For those of you on the fence about WSA

Discussion in 'Prevx Releases' started by kdcdq, Feb 22, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    This is correct :) Worst case, you can just not use some of the Essentials functionality, but I'd think the Identity Shield would be enough of a reason to use Essentials instead of just AV.
     
  2. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,818
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Same here! ;)

    TH
     
  3. kdcdq

    kdcdq Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2002
    Posts:
    815
    Location:
    A Non-Sh*thole State
    Recent and rapid production updates to WSA cause me to rethink my original statements that started this thread: it is even MORE polished and usable than it was, in my humble, yet accurate, opinion!!!:D
     
  4. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Thanks! :)
     
  5. kdcdq

    kdcdq Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2002
    Posts:
    815
    Location:
    A Non-Sh*thole State
    You are welcome! You and TH are Most Appreciated on this site...:thumb:
     
  6. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,818
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Thanks! ;)

    Cheers,

    TH
     
  7. STV0726

    STV0726 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Posts:
    900
    I second that. Joe and Daniel are simply THE BEST when it comes to personal, high quality, prompt, courteous, individualized support!

    Should really consider the pictures of yourself in the GUI :-D
     
  8. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    46,730
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Removed Off Topic Posts.
     
  9. hellopeople84

    hellopeople84 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2012
    Posts:
    4
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Hi, I just picked up the 3 for $5 the other day. It was mainly for my dad since his Norton license expired.

    I'm currently using NOD32, which is also coming up for expiration, and I'm on the fence about renewing it, or switching over to WSA.

    My main reason for sticking with Eset is because of their solid VB100 performance, and overall reputation. I've no clue as far as Webroot goes and the protection level it provides.

    Are there any other reputable resources besides this forum that I can look up WSA performance? I've tried googling, but didn't come up with any useful information.

    Customer service does seem solid, so that's a huge bonus. Thanks for the help.. I'll make a decision in 2 days from this posting. (I have the WSA install file sitting on my desktop waiting for me :blink: )

    edit: current setup, fresh install:

    Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit (LUA) + Sandboxie + EMET
    [Windows Firewall] (default, undecided on 3rd party FW)
    [Antivirus pending] (NOD32 or WSA)
     
  10. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,899
    Location:
    localhost
  11. pegr

    pegr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Posts:
    2,281
    Location:
    UK
  12. hellopeople84

    hellopeople84 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2012
    Posts:
    4
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
  13. SOG

    SOG Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Posts:
    33
    I've had Prevx for several years and agree with those who feel the renewal process for this downgrade software is a strange policy. Anyway, I've followed the tip here to upgrade via the Webroot ISE 2011 v7.0 method and have a couple of observations.
    The install of v7.0 was a problem with DefenseWall active – it would not complete and I had to suspend to load.
    Does ISE 2011 download Silverlight? Is it necessary for SecureAnywhere v8? Can I erase it if I choose so to do?
    After the upgrade took place, the v7.0 program appeared to be deleted but the entry still appeared in the Control Panel setting Add or Remove Programs – no size of program was listed and I could not see it in C:\Program Files. Revo and Ace Utilities seem to have removed the entry plus some 400 or so registry items with no effect on SecureAnywhere. Does that sound right – I've not compromised anything in v8.00?
     
  14. Techfox1976

    Techfox1976 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Posts:
    749
    7.0 definitely uses Silverlight, but SecureAnywhere does not, so yes you can remove it. 7.0 was also not made to coexist with stuff.

    If Revo pulled everything potentially-related to Webroot, then yes, it may have yanked SecureAnywhere data, including stuff specific to Essentials. The best way to be sure that you're okay is to uninstall SecureAnywhere and then reinstall it clean. If you use the direct method instead of doing 7.0 first, you will be much better off. When it upgraded, it should have given you a text file on your desktop with your new license key that may have numbers instead of just letter.
     
  15. kdcdq

    kdcdq Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2002
    Posts:
    815
    Location:
    A Non-Sh*thole State
    For those of you still on the fence about WSA: WSA did NOT perform well on a recent test; the results are posted in this thread: https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=321890.

    If you read the comments from the fine folks that work for Webroot, Webroot had on idea that this particular test was being performed. That being said, I am not sure what difference knowing-or-not-knowing would have made to the test results.

    WSA has performed very well in other recent tests, so let's give Webroot time to assess the damage and figure out how to make this product better.
     
  16. Techfox1976

    Techfox1976 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Posts:
    749
    I read the entire 52-page report. I then read between the lines and sorted through the mess. My conclusion is simple:

    If you are one of the 3 in 100,000 people outside the testing that is running an XP machine that is unpatched beyond SP3 and running an unpatched IE7 and old versions of Java and Adobe, then yes, WSA will do stuff like allow a VB downloader that fails to download to sit in TIF and therefore count as "WSA Failed", despite the fact you didn't and couldn't get infected from it.

    WSA is still perfectly fine for intelligent people and power users.
     
  17. kdcdq

    kdcdq Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2002
    Posts:
    815
    Location:
    A Non-Sh*thole State
    Thanks to Techfox1976 for reading and analyzing the entire report. Quite frankly (and sadly), that is a LOT more than I have a done at the present time. I will also read/study this report and promise to give my results here when completed.
     
  18. Techfox1976

    Techfox1976 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Posts:
    749
    You can see my response on the thread in the other forum if you want the details of the issues I find with it. Admittedly I was only defending WSA in it, but some of the problems cast doubt on the report as a whole (such as having a given test marked as both "Passed Completely" and "Failed" on the same test.
     
  19. kdcdq

    kdcdq Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2002
    Posts:
    815
    Location:
    A Non-Sh*thole State
    Yes, Techfox1976, I read your "dissertation" response in the other thread with great interest. I was VERY impressed with your detailed questions about the methodology used and results obtained. Keep up the good work and thanks again for your time. Hats-off to you....:)
     
  20. Techfox1976

    Techfox1976 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Posts:
    749
    On the original "Good Deal" part of this thread... Fry's.com is selling it for - I {censored} you not - $-0.01 (After Rebate). Yes, they pay you a penny to get it.

    http://www.frys.com/product/6799515

    (YMMV)
     
  21. SOG

    SOG Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Posts:
    33
    Many thanks for that advice, it's much appreciated.
    SecureAnywhere seems to be behaving perfectly well but I think I will take up your suggestion of the direct method.
     
  22. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    That sounds right, but you may want to reboot, uninstall WSA, then reboot again, and then reinstall WSA just to be sure everything is cleared out. Silverlight is definitely not required for WSA.
     
  23. Function

    Function Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2012
    Posts:
    76
    Location:
    UK
    I was thinking about moving to WSA, figured best to post here.


    I am currently using Avast for my AV, would it be wise to switch from Avast to WSA. Avast currently is giving me no issues.

    I use a few other security software's. Would WSA be in conflict with any of the following (They are all real-time apart from SAS)

    AppGuard
    Sandboxie
    Online Armor Pro
    MalwareBytes AntiMalware
    Super AntiSpyware (On Demand Only)
    SpyShelter Premium
     
  24. Scoobs72

    Scoobs72 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Posts:
    1,113
    Location:
    Sofa (left side)
    There is a large amount of overlapping 'protection' in that setup which could lead to a conflict even now.

    Appguard + SBIE + WSA is one option; or you could try
    Online Armor + SBIE + WSA, or even:
    SBIE + WSA + Spyshelter
     
  25. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,974
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    exactly :thumb:
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.