Firewall corrupted... please reinstall (but doesn't work)

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by KOKOtm, Mar 23, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Infiniti

    Infiniti Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Posts:
    18
    And this wasn't fixed in the 4.2.40 release...
    /extremely disappointed.
     
  2. tactful

    tactful Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009
    Posts:
    47
    Location:
    South Florida,USA
    This is Odd.installed upgraded to 4.2 Saturday And everything on the GUI is working(active) with no problems since or even now.methinks you need to contact ESET direct either through help or by phone or PM a moderator even
     
  3. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,441
    If the red warning about non-functional firewall does not disappear after disabling self-defense followed by a computer restart, the only workaround for now will most likely be to switch firewall integration to "Only scan application protocols".
     
  4. Infiniti

    Infiniti Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Posts:
    18
    If you didn't have the problem before, then you won't have it now :p
     
  5. PiTRiS

    PiTRiS Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Posts:
    6
    so... any inside info about when we can expect this to be fixed? or about some efficient workaround (and by efficient i dont mean "scan application protocol only" :)
     
  6. szpunk

    szpunk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2004
    Posts:
    2
  7. Piklets

    Piklets Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    Posts:
    5
  8. Infiniti

    Infiniti Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Posts:
    18
    Ditto.
     
  9. klownz

    klownz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Posts:
    2
    same..
     
  10. mickhardy

    mickhardy Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2005
    Posts:
    140
    Location:
    Australia
    I've experienced the identical problem described in the very first post on a client's Notebook with ESS 64 bit on Vista. Four hours later I'm still trying to get this sorted.

    I am so close to giving up and switching them to Security Essentials but I'll try the Nic drivers first.

    Before V3, ESET used to be my last point of call when a computer was screwed but it's now the very first item on the list. I barely look at a computer before doing a clean and reinstall of ESET. This technique of fixing computers is trying my patience.
     
  11. mickhardy

    mickhardy Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2005
    Posts:
    140
    Location:
    Australia
    This resulted in a green icon but turning the firewall off isn't really a solution. I've reverted the machine to Microsoft Security Essentials and the Windows Firewall.

    Default ESS configuration ends up with this.

    Maximum Protection.jpg

    Updating every driver on the machine didn't rectify the issue. Latest Microsoft Updates for Vista Home premium 64 bit SP2, latest drivers from the vendors, not from Sony. Latest version of ESS 4.2.40.0, all updates, default ESS configuration. Reinstalled it many times with manual clean and using the ESET uninstaller.

    These are the relevant specifications of the machine in question.
    Sony Vaio VGN-CS36GJ
    Marvell Yukon 88E8040
    Intel PM45 Chipset
    Intel Wifi Link 5100 AGN

    I created a SysInspector log before removing ESS if you want a copy.
     
  12. PiTRiS

    PiTRiS Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Posts:
    6
    ok, i've just freshly reinstalled windows (few more things werent working and this was the faster solution) - the NDIS driver is the same as on the version where i couldnt install ESS, but now its working just fine.
    So i guess its something else whats messed up. Dont know if its esets fault or someone elses, but someone should look into it...

    "new" NDIS
    Code:
    "Broadcom NetXtreme Gigabit Ethernet - NDIS 6.0" = "c:\windows\system32\drivers\b57nd60a.sys" Manual ; ( 1: Fine ) ; 
    "SHA1" = "6165271F5F1EC6D643A3B4F5E301D18CB2242B92" ( 1: Fine ) ; 
    "Last Write Time" = "2009/06/10  22:34" ( 1: Fine ) ; 
    "Creation Time" = "2009/06/10  22:34" ( 1: Fine ) ; 
    "File Size" = "270848" ( 1: Fine ) ; 
    "File Description" = "Broadcom NetXtreme Gigabit Ethernet NDIS6.x Unified Driver." ( 1: Fine ) ; 
    "Company Name" = "Broadcom Corporation" ( 1: Fine ) ; 
    "File Version" = "10.100.4.0 (cbuild.04262009-413,b57nd6x-rel_11.4-lhdepot1106.CL-70171)" ( 1: Fine ) ; 
    "Product Name" = "Broadcom NetXtreme Gigabit Ethernet Driver" ( 1: Fine ) ; 
    "Internal Name" = "b57nd60a.sys (b57nd6x-rel_11.4-lhdepot1106.CL-70171)" ( 1: Fine ) ; 
    "Signer" = "Microsoft Corporation" ( 1: Fine ) ; 
    "Linked to" = "Drivers -> c:\windows\system32\drivers\b57nd60a.sys" 
    
