For nodbaga and noone_particular - parsing links

Discussion in 'Test Forum' started by FanJ, Jun 17, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. FanJ

    FanJ Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,564
    For nodbaga and noone_particular:

    Hi guys,

    With respect to https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showpost.php?p=2073515&postcount=46 and that "Forum software seems determined that google-analytics needs to be a link".

    Besides using the code-tag (as noone_particular posted) you can also use, while posting, the option to remove the checkmark in "Automatically parse links in text", in the Additional Options. See screenshot.

    W_2012_06_17_1.gif
     
  2. LowWaterMark

    LowWaterMark Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Posts:
    17,878
    Location:
    New England
    And along with that setting... The statement "Forum software seems determined that google-analytics needs to be a link"... is not really what's happening there.

    It's not because it's "google-analytics" at all. It's because it has a leading "www" on the front. Forum software generally uses the leading www the same as having http:/ / on the front of a string. It puts all of those into the bbcode processor and tries to process them as clickable links. Any domain with a leading www on it will normally be processed into links inside forum posts.

    Unsetting the box FanJ shows in his image, or, leaving the leading www off a domain name, will prevent them from being processed into links via the bbocde processor.
     
  3. noone_particular

    noone_particular Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Posts:
    3,798
    That was basically what I meant, the forum software reacting to the format "www.whatever.com", not to google-analytics specifically. I should have been more clear.

    edit, wrapping quotes around the link appears to work as well.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads
  1. Osaban
    Replies:
    6
    Views:
    354
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.