firewall for windows 10

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by shmu26, Jul 9, 2015.

  1. shmu26

    shmu26 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015
    Posts:
    240
    can anyone recommend one?
    preferably something simple, just a little added protection for the outgoing connections, which I understand windows firewall does not provide.
    I tried sphynx, but windows firewall does not seem to recognize it, leading to possible conflicts, as I am likely to find myself with both turned on simultaneously, which I understand is a no-no.
     
  2. Rolo42

    Rolo42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2012
    Posts:
    569
    Location:
    USA
    Windows Firewall does provide two-way protection. By default, it doesn't nag you on every outbound connection, only the suspicious ones (apps not signed by trusted vendors, listening servers).

    You can configure it to implicitly block all outbound connections; use Control Panel.

    I'm using GlassWire free on Win10; it notifies me on new outbound connections (not prompt but the paid version can prompt), when Internet connectivity is disrupted, when exes change (a little HIDS comes with it).
     
  3. TairikuOkami

    TairikuOkami Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,509
    Location:
    Slovakia
    Sphinx Firewall Control is just GUI for Windows Firewall, it is not a standalone firewall. It is designed to make WF easier to use.
     
  4. shmu26

    shmu26 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015
    Posts:
    240
    thanks for the clarifications
    would you recommend glasswire over windows firewall?

    In a suite like avast premier, for instance, what are you getting in the firewall department that is better than windows firewall?
     
  5. Rolo42

    Rolo42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2012
    Posts:
    569
    Location:
    USA
    To clarify: GlassWire isn't a firewall; it's a nice GUI that uses WF with some HIDS features.


    Sphinx! That was the other one I tried; it seemed to work fine on Win10; I just didn't like it.

    Binisoft is another one but I couldn't test the outgoing prompt dealie as there is no trial of it.
     
  6. shmu26

    shmu26 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015
    Posts:
    240
    thanks again. things are a lot clearer now.
     
  7. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    1,732
    thats not correct - W10FC is totally off windows firewall and has its own service and rules!
    ofc the service is notified from BFE.

    maybe you talk about windows firewall control from binisoft
    http://www.binisoft.org/wfc.php
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/threads/windows-firewall-control-4.347370/

    latest W10FC is windows 10 usable
    http://www.sphinx-soft.com/Vista/
    go to the forum for latest pre-release with fixes.
     
  8. boredog

    boredog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Posts:
    1,176
  9. rm22

    rm22 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2014
    Posts:
    328
    Location:
    Canada
  10. blacknight

    blacknight Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,433
    Location:
    Europe
    Someone can say if CIS fully works under 10 ?
     
  11. Rolo42

    Rolo42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2012
    Posts:
    569
    Location:
    USA
    I had problems with it, presumably with it not being compatible with Win10. It wouldn't detect networks (and thereby wouldn't firewall them) on both machines I tested it. Adding them manually seemed to have worked but that's not feasible on a laptop.

    I had other issues as well but I don't remember what they are (see Comodo bug report forum; there are plenty and not limited to Win10, so I really cannot have confidence in the product).
     
  12. blacknight

    blacknight Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,433
    Location:
    Europe
    Thank you !
     
  13. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,123
    Location:
    USA
    Comodo is releasing a fix for Windows 10

    https://forums.comodo.com/news-anno...security-8204591-is-released-t111391.105.html
     
  14. ald4r1s

    ald4r1s Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2013
    Posts:
    51
    It is because like 99% of security software is not fully working with Windows 10. The official release is coming, so we might get working software soon.
     
  15. Rolo42

    Rolo42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2012
    Posts:
    569
    Location:
    USA
    I was just answering the question with my experience.

    Companies not being ready for Win10--millions of users have been using this OS for almost a year--is an indicator for me on just how proactive they are. I don't care what the brochure says.
     
  16. syrinx

    syrinx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2014
    Posts:
    334
    Right there with ya, I've been testing quite a few diff programs lately since many of the ones I depended on *still* don't support W10 yet despite the easily available testing builds. I mean, as a 'standard user' it seems I've tested more Win10 builds than they have and that's sad. They should have been at the front making their software compatible and letting those who were testing it beta test those new builds as well IMHO. Instead we have to wait for days (weeks?/months?) after win10's release for these programs to be 'made compatible.' after the fact...really? when there were just dev builds available for windows it made some sort of sense but with the latest public test of many builds? not so much, can't blame MS anymore...it's the dev's fault now. I call them lazy and I am seriously re-thinking some of my choices. Instead of making use of all those people willing to test it all, they put it off until win10 is already final (ok so given some of the changes I can understand...almost)........so now they have less work to do. I can sort-of understand that, but really? You're gonna leave the the masses foolish enough to upgrade to win10 on day 1(-till your product is updated) to the fishes?
     
