First Time User Confusion

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by ldkamb, Dec 26, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ldkamb

    ldkamb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    8
    I got a 500 GB External HD as a gift. I did a complete backup of my C: drive. It took about 10 hours to finish but it ended successfully - I think. When I go to my new H: drive, it shows 8 files:

    acronis bakup of c drv to external HD8
    acronis bakup of c drv to external HD7
    acronis bakup of c drv to external HD6
    acronis bakup of c drv to external HD5
    acronis bakup of c drv to external HD4
    acronis bakup of c drv to external HD3
    acronis bakup of c drv to external HD2
    acronis bakup of c drv to external HD1

    All are 4,194,304 KB in size except the 8th one which is about half that.

    I did a complete backup of the C: drive before but to a 2nd, internal HD. It creates a single file of approximately 32.1 GB. Why does the external drive end up with 8 files and the internal drive a single file? Not brave enough to try a restore.
     
  2. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    HI ldkamb, welcome to Wilders.

    As your thread is in regards to Acronis True Image I have moved it here where it will receive better attention.

    Cheers :D
     
  3. foghorne

    foghorne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Posts:
    1,389
    Location:
    Leeds, Great Britain
    Probably because the external drive is formatted as FAT32, the maximum file size supported by FAT32 is 4GB. I assume your internal backup drive is NTFS - which has a maximum file size of 16TB.

    F.
     
  4. mfabien

    mfabien Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2006
    Posts:
    227
    Location:
    Montreal
    You could reformat your external drive in NTFS...

    Why HD1 to HD8? Is it not *1.tib to *8.tib?
     
  5. ldkamb

    ldkamb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    8
    All. Thanks for the info. I think I will try the reformat route. I don't know why HD1 to HD8. I did a screen shot and printed it out so I could type it in exactly as it appeared.
     
  6. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    Actually, one convert a drive from FAT16 or FAT32 *to* NTFS without reformatting? But one can't go back *from* NTFS to FAT without reformatting.


    To convert a volume to NTFS from the command prompt
    Open the Command Prompt window.
    In the command prompt window, type
    convert drive_letter: /fs:ntfs

    For example, typing convert D: /fs:ntfs would format drive D: with the ntfs format.

    good luck,
    sh
     
  7. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    Hello Idklamb,

    No doubt you named your backup "acronis bakup of c drv to external HD". When splitting an image TI will incrementally append a number to the end of each chunk. To see the .tib extentions you need to open Windows Explorer and click on Tools > Folder Options. On the View tab, uncheck the Hide extensions for known file types tickbox and, whilst you're at it, I recommend that you check the Show hidden files and folders radio button if not already done. See screenshot below.

    Regards
     

    Attached Files:

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.