First Defense ISR

Discussion in 'FirstDefense-ISR Forum' started by starfish_001, Nov 23, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. starfish_001

    starfish_001 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Posts:
    1,041
    In this thread I asked about competing prducts in this space

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=105341

    Having looked at all of them I decided on First Defence - although I do like the idea of the RestorePC hardware based solution.

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=106287


    I would like to know how people use it I think I'm going to have 3 rotating images with a couple of test images that have completely different configurations of the system - testing. It does seem to eat disk space pity there is no compression

    I continue with True Image for archive backups. I guess it looks like I neeed Perfect Disk
     
  2. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,054
    Re: First DEfence ISR

    Hi Starfish

    What I do is

    1. I have just one additional snapshot on my harddisk. If nothing weird has happened, and the KAV2006 beta shows a clean scan, I will update the 2nd snapshot, about once every two days. Also anytime, I am going to install anything new, I refresh the snapshot just prior. This has served me well

    2. I also update an archive snapshot once a day. This is on an external drive.



    It really depends on your use. If for example I was a gamer, I would probably make a striped down snapshot, and just use it for gaming. Possibilities are endless.


    First time you do something that accidently trashes your system, and you get fixed in 5 mnutes you will love this program.

    Pete
     
  3. WWS

    WWS Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Posts:
    249
    Re: First DEfence ISR

    OK, I'll start.
    I use Perfect Disk configured to exclude the $ISR files.
    I use FDISR with 3 snaps, (that is a primary, secondary, and one more) altering updates about every other day. One snap reserved for when my granddaughter visits. FDISR makes it easy to undo whatever she does when she gets on those kid websites.
    I archive 1 snap to my second hard drive and update or replace it about once a week.
    I also use Acronis True image about twice a month. When I do make an image, I drop FDISR down to just the primary and secondary. I'm still using TI8. TI9 needs a lot of work before I ever go to it.
    FDISR is top notch for me. I feel free to try just about anything knowing I'm just a reboot away to undo any problems.
    Oops! Peter beat me to it.
     
  4. TonyW

    TonyW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,635
    Location:
    UK
    Re: First DEfence ISR

    I've found if you run a registry cleaner, such as RegSeeker, it seems to mess with FD. The program was disaabled after running such a program, so I had to rollback to an earlier snapshot. I've also found the KAV v5 reports are missing in the rollbacked version.
     
  5. maddawgz

    maddawgz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Posts:
    1,277
    Location:
    Earth
    Re: First DEfence ISR

    I use ISR love it only have 2 snapshots primary and 1 more...I only updated it when i install big things..new? but then i roll back incase of a virus so then i reupdate againo_O saved me ooooooooooodles of time and better then xp restore never worked 1/2 the time MD
     
  6. Acadia

    Acadia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Posts:
    4,048
    Location:
    SouthCentral PA
    Re: First DEfence ISR

    Starfish, the thing with FD is that it is SO flexible, that you are able to do so many different things with it. With programs like GoBack, which I can still recommend, especially to newbies, you basically can only do one thing: goback. With FD you can goback, go back to the future if you change your mind, sideways, almost anything that you want. Plus, you can set up different snapshots to use for different programs, even different OS, just like having a partitioning program. So enjoy; thinking up new ways to use this incredible program is half the fun (assuming that you've got the disk space to spare). Good luck.

    Acadia
     
  7. starfish_001

    starfish_001 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Posts:
    1,041
    Re: First DEfence ISR

    Guys Thanks

    I've been a Ghost and True Image user for a long time - And a Goback user for a couple of years but ... Norton stuff either works or stops working and there are few options. It let me done a couple of weeks ago .. and I'm still waiting for tech support to get back

    FD answered my questions almost straight away - that's what I want from Product support.


    When I looked into FD - it is so much more useful. Its a pity that there is not better documentation - REstoreIT has a huge manual that you can get a feel of it without installing


    FD needs to be tried to be believed. A lot of options to play with and no system drag.
     
  8. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,054
    Re: First DEfence ISR

    Hi Tony

    I don't know much about Regseeker, but I use Regsupreme Pro, and have never had an issue with FD. I assume if you are using KAV 5.0 that you've turned off Istreams. Not had any problems with kav reports either.

    Pete
     
  9. TonyW

    TonyW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,635
    Location:
    UK
    Re: First DEfence ISR

    Found a solution to this one - added references to FD in exclusions.
     
  10. TonyW

    TonyW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,635
    Location:
    UK
    Re: First DEfence ISR

    I am using KAV 5, and have turned off iStreams. The issue with reports wasn't that they were gone from the hard drive; it was they weren't viewable from the KAV interface. I had booted into my Rollback snapshot to update the Primary, and when I booted into the Primary, the reports weren't viewable from the KAV UI. The whole block was empty! It might be a one-off, but it was most strange. I deleted all the reports manually, started again, and the green notifications were back.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.