     
  13. Infiniti

    Infiniti Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Posts:
    18
    From what I gathered from the replies, it seems the symptoms proceeds:
    -Occurs when installing v4.2.
    -You *may* see Unknown Devices appearing in the Device Manager
    -once occurring, going back to 4.0 will not fix the problem.
    Solutions so far:
    -Clean install of windows, and then installing 4.0
    -Set firewall to "Scan applications only" and live without firewall. (Or turn on Windows firewall"
     
  14. BJStone

    BJStone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    139
    Those 'solutions' stink imo.
     
  15. Infiniti

    Infiniti Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Posts:
    18
    haha, I know right?
    I hope ESET picks up the message.
     
  16. PiTRiS

    PiTRiS Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Posts:
    6
    yep... as soon as "unknown device" starts to appear, something is screwed and as soon as you uninstall/reinstall ess, you are both screwed and without fw :) only help when you reach this point is system restore to "before uninstall" which fixes this
     
  17. Infiniti

    Infiniti Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Posts:
    18
    /sigh
    I'm waiting for the next build. Gonna use the ESET Uninstaller before I install the next update.
    But it's really trying my patience...(been a month now) I'm really tempted to switch to something else.
    Edit: Its actually been TWO months.... wow... >.>
     
  18. PiTRiS

    PiTRiS Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Posts:
    6
    as i said earlier, i dont think its 4.2 problem. guess its something going on from 4.0 or maybe even 3.0 as i experienced exact same problem with some build of 4.0 and reinstalation with 3.0 didnt work. I would say, maybe upgrade to 4.2 just forced more people to reinstall, which showed the actual problem.
     
  19. Infiniti

    Infiniti Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Posts:
    18
    Its a problem nevertheless, and if we can't fix it, then it's ESET's job.
     
  20. PiTRiS

    PiTRiS Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Posts:
    6
    no question about that... i just wanted to point out (point out more) that its not just a 4.2 problem.

    i tried dealing with this issue few months before this thread and from what i found, i guess its some driver/permissions problem -> eset in order to "protect (itself)" screws some permissions, that it cant recover from later on :/ also, i guess it screwed it for some other applications as well (like my broadcom bluetooth for which i couldnt install drivers) because of what i was forced to make a reinstall as i said earlier :/
     
  21. mickhardy

    mickhardy Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2005
    Posts:
    140
    Location:
    Australia
    I still have this log if ESET are interested in fixing the problem. I haven't seen the Notebook since I removed ESET and installed Microsoft Security Essentials so I presume it's running OK now. I'm not looking back.
     
  22. Proximm

    Proximm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2009
    Posts:
    10
    Hi guys, I made a script myself. If I noticed any ESET's firewall problem I just running it(with administrative privileges) instead of ESETUninstaller.exe. I hope it will somebody help :)

    (I translated it to english). Just save it to any *.cmd file and run on workstation with firewall problem with administrative privileges. After running it all informations are saved in netsh.txt file so you can read what has been made.

    @echo off
    echo Writes information about the network to a file..
    echo Using: netsh interface ip show config >netsh.txt
    netsh interface ip show config >>netsh.txt
    echo Using: netsh interface ip show route >>netsh.txt
    netsh interface ip show route >>netsh.txt
    echo Using: netsh interface ip show tcpconnections >>netsh.txt
    netsh interface ip show tcpconnections >>netsh.txt
    echo Using: netsh interface ip show tcpstats >>netsh.txt
    netsh interface ip show tcpstats >>netsh.txt
    echo Using: netsh interface ip show global >>netsh.txt
    netsh interface ip show global >>netsh.txt
    echo Using: netsh winsock show catalog >>netsh.txt
    netsh winsock show catalog >>netsh.txt

    echo Cleaning ARP buffer..
    echo Using: netsh interface ip delete arpcache >>netsh.txt
    netsh interface ip delete arpcache >>netsh.txt

    echo Winsock resetting to default..
    echo Using: netsh winsock reset catalog >>netsh.txt
    netsh winsock reset catalog >>netsh.txt

    echo TCP/IP stack resetting to default:
    echo Using: netsh int ip reset reset.log >>netsh.txt
    netsh int ip reset reset.log >>netsh.txt

    echo Done! Information saved to a file netsh.txt.
    echo Perform computer reset!
    pause
     
