Firewall too aggressive

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by xxJackxx, Oct 6, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    4,052
    Location:
    USA
    I boot my computer this morning and there is no internet connection. No DHCP address has been assigned from the router. ipconfig /renew does not work... until I disable the firewall. Then it works fine. :ouch:
     
  2. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Please carry out the standard procedure for cases when a connection is blocked for unknown reasons:
    1, enable logging of blocked connections in the IDS setup
    2, reproduce the issue
    3, paste the relevant records from the firewall log here
     
  3. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    4,052
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks for the reply. I will try that.

    -Question. I have the firewall set to learning mode to save some clicking. Should I just go to interactive mode now? Should I start over with interactive mode?
     
    Last edited: Oct 6, 2011
  4. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    It doesn't matter what mode the firewall's in. Enabling the logging will record the cause (rule) responsible for blocking the connection.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.