Firewall & banking

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by chattycathy, Apr 1, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. chattycathy

    chattycathy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Posts:
    226
    Hi everyone. I've been using the paid version of Online Armor 4.5.1.431. Soon it will be time to renew and I've had it with this program. The constant popups and telling it to remember and then it doesn't is ridiculous and very annoying. I've tried to get help on their web site and their forums, which has moved, and found that others are having this same problem with no solution and no help with my posts either. My question is, I do my banking online maybe 2 or 3 times a month. I like the banking mode feature of this program but it's not worth the year round aggravation for just twice a month! What firewall would you recommend for banking protection? I am using Avira AntiVir Premium and MalwareBytes Pro with Windows XP Pro 3. Is there anything out that that is similiar but without all the popups AFTER the learning period? In other words, that remembers after you've told it to? Any suggestions?
     
  2. blasev

    blasev Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Posts:
    763
    Hi, u can try the OA 5.0 RC

    or if u want only online banking protection
    u can try trusteer raport, its one of the best
     
    Last edited: Apr 1, 2011
  3. osip

    osip Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2006
    Posts:
    610
    Personally I like Avast IS SafeZone for banking. The best I tried in this field.
     
  4. crapbag

    crapbag Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011
    Posts:
    144
    Hey.
    Just using Sandboxie here. Not unlike the run safer feature in OA. If you're sure your system's clean then why not try browser hardening software? Maybe something like Keyscrambler. Sure the guys here can suggest others. As far as firewalls go I found Defensewalls banking mode pretty good. Minimal popups with it too.
     
  5. Sevens

    Sevens Guest

    You could try what I use on XP. DefenseWall Personal Firewall and Look n Stop Firewall. Both have 30 day trials. Then you could drop the Avira and keep MalwareBytes Pro. DefenseWall will protect as well or better than any antivirus and you install and forget.
     
  6. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    4,953
    Location:
    USA
    I'm an OA beta tester, and I would recommend you try the new 5.0.0.1050 RC. I think you will be more than happy. I rarely ever receive any popups. I don't use anything, but OA now.
     
  7. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    If you're going to use that for banking, make sure you add internet or start/run access restrictions.
     
  8. JConLine

    JConLine Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Posts:
    107
    For online banking I would not use Windows at all, but a Linux LiveCD.

    Jim
     
  9. Kyle1420

    Kyle1420 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Posts:
    479
    Exactly!
    Or dual boot with Linux.
     
  10. crapbag

    crapbag Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011
    Posts:
    144
    :thumb: My bad. I should have clarified. Thanks for the tip. Yeah I've set up a bunch of restrictions and dropped my rights. Before I even start SBoxie up I make sure my system's clean. I give it a blast with MBAM/SAS etc and am running in virtual mode.
     
  11. chattycathy

    chattycathy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Posts:
    226
    Thank you everyone for your suggestions! I will certainly give them a try except OA version 5. This is an example as to why I am fed up with Online Armor. I have had Powerdesk installed for many months and after the first time I used it and told Online Armor to allow it, it has worked fine. But, out of the blue without any changes at all, I try to open Powerdesk and I get the message from OA, Powerdesk is trying to access your computer, etc. I had to tell it again to allow and trust and remember the settings. There has been no updates or changes of any kind to Powerdesk or any updates in Windows to make it do this. It's like I am using it for the first time again but I'm not. It's not just Powerdesk that makes it do this. Programs will be working as they should without any interference from Online Armor and then out of the blue, it's like I am using it for the first time again without any reason for it. It's like I haven't told it before to trust, allow and to remember the settings. It has gotten so bad at times I have had to close it to make it calm down so I can finish whatever I'm doing. Then, when I start it back up, it starts again but not quiet as bad. I watched a video on YouTube just the other day about this new version and it doesn't sound any better! I don't think I want another year of that! If you have any more ideas, please feel free to let me know! Thanks again everyone!
     
