, since you clean private data with Vivaldi itself.
     
  5. Socio

    Socio Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    332
    Did we ever get clarification on Vivaldi phoning home?
     
  6. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    5,026
    Location:
    USA still the best. But getting worse!
    What are people using for ad blockers? I'm using uBlock Origin. In FF uBlock counter of ads blocked goes crazy with high numbers sometimes. But on Vivaldi no numbers are displayed & ads are showing that don't in FF. So either it's not working or I set it wrong.

    Edit: I just copied my FF uBlock settings. And purged & updated 3rd party filters. Let's see how that goes.
     
    Last edited: Apr 22, 2016
  7. NWOAbschaum

    NWOAbschaum Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    Posts:
    222
    Location:
    Germany
    u have the right version? u need ppapi not npapi.
     
  8. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    5,026
    Location:
    USA still the best. But getting worse!
    I'm all set I think. Just copying my FF settings, purging & updating seems to have worked. The V uBlock counter is racking up the #s just as in FF.
     
    Last edited: Apr 22, 2016
  9. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    107,227
    Location:
    Texas
    https://vivaldi.net/en-US/teamblog/108-snapshot-1-1-453-43-vivaldi-1-1-rc2
     
  10. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    13,578
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Thanks, perhaps that's the problem, will check it out: http://labs.adobe.com/downloads/flashplayer.html

    I've done some monitoring and it seems that most of the traffic is related to so called "Content delivery networks", and apparently all browsers communicate with them, I also saw it with FF. So I'm not sure if you can truly label it as phoning home.

    I'm using ABP + Ghostery, but I'm still looking for a replacement for NoScript. The problem is, that I can't seem to figure out how to configure uBlock to make it work exactly like NS. BTW, I noticed that you can run different versions of Vivaldi alongside each other, pretty cool.
     
  11. TheWindBringeth

    TheWindBringeth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012
    Posts:
    2,171
    Usually, phoning home will be to hosts within domains that are owned by the program's developer. So that the developer can steer the communications to the systems they want to handle things. If the developer chooses to use a third-party CDN/cloud/hosting service, the concern would not only be exposing information to the developer but also exposing information to that third-party.

    Mozilla does use third-party systems for various things. For example: telemetry reporting and experiment manifest requests are to incoming.telemetry.mozilla.org and telemetry-experiment.cdn.mozilla.net respectively, and those hostnames resolve to Amazon machines. It is still phoning home for discussion purposes, and the type of thing many would want to know of [and disable/block].

    Note that Mozilla uses hostnames that shed light on the communication. I'm not sure if Vivaldi developers are doing that. Either way, since the communications should be HTTPS, the easiest way to inspect/catalog the communications would be from within the browser itself. Assuming Vivaldi provides a reliable way to capture full requests/responses including "background" ones. Which is an important feature to have in any browser.
     
    Last edited: Apr 24, 2016
  12. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    107,227
    Location:
    Texas
  13. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    107,227
    Location:
    Texas
  14. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    13,578
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    OK I see. I don't think it's a big problem, I haven't noticed any strange connections being made by Vivaldi lately. But to be honest, I wouldn't be surprised if these companies can and will track you.

    Thanks, this did the trick, it's now working correctly. I didn't realize you had to download separate Flash versions for Firefox and Chromium based browsers. BTW, does anyone know where Vivaldi stores its settings? I'm now running Vivaldi v1 and v1.1 side by side, but when I enable/disable extensions it happens in both versions.

    I have now also switched from ABP to uBlock Origin, and it has speeded up webpage loading. I still use Ghostery because it's the easiest way to block third party trackers.
     
  15. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    4,277
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    Try uBlockO in medium mode?
     
  16. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    13,578
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I will check it out, but I have never managed to configure uBlock to make it work like Ghostery, plus Ghostery also gives you better info about trackers, so I think I will stick to this combo. Luckily, they have changed the horrible new GUI of Ghostery v6 to the old one, at least on Chromium based browsers.
     
  17. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    107,227
    Location:
    Texas
    https://vivaldi.net/en-US/teamblog/112-minor-update-to-vivaldi-1-1
     
  18. wasgij6

    wasgij6 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Posts:
    321
    https://vivaldi.net/en-US/teamblog/111-snapshot-1-2-470-11-editable-gestures
     
  19. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    107,227
    Location:
    Texas
  20. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    13,578
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    It's a bit frustrating, there are a couple of of annoying bugs and some features are still missing. So sadly enough I still can't make the switch.
     
  21. rpsgc

    rpsgc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Posts:
    311
    Location:
    Portugal
    Tell me about it. I won't switch to Vivaldi until they remove that idiotic lazy tab loading of theirs.
     
  22. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    13,578
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Especially the bookmarks manager needs to be improved, that's my biggest gripe. I do appreciate all of the work they have done, but it needs some finishing touches. BTW, does it have a password manager? I can't find it in the settings.
     
  23. ABaird3

    ABaird3 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2016
    Posts:
    96
    Does anyone else experience lag in Lastpass in Vivaldi? Pressing enter doesn't work after inputting the password either, the login button has to be clicked. Just me?
     
  24. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    107,227
    Location:
    Texas
  25. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    13,578
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    BTW, does the Video DownloadHelper extension work in Vivaldi? It doesn't seem to pick up anything, but it does work correctly with Firefox.

    https://www.downloadhelper.net/
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.