first time SSD user need some advice and help

Discussion in 'hardware' started by taleblou, May 14, 2018.

  1. Keatah

    Keatah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Posts:
    943
    The one single best optimization you can do for your SSD is to ensure it always has some free space available. Always. A good average is around 30-40% more or less. Why? It gives the controller room to work with, room to reprovision, room to garbage collect, TRIM, and wear level. Room for it to create and prepare large blank blocks for maintaining write speed. It also less strain on the filesystem overall.

    To that end. the only manual optimization I do is my own personal garbage collection via a cleaning utility.
    Something that addresses and deletes:
    unused files
    temp files
    excessive log files
    scrap work files
    installer remnants
    old updates
    outdated cache files
    excess backups
    no-longer-used downloads
    ..things of that nature. So you'll want a safe and well-recognized cleaner program. Due to the style of my work, the programs I use, and the large datasets I use.. at the end of a month I can often "recover" 4 or 5 GB of free space.
     
  2. Bill_Bright

    Bill_Bright Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Posts:
    3,179
    Location:
    Nebraska, USA
    I agree 100% leaving a nice chunk free is important for the very reasons you mention. I disagree with using a percentage. 30-40% on a 500GB drive would be up to 200GB and a whopping 400GB on a 1TB drive! That's way more than needed. I say 30GB is plenty, regardless of size.
     
  3. taleblou

    taleblou Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Posts:
    1,246
    hi:
    thx. so which cleaner or cleaners you suggest? The ones I use currently or used before are ccleaner, glaryutilities, clean master for pc, winutilities, ashampoo optimiser. So which of these you suggest I should use on a ssd to keep it clean of garbage stuff? Also do you have a preferred one?
     
  4. taleblou

    taleblou Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Posts:
    1,246
    Another question. If I ever want to use linux on my pc via ssd, will linux have similar features like trim or is wise to use or not? I also currently use peppermint 8.
     
  5. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    6,101
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Actually, I mean Secure File Delete.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    3,923
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    @taleblou - most Linux distros support the TRIM feature required by SSDs to keep them at optimum health, but not in the way that Windows does. Every time Windows DELETEs and de-allocates any kind of storage on its System volume, it also issues TRIM commands to the SSD for every block of storage it is freeing up. I don't believe Linux does that for most distros. What they can do is set up a periodic (scheduled) TRIM operation to the SSD that accomplishes the same function but not in a real time way like Windows does.

    The result is the same... an optimal SSD, as long as the Linux TRIM cleanup is done periodically (my Linux MINT System cleans weekly on the System SSD).
     
    Last edited: May 15, 2018
  7. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    3,923
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    I agree with Bill 100%. Many SSD manufacturers already overprovision their drives beyond the stated size of the drive... usually 7-10%. This is done to allow internal garbage collection and storage management to occur without issue within normal usage boundaries. If the OS your using is not cleaning up properly (issuing TRIM directives when OS allocated storage becomes free) then additional space is usually very helpful in managing that drive. That's where I see the additional space actually carved out of the stated drive size to be of a benefit.
     
    Last edited: May 15, 2018
  8. reasonablePrivacy

    reasonablePrivacy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2017
    Posts:
    630
    Location:
    Member state of European Union
    Linux filesystems called ext4 and xfs support continuous TRIM. Almost all Gnu/Linux distributions use these filesystems by default.
     
  9. taleblou

    taleblou Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Posts:
    1,246
    so linux does this automatically and is on always? is it the same with peppermint 8?

    P.S. UPS states my ssd should drive tomorrow and not today as they updated the delivery date.

    Today i received an RGB 120mm fan but these damn fans are huge and it does not fit the backend of the pc where there is room for smaller fan. Since there is no rom or places in my pc shell for it, I have stuck with a useless fan. I have also ordered rgb light tapes and hopefully I can use those to give a illuminated look inside the pc.