  23. Infiniti

    Infiniti Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Posts:
    18
    Thanks for your help, but it seems it didn't help =(
     
  24. Island_Style

    Island_Style Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Posts:
    1
    I too hope there is a way to locate what is causing this problem. I have uninstalled ESS completely several times using different methods and upon reinstalling, the Web Access Protection is greyed out and the Firewall does not initialize. I have the latest updates installed on my Win 7 64bit system.

    Here is my NDIS 6 info:

    ESET SystemStatus log, versions: ev 1214 (20100127), gv ESSBE 4.2.40.0, lv 1.0
    Session start: 5 Jun 2010, 11:38:33
    Session end: 5 Jun 2010, 11:40:17
    Flags: 64bit, AntiStealth
    Description: SysInspector-NDIS 6

    "Broadcom NetXtreme Gigabit Ethernet - NDIS 6.0" = "c:\windows\system32\drivers\b57nd60a.sys" Manual ; ( 1: Fine ) ;
    "File Description" = "Link-Layer Topology Responder Driver for NDIS 6" ( 1: Fine ) ;
    "File Description" = "WFP NDIS 6.20 Lightweight Filter Driver" ( 1: Fine ) ;
    "File Description" = "NDIS 6.20 driver" ( 1: Fine ) ;
    "File Description" = "Intel(R) Gigabit Network Connection NDIS 6 deserialized driver" ( 2: Fine ) ;


    "Broadcom NetXtreme Gigabit Ethernet - NDIS 6.0" = "c:\windows\system32\drivers\b57nd60a.sys" Manual ; ( 1: Fine ) ;
    "SHA1" = "6165271F5F1EC6D643A3B4F5E301D18CB2242B92" ( 1: Fine ) ;
    "Last Write Time" = "2009/06/10 10:34" ( 1: Fine ) ;
    "Creation Time" = "2009/06/10 10:34" ( 1: Fine ) ;
    "File Size" = "270848" ( 1: Fine ) ;
    "File Description" = "Broadcom NetXtreme Gigabit Ethernet NDIS6.x Unified Driver." ( 1: Fine ) ;
    "Company Name" = "Broadcom Corporation" ( 1: Fine ) ;
    "File Version" = "10.100.4.0 (cbuild.04262009-413,b57nd6x-rel_11.4-lhdepot1106.CL-70171)" ( 1: Fine ) ;
    "Product Name" = "Broadcom NetXtreme Gigabit Ethernet Driver" ( 1: Fine ) ;
    "Internal Name" = "b57nd60a.sys (b57nd6x-rel_11.4-lhdepot1106.CL-70171)" ( 1: Fine ) ;
    "Signer" = "Microsoft Corporation" ( 1: Fine ) ;
    "Linked to" = "Drivers -> c:\windows\system32\drivers\b57nd60a.sys"​


    Thanks
     
  25. wolssiloa

    wolssiloa Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Posts:
    4
    I'm having a same problem with corrupted firewall asking me to reinstall. I was using up to last week ESS 4.0.474 on a clean system which was running fine. Decided to upgrade to 4.2.40. Started by:

    Uninstalling ESS 4.0
    Installing ESS 4.2.40
    Corrupt firewall.
    Eset uninstaller
    Reinstalling ESS 4.2.40
    Same problem!
    Can't count the number of times I ran Eset uninstaller in safe mode in addition to deleting the ESET program folders.

    After numerous times trying to fix this, I saw this forum thread to set "system integration" to only scan app protocols which worked temporarily as the system tray icon turned green. But after several reboots (with no changes in system settings), now for some reason, ESS gives me the message:

    "Analysis of application protocols will not function
    an error occurred while starting services. Analysis of application protocols (POP3, HTTP) will not function."
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.