FirstDefense Rescue 64bit and MBR

Discussion in 'FirstDefense-ISR Forum' started by subset, Mar 12, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. subset

    subset Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Posts:
    825
    Location:
    Austria
    Hi,

    I didn't find anything about these two essentials at Horizon DataSys website nor their forum.
    - Does FD Rescue v3.1.215 support 64bit OS like FD-ISR?
    - Does FD Rescue v3.1.215 modify the MBR or does it use the Partition Boot Record for pre-boot code like FD-ISR?

    I'm currently writing a review about FD Rescue, but have no clue about these issues.

    Maybe someone is able to enlighten me.
    Thanks in advance.

    Cheers
     
  2. benton4

    benton4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Posts:
    158
    Location:
    Oregon
    So I'm going to ask a similar question to what Subset did:
    - Does FD Rescue v3.1.215 support 64bit Vista?
     
  3. Brambb

    Brambb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Posts:
    411
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    All I can say Leapfrog FD-ISR works fine for both Windows XP x64 and Vista x64 on my PC. My guess is that FD-Rescue doesn't work much differently then FD-ISR except of the limitation of having two snapshots max. So it should run just fine!
     
  4. benton4

    benton4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Posts:
    158
    Location:
    Oregon
    Thanks for the reply, Brambb.
     
  5. ahriman

    ahriman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Posts:
    124
    Ditto what Brambb said. The classic FDISR from Leapfrog works perfectly in 64-bit Vista and XP.
     
  6. benton4

    benton4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Posts:
    158
    Location:
    Oregon
    Subset,
    I have FD-Rescue on my Vista x64 and was able to boot to my rescue area and back, so it appears to work. :D I'm sure results may vary depending on what programs you have running and/or the way your system is set up, but I am thrilled because I like to trial software and that sometimes has conquences.:doubt:
     
  7. subset

    subset Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Posts:
    825
    Location:
    Austria
    Thanks for information.

    It also seems like FD-Rescue doesn't modify the MBR.
    I have restored an image with ShadowProtect and selected to restore the original Windows MBR, which did not disable the Pre-Boot menu of FD-Rescue.

    At first sight it looks like the FD-Rescue version is outdated because of the build number, but in fact it isn't.

    Cheers
     
  8. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,638
    I can confirm, exactly the same results.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.