    The pc has one chip fan, power fan and graphic card fans. I wanted more fan to keep it cool in the coming summer heat during gaming.I wished I bought one of those gaming pc with glass panels and having 6 rgb fan lights. I just hope the fans I mentioned would be enough to keep the pc cool.
     
  10. reasonablePrivacy

    reasonablePrivacy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2017
    Posts:
    630
    Location:
    Member state of European Union
    Probably there is setup to issue TRIM commands, periodically or not. Underlying kernel has abilities to do so.
    I said probably, because I never used this distribution. There is a lot of distributions and it is impossible to know every detail in all of them. It is probably better to search web forums of particular Gnu/Linux distro. If you don't find anything about that, just ask.
     
  11. taleblou

    taleblou Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Posts:
    1,246
    so which distribution you know has this? does mint has it on automatically?
     
  12. blacknight

    blacknight Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,880
    Location:
    Europe, UE citizen
    Microsoft knows, Microsoft knows..... we know all the bugs, the vulnerability, the lacks, the problems of Windows. For example, the well documented issue using Suspend Mode, especially with SSD. The tricks that I signed in the list that I posted are well documented too, they are useful to avoid excessive and unnecessary writes on the SSD.

    ps. Microsoft knows... yes. Microsoft knows how to impose telemetry, unwanted updates and only the sky knows what else.
     
  13. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    6,715
    @blacknight What is the issue with Suspend Mode, you are talking about?

    Personally, I don't care about excessive writes. My cheap Chinese SSD, is still working fine, after 42TB of writes and I don't think it will fail any time soon.
     
  14. blacknight

    blacknight Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,880
    Location:
    Europe, UE citizen

    I posted a thread here, sorry, but now I'm not the time to search it....
     
  15. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    6,715
    I just searched and found a post from you about it.
     
  16. reasonablePrivacy

    reasonablePrivacy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2017
    Posts:
    630
    Location:
    Member state of European Union
    I usually don't use these "easy" distributions, so probably my answer wouldn't satisfy most people there.
    I don't know. Quick Googling says that Mint since version 18 does use TRIM.
     
  17. blacknight

    blacknight Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,880
    Location:
    Europe, UE citizen

    Thank you, is it. When I posted this morning I had to go away.
     
  18. Bill_Bright

    Bill_Bright Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Posts:
    3,179
    Location:
    Nebraska, USA
    :oops: Right you are Krusty. My mistake! I've been using CCleaner for more years than I remember and have never used that feature so I forgot it was there. If I wanted to securely erase something, I just wiped the free space. My apologies to Krusty, and to all if I caused confusion. CCleaners' Secure Deletion and wipe features should not be used on SSDs.

    The ONLY 3rd party cleaner I recommend or suggest is CCleaner - and that is for one simple reason, it is NOT overly aggressive as many cleaners tend to be. If you need much more aggressive cleaning because you are critically low on free disk space, I recommend you uninstall all 3rd party cleaners (and any other program you installed but don't use) and stick with Windows own Disk Cleanup until the budget allows you to buy more disk space.
    Excellent point! Pretty sure all the major brands dedicate some space for overprovisioning. But it should be noted that is strictly for SSD maintenance functions to improve performance and life expectancy of the SSD itself - not for OS operation.

    This system has two SSDs, a 256GB Samsung 850 Pro as my boot drive, and a 500GB Samsung 860 EVO as my secondary drive. The 256GB has a stated capacity of 238GB as 18GB (9.3%) is dedicated by the drive maker for over-provisioning. The 500GB drive has a stated capacity of 465GB as 35GB (also 9.3%) is dedicated for over-provisioning.

    The Windows operating system needs its own free space to operate freely in too so it can temporarily save files as part of its normal operation, as well as other maintenance tasks. And IMO, 30GB is plenty for that for the boot drive is plenty for that. No way does Windows need 100s of GBs of free disk space to operate unrestricted in.

