Firewall "Corrupted" =S

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by ktadie, Jun 3, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ktadie

    ktadie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Posts:
    8
    Hey ther guys, Yesterday I decided to swtich from my Bitdefender Total Security 08 to ESET Smart Security.

    When installing ESET, it said that 2 programs would intervene with ESET, and it was reconmended that i removed them. These two programs were Symnatic update and Bitdefender firwall. So after searching the net, i found their own removal tools and got them off my computer.

    I then restarted and installed ESET. When I did this, I disabled Windows Defender and Firewall.

    Everything was fine, however, It said that there was a problem with the firewall, that it was "disabled because there was a corruption with the installation"

    It highly reconmended me to reinstall, and I did that.. After i restarted the computer, i got the same problem.
    So i started to research, and I found this page from the knowledgebase:
    http://training.eset.com/kb/index.php?option=com_kb&Itemid=29&page=articles&articleid=583
    I did everything it told me, I used the windows removal tool to remove ESET,
    (however, it was still open and running once the removal tool had removed it.. and its folders in the start menu was still there)
    Uninstalled the Eset personal firewall and restarted computer.
    When i tried to reinstalled with the new and freshly downloaded ESET Smart Security from your website, i restarted but the firewall was in the same state.

    I tried un-installing it completely, and then installing it again.. still the same problem.
    Any suggestions on what I can do? I don't see the point of having ESET Smart Security if the Firewall (which is the most important in my case) dosnt work.

    Here's a screenshot:
    http://img91.imageshack.us/img91/3074/esetnodproblemszz3.jpg

    Thanks alot in advanced!
     
  2. shansmi

    shansmi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Posts:
    130
    oh it works great.... once this problem is fixed put the fw in interactive mode and let it learn how you use your computer.....

    try removing ESS like this....

    Uninstall ESS using the add/remove programs control panel
    after uninstall delete these folders before the reboot
    C OR D:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\ESET
    C OR D:\Documents and Settings\USERNAME\Application Data\ESET
    C OR D:\Program Files\ESET
    AND some registry keys
    HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Eset
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Eset
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run\egui
    THIS WILL REMOVE EAV AND ESS COMPLETLY



    Open Control Panel -> 'Network Connections', right-click ‘Local Area Connection’ and click ‘Properties’. Under ‘This connection uses the following items’ make sure you don’t see ‘Eset Personal firewall’ listed. If so, select it and click the ‘Uninstall’ button.

    Now run any registry cleaners like Crap Cleaner or Registry Mechanic and hte reboot. After the reboot, reinstall ESS.
     
  3. ktadie

    ktadie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Posts:
    8
    thanks alot for the post Shansmi.

    I am running a windows vista ultimate, and for some reason, there is no "documents and settings" in my C or D drive..

    I tried putting in "C:\Documents and Settings\" in Run, but it said that the access was denied.. how can i get access? ;p I tried to see if I could open "My computer" as administrator, but there is no option of that...

    So I'm not sure what I can do there. Plus, I cannot find those registry keys. I tried putting that into search and it couldnt find anything...

    Is there any alternative? Is there a tool that compeltly removes ESET Smart Security, like the ones I used for Bitdefender and Nortan AV ?

    Right now I uninstalled ESET via control pannel's "add/remove programs" and then ran a registry cleaner (Tune-up Utilities 2007) and reinstalled ESET, but no difference..

    thanks again for the help!
     
  4. philby

    philby Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Posts:
    940
    Ktadie

    For App Data Files

    My Eset application data files in vista are at:

    c:\users\username\app data \ roaming \eset

    For Registry Keys

    In start menu search, type regedit, then delete as per shansmi's post.

    If you're not too hot on this part, back up your registry first (file>export once in registry).

    Hope this helps

    Philby
     
  5. ktadie

    ktadie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Posts:
    8
    Thanks Philby, I found the files from where you directed me..

    However, I still have the same problem.. I really don't know why it is like this now :S
     
  6. ktadie

    ktadie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Posts:
    8
    I'm sorry for double posting, but i am REALLY paranoid about getting some bad and nasty virus on my laptop, because it is very new and it cost me alot.

    Dosnt anyone else have any suggestions? or can the ESET people or Support Unit please try and work on it? I cannot send them an email, because there I have to fill in all this information about the product which I'm using, however, its just the trial version of Smart Security.

    It looks like I should try some other AV / Internet security program instead of ESET, if this can't be fixed. I want Smart Security because it has everything (AV, firewall, spam filter, spy bots etc.) however it looks like its failing :S

    and again, I'm sorry for sounding so critical and negatibe/hostile, but its just getting frustuated.

    thx once again.
     
  7. ktadie

    ktadie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Posts:
    8
    Sorry, its me once again.. I've been trying hard to get it to work, looking through places on my computer to see if anything was wrong. In device manager, i saw that there was a "BitDefender Firewall NDIS Filter Miniport" My previous AV was BitDefender, but I used their removal program and the windows cleaner, to remove it completely.. so I'm kinda confused to see that bitdefender still has some shizzle on my computer.

    Now, should i right click and uninstall/delete it? This might be causing the problem with ESET's firewall?

    I'm not too sure if its safe to delete it, so thats why im asking here.

    here is a pic:

    http://img75.imageshack.us/img75/4421/esetwtfvv9.jpg

    esetess.jpg
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 7, 2008
  8. philby

    philby Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Posts:
    940
    Tried just disabling it?

    If that doesn't do the trick, I'd uninstall it anyway, though I don't see why this should hinder ESS.

    Philby
     
  9. ktadie

    ktadie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Posts:
    8
    ah, well, i uninstalled it, and did everytihng again but still no difference =(

    any other suggestions?
     
  10. xp_1839

    xp_1839 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2005
    Posts:
    67
    I followed all below on one of my clients PC and still fail to get Eset Firewall to work in Windows XP. Any other solution?

     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.