Firewall too aggressive

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by xxJackxx, Oct 6, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    4,600
    Location:
    USA
    I boot my computer this morning and there is no internet connection. No DHCP address has been assigned from the router. ipconfig /renew does not work... until I disable the firewall. Then it works fine. :ouch:
     
  2. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,410
    Please carry out the standard procedure for cases when a connection is blocked for unknown reasons:
    1, enable logging of blocked connections in the IDS setup
    2, reproduce the issue
    3, paste the relevant records from the firewall log here
     
  3. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    4,600
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks for the reply. I will try that.

    -Question. I have the firewall set to learning mode to save some clicking. Should I just go to interactive mode now? Should I start over with interactive mode?
     
    Last edited: Oct 6, 2011
  4. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,410
    It doesn't matter what mode the firewall's in. Enabling the logging will record the cause (rule) responsible for blocking the connection.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.