    Last edited: Jul 28, 2015
  17. Banzi

    Banzi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2013
    Posts:
    368
    Location:
    Scotland
    Has anyone tried Private Firewall on windows 10?

    Found out after upgrading to win 10 that the firewall doesn't work & wont even install, ended up rolling back to win 8.1 & then restoring drive image made before the upgrade.
     
    Last edited: Aug 1, 2015
  18. SnowWalker

    SnowWalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2012
    Posts:
    160
    Location:
    USA
    I was using Windows Firewall Notifier, which is another controller for the built in Windows Firewall, on Win 7, and it still seems to be working as expected after the upgrade to 10. It had been pretty quiet as it had learned what connections I allowed or blocked a long time ago on 7, but has been fairly active with connections it doesn't recognize on 10, but that's a sign that it's working.

    http://wfn.codeplex.com/

    I'm using the older version, haven't tried the beta version 2 yet.
     
  19. CoolWebSearch

    CoolWebSearch Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Posts:
    1,211
    But how much exactly is Windows 10 firewall good in the first place?
    When it comes to pure security/protection; is Windows 10 firewall better or equal to Comodo, Jetico, Online Armor, Private Firewall, Outpost Firewall, Zone Alarm, Eset, Kaspersky, Norton and all other software firewalls?

    Do I need to drop/get rid of Windows 10 firewall and use some of software firewalls or noto_O?
    Do I need any other software firewall to install to fill the gaps of Windows 10 which does not protect or not?
     
  20. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    When it comes to pure firewall, Windows is enough. It scored 100% in a test I don't remember where to find on Wilders.
    When it comes to security, some may find extras like HIPS a benefit.

    Not if you're just looking for inbound/outbound firewall protection.
    I believe the only major network-specific gaps are some ports Microsoft don't want you to block.
     
  21. Rolo42

    Rolo42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2012
    Posts:
    569
    Location:
    USA
    There are no 'gaps', so no. Either your firewall is working fully or it isn't working at all.

    Third-party firewalls are gimmicks and aren't going to block/allow traffic any better than WAF. Third-party firewall utilities are just a GUI/front-end for WAF.

    If you want to lock down your OS, you set WAF to block outgoing by default and you manually create outgoing rules. Surely you have better things to do with your time. WAF already blocks incoming traffic by default and that is what a firewall is for.

    If you don't trust software to talk on your network, then you shouldn't trust it on your computer at all, so firewall is moot.

    If you get malware, your security has failed and your firewall isn't going to protect you at that point--either the malware fooled you into installing it or it exploited another trusted software already installed (like your e-mail client or browser) and, again, your firewall is moot.
     
  22. CoolWebSearch

    CoolWebSearch Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Posts:
    1,211
    I have to be honest, I'm much more worried about Windows 10 firewall inbound protection than outbound protection, however I read somewhere that Windows 10 also has advanced rules where you can manually configure to block all incoming/inbound and configure to block outgoing, right?

    But let's suppose I want to visit some risky websites, will Windows 10 inbound protection be enough to protect from those websites (I mean on inbound protection, and of course I have to manually configure outgoing connections as well) with windows 10 firewall.
    Of course there are other things that are needed firewall protect as firewall can protect.
    I guess when it comes to pure firewall thing can we say Windows 10 firewall is on the same level with Kaspersky and other top-level/top-quality firewalls?

    I know this is not the subject of this thread, but I don't know should I leave Windows defender or should I install Avira instead of it, I'll ask on antivirus forums...
     
  23. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    1,732
    On Win10 you can NOT deactivate Defender (some told me). prohibited by design.
     
  24. CoolWebSearch

    CoolWebSearch Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Posts:
    1,211
    Well, Anon answered me that Avira disables Windows Defender when Avira is installed.
     
  25. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,768
    Location:
    Texas
    Defender won't run if you install another anti malware program. If you aren't running any other anti malware program, it will most definitely run.
     
Loading...