Floppy Disk Error

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by Jersi, Jun 17, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Jersi

    Jersi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Posts:
    10
    Help! o_O
    Recently installed Nod32 v.2.5 on NT4 Server.
    Nod32 is running AMON, DMON and XMON.
    Exchange is v.5.5

    All latest service packs installed on NT and Exchange.

    When various applications run on the server eg. backup / generic data transfer software, the error message below occurs:

    System Process - No Disk
    There is no disk in the drive. Please insert a disk into drive A:
    Abort Retry Ignore


    This problem never occurred before the installation of NOD32.
    Searching various Internet sites, found a couple of details about other Antivirus packages causing similar problems.

    When this message pops up, the application running haults (eg. backup stops, transfer stops), this is causing many problems as the applications run at night and there is no one around to answer the message.

    We have had this problem occur on two servers now.
    One of which does not run Exchange.

    If we disable AMON the problem never occurs.

    Any ideas welcomed!
    We have contacted UK support, they don't have any answers either.

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. Rolfy

    Rolfy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Posts:
    6
    Just a thought, have you tried excluding the A drive ?
     
  3. alglove

    alglove Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Posts:
    904
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, USA
    Did you say NT4 Server? Try this patch from Microsoft. There seems to be an issue with some floppy disk controllers misreporting data underruns/overruns when the system is under heavy load. Probably data underruns, in your case.

    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/q300987
     
  4. Jersi

    Jersi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Posts:
    10
    Thanks for ideas.

    Excluding the A: drive did not resolve the issue.

    Applying the Microsoft Patch did not resolve the issue either.

    The only thing that appears to work is Disabling AMON, I would prefer not to have to do this.

    At the moment I have to weigh up whether I want backups or virus protection!

    Not a choice I want to make
     
  5. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    There still may be others come along with suggestions, however, in the meantime can you please send an email to support@nod32.com and place a link to this thread. If you do not hear from Eset within 3 days (allows for weekends), please advise us here...
    We would appreciate if you could keep us in the loop with your progress, as we all learn this way…

    Cheers :D
     
  6. alglove

    alglove Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Posts:
    904
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, USA
    How about this?

    http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;281345&sd=tech

    I know the article is for SQL Server, but the fix seems pretty generic. It is supposed to tell Windows to avoid popup messages for any hard errors on the system. Instead, it will return the default error condition to the calling process.

    Go to the registry and go to...
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Windows
    ...and change ErrorMode to 2

    More of a workaround than a fix, but it will let you avoid having the error messages just sit there overnight.
     
  7. beng

    beng Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2004
    Posts:
    38
    Location:
    Melbourne/Australia
    G'day Jersi,
    I had this problem and just thought it was me <grin>.
    This seems to happen on Win2K and WinXP SP1 and 2 as well, so when it does I simply untick the Media --> Diskette under settings on AMON.
    Lowers the threat protection if someone leaves a disk in the drive, but none of my machines are set to boot from the floppy by default anyway......
    Would be nice to find a proper fix though.

    Cheers Ben.
     
  8. alglove

    alglove Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Posts:
    904
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, USA
    I guess another workaround could be just to leave a blank floppy diskette in the drive all the time.
     
  9. Jersi

    Jersi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Posts:
    10
    Thanks for replies.

    We would prefer not to have to apply the SQL Registry Hack on the server, as this really does seem to be a problem with NOD32 and we don't want to affect other apps.

    The Media - Diskette option made no difference to this problem.

    We do a lot of remote work on this server (including rebooting) therefore leaving a blank floppy in the drive is not practical.

    Regards

    Jersi
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.