Firewall Testing Software?

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by garretwp, May 23, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. garretwp

    garretwp Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2007
    Posts:
    3
    Can anyone recommend any good software that will test the firewalls on the computers? I want to be able to test the firewall software on my computers to make sure things are good and tight! Software I am looking for are port scanner type software as well as leaktest software etc. Your suggestions are appreciated!

    - Garrett
     
  2. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    For firewall leaktests, check this site.

    If you just want to test your firewall's stealthing abilities, you can go to grc.com and try shields up or pcflank.com and try their stealth or advanced port scanner tests.
     
  3. garretwp

    garretwp Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2007
    Posts:
    3
    The problem with the online scanners is that it will scan my router/firewall and not the actual computer. I want to test the computer to make sure that only the needed ports are open and all others are stealthed.

    - Garrett
     
  4. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    I have not tried any software port scanner, but searching for "port scanner" at FileForum turned up a few results; several are freeware so its worth a try.
     
  5. glentrino2duo

    glentrino2duo Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2006
    Posts:
    310
    With online scanners, you need to put your computer in your router's DMZ, so it would scan your actual computer and not your router.
    you can also use nmap so you could scan ports on a local network.
     
  6. garretwp

    garretwp Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2007
    Posts:
    3
    I was thinking of the DMZ option, but I was not sure if the online software would work. I'll give that option a try.

    Thanks,
    Garrett
     
  7. Escalader

    Escalader Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Posts:
    3,710
    Location:
    Land of the Mooses
    Hi Garrett:

    2 things,

    (1) check with you router vendor on exactly how to set up your DMZ. I have a Linksys 4 port and it is possible to do it. Check you have changed the user id and the psw they set first though.

    (2) If you are using ZA for example it will declare pcflank.com as a malware site so you would have to allow that site.

    It would help you get more detailed help if you indicated you setup in your signature profile. Mine is just one way of doing that.
     
  8. flinchlock

    flinchlock Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2005
    Posts:
    554
    Location:
    Michigan
    http://insecure.org/nmap/
    Just use one of your local PCs to scan other local PCs.

    Mike
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.