Former Opera CEO Launches Vivaldi, A New Browser For Power Users

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by ronjor, Jan 27, 2015.

  1. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    13,597
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    So it does have the sandbox?
     
  2. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,457
    Location:
    Outer space
    Yes.
    Note that disabling UAC on Vista and 7 disables integrity levels, thus also the sandbox.
     
  3. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    13,597
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    OK, so Opera and Vivaldi both feature the sandbox? That would be quite cool, I wonder why no one has mentioned this before. Normally, people only mention Chrome.
     
  4. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,457
    Location:
    Outer space
    Certainly looks like it.
    For a check I also ran Vivaldi with the --no-sandbox switch, and then there were no Low and Untrusted processes, only Medium.
     
  5. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    107,406
    Location:
    Texas
  6. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    107,406
    Location:
    Texas
  7. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    107,406
    Location:
    Texas
  8. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    107,406
    Location:
    Texas
  9. Tyrizian

    Tyrizian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Posts:
    2,823
    Hopefully this isn't just me, but do any of you see a slight difference in clarity (URL text, UI text in general, buttons), in comparison to other browsers?

    For example, when I look at the UI elements of Vivaldi browser, I see a slight soft tone/blur to everything (URL text, UI text in general, buttons).

    Anyone else see a distinction here, in comparison to all the other browsers?

    Note: I'm only talking about UI elements, not the way web sites look.
     
  10. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    13,597
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I'm not sure what you mean, it looks normal to me:
     

    Attached Files:

  11. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    13,597
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    BTW, I really wonder how long it will take to add certain features to Vivaldi, let's hope it will not become the new Maxthon v3, I had to dump it 10 years ago, when developers decided not to listen to user requests.
     
  12. wasgij6

    wasgij6 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Posts:
    321
    https://vivaldi.net/en-US/teamblog/97-snapshot-1-0-435-5-closing-in-on-a-final
     
  13. Tyrizian

    Tyrizian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Posts:
    2,823
    Right now the text is not as clear and the UI is a bit smaller, especially when compared to other browsers.

    I sent out an e-mail to the Vivaldi team about a universal pleasing theme for everyone, for people who have vision problems and for those that don't. I recently received a response back and they agree that more work can be done to enhance the current UI.
     
  14. IvoShoen

    IvoShoen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Posts:
    788
    The problem I have with this browser is that it will not let me login to sites like Hulu. It's a no go for me.
     
  15. wasgij6

    wasgij6 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Posts:
    321
  16. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    107,406
    Location:
    Texas
  17. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    107,406
    Location:
    Texas
  18. wasgij6

    wasgij6 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Posts:
    321
  19. gerardwil

    gerardwil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2004
    Posts:
    4,750
    Location:
    EU
  20. wasgij6

    wasgij6 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Posts:
    321
  21. rpsgc

    rpsgc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Posts:
    311
    Location:
    Portugal
    Forced lazy tabs and forced tab hibernation are not what I would consider productive or efficient or fun. And they market it as a browser for power users? Are they kidding me?

    Those kind of "features" ought to be optional.
     
    Last edited: Apr 6, 2016
  22. Pliskin

    Pliskin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    Posts:
    425
    Did you try disabling vivaldi://flags/#automatic-tab-discarding ?
     
  23. rpsgc

    rpsgc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Posts:
    311
    Location:
    Portugal
    Yes. But that's for situations when the system memory is low. My problem is mostly at startup. Tabs don't load until I click on them and doing that merely loads the cached version. So I have to click & refresh every, single, tab, every, single, time I open the browser.
     
  24. Pliskin

    Pliskin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    Posts:
    425
    Seems very annoying.
    They have some priority list, so if enough people request some feature they give it higher priority.
     
  25. rpsgc

    rpsgc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Posts:
    311
    Location:
    Portugal
    Yes, but you see, lazy tabs (not loading until you click on them) was at the top of the feature requests... On a desktop browser. On a desktop browser aimed at power users. Go figure.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.