  12. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    I too finally got rid of OA and went to Outpost Firewall. I think your best protection is a good long password at your bank site. :)
     
  13. zip

    zip Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Posts:
    359
    Location:
    Mars
    I got rid of OA a long time ago. Went back to ZoneAlarm on XP and Windows 7 Firewall Control on Win 7. Never looked back.
     
  14. zip

    zip Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Posts:
    359
    Location:
    Mars
    +1

    PCLinuxOS on LiveCD. ;)

    If PCLinuxOS worked with my wireless RealTek card, I'd probaly dual boot 7/PCLinuxOS.
     
    Last edited: Apr 2, 2011
  15. JConLine

    JConLine Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Posts:
    107
    Zip,

    That's my setup- Win 7Pro and PCLinuxOS. I run the kde Desktop, 64 bit on an Asus Laptop with Atheros wireless.

    I suggest Cathy try a LiveCD in PCLinuxOS, PuppyLinux, Ubuntu, Mint, any of these will work well for her.

    Jim
     
  16. Less

    Less Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Posts:
    248
    hi there,

    any recommendations for livecd with Sun Java?
     
  17. Kyle1420

    Kyle1420 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Posts:
    479
  18. Less

    Less Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Posts:
    248
  19. PJC

    PJC Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Posts:
    2,959
    Location:
    Internet
    KeyScrambler and/or SpyShelter
    together with
    Private-Browsing Mode
    (Firefox) and Sandboxie.
     
  20. chattycathy

    chattycathy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Posts:
    226
    Thanks again everyone for your suggestions! I hate to admit it but I'm completely dumb when it comes to the term "live cd". How does this work and what do I need? Could someone explain this procedure? Thanks again! :)
     
  21. zip

    zip Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Posts:
    359
    Location:
    Mars
    With a LiveCD the Linux Operating System you have chosen runs off the LiveCD, your hard drive isn't touched. Your RAM memory temporarily becomes your "hard drive" until you shutdown and eject the CD. Nothing can be saved on most LiveCD systems. With Puppy Linux LiveCD you can save settings if you don't finalize the CD.
    http://majorgeeks.com/BurnCDCC_d6540.html is a foolproof way to burn a ISO (LiveCD). Be sure to burn at 1x (CD or DVD).
     
    Last edited: Apr 3, 2011
  22. chattycathy

    chattycathy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Posts:
    226
    Thank you Zip for that good explanation. I will certainly check it out and I really do appreciate it! Thanks again!
     
  23. JConLine

    JConLine Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Posts:
    107
    Cathy,

    You need to download an .iso file from one of the Linux sites. You can get a Linux Mint .iso file from here:

    http://blog.linuxmint.com/?p=1581

    With Windows you will have to have a program like InfraRecorder that will burn an .iso file to CD. After the .iso file is burned, not copied, then reboot with with your Linux CD in in your CD drive. Your computer should boot from your CD drive but if not there are settings in your BIOS to set the boot order.

    When your computer boots from the CD then choose LiveCD, do not choose the Install option!

    Mint will boot, it will load the full Operating System, Firefox, and other programs into RAM and it will be like using a completely different computer. Nothing on your hard drive will be accessed or loaded. This is one of the reasons for the increased security from a LiveCD.

    Enter your network settings to access the internet, go to your bank, do your business, then take the CD out and reboot your computer.

    If this is your first experience with Linux then I suggest you try the 32 bit, Gnome edition.

    Good luck.

    Jim
     
  24. chattycathy

    chattycathy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Posts:
    226
    Thank you Jim for your good instructions. I will check these sites out and give it a try. I've been into computers since the Dos days but this is the first time I've heard of Livecd but it sounds very interesting. I enjoy trying something different and this will most definately be different plus I like how it works! Thanks again!
     
  25. alex_s

    alex_s Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Posts:
    1,251
    SafeZone is not the same as OA banking mode. SafeZone creates a kind of isolated environment for browsing while OA banking mode limits internet range that can be accessible during the session, which protects you from the fishing, DNS spoofing and so on.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.