    Less free space is needed on secondary drives since the OS's temp files are stored on the boot drive (unless you manually changed the defaults). But if this secondary drive is a hard drive, a nice chunk for defragging will speed up the process and make it more efficient.
    :( This is just another opportunistic fear-mongering and biased MS bashing. Our ISPs know and collect WAY MORE than Microsoft will ever know about us and now those ISPs have the blessings of Congress to sell our data to anyone without our permission. :mad: And our cell phone carriers are even worse as they also know where you are standing (to within a few feet!) including which aisle of the store you are standing in! They know who you have talked to, emailed and texted, where you have been, where you are going and how fast you are traveling. Microsoft does NOT know or even care about your real name, real address or billing information. But ISPs and cell carriers sure do!

    In fact, it is likely your cell phone carriers sold your physical location information, without your permission or knowledge (or a warrant!) to a prison contractor! :eek: :mad:

    If you connect your Windows based computer to your home network via Ethernet, the closest Microsoft knows of your physical location is your PoP (point of presence) - where your ISP connects you to the Internet backbone. In my case, that is 10 miles away in the next town over!

    And you're complaining about Microsoft? Give us a break!

    And yes, Microsoft knows (as do real computer experts) that failing to keep our operating systems current is one of the most common causes for malware infestations. Microsoft also knows Microsoft bashers will relentlessly bash Microsoft should a computer become infected even when the user (always the weakest link in security) neglects their most basic security responsibility of keeping their systems current. So Microsoft would much rather be bashed for being heavy handed with Windows Updates than for computers getting infected due to user negligence. And I don't blame them.
     
  19. taleblou

    taleblou Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Posts:
    1,246
    got my ssd today and man I had headache. First of all the pc would would only detect hdd and not ssd. then when I disconnected hdd and manage toget ssd detected and then installed fresh windows. Then connected the hdd and this time only ssd was detected but during bootup went to black screen. disconnected the hdd and all was fine. called crucial tech and they were dumpfied and could not understand why it was happening. finally after a lot of headache I decided to get a 1tb ssd and ditch hdd altogether. my news ssd comes tomorrow evening and is a crucial nano 3d 1TB ssd to upgrade from 500gb to 1tb so I do not need and hdd.
    I am so ****** up of why i can not have a hdd and ssd together.

    Also in the bios it would only detect one and not both. either ssd or hdd depending on which was connected. Heck I even used a separated sata cable to test and the same thing. seems only the HDD sata and power-cable is the one the pc likes.

    Never had this much of a headache. Will update you guys tomorrow after I installed the new 1tb ssd and hopefully all will be fine.
     
  20. blacknight

    blacknight Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,880
    Location:
    Europe, UE citizen
    The fact that other devices take informations is not a reason for also Microsoft do it without my authorization. What is the logic ?! One steals, so another too can steal ?!!
     
  21. Bill_Bright

    Bill_Bright Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Posts:
    3,179
    Location:
    Nebraska, USA
    There is no valid reason. You might look to see if there is a BIOS update for your motherboard on its website.

    What is the logic for you posting another totally off-topic, opportunistic, fear-mongering, biased MS bashing post in a hardware thread about SSDs? None!
     
  22. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,622
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
  23. taleblou

    taleblou Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Posts:
    1,246
    hi:
    Its the latest bios. Can not figure it out.
     
  24. taleblou

    taleblou Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Posts:
    1,246
    well this morning I got the 1tb crucial ssd and change the 500gb to 1tb and installed windows an all is well. I guess I will use the ssd only since I can not make head or tail about ssd and hdd together not compatible. was thinking to use the 500gb as a second ssd but with the hdd and ssd together issue, thought that iff I connect 2 ssd the pc might give the same issue I have with hdd and ssd together.
     
  25. taleblou

    taleblou Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Posts:
    1,246
    Just tried to see if trim is on and used the command " fsutil behavior query DisableDeleteNotify" in admin terminal and I got "0" for both ReFS & NTFS BUT in a bracket in front of each has " (Disabled)"? My understanding is that ZERO means trim is active but what is that DISABLED inside () stand for??

    Anyone knows anything?
     
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.