Firefox's massive overhaul moves to beta

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by lotuseclat79, Mar 21, 2014.

  1. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    67,950
    Location:
    U.S.A.
  2. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,797
  3. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    6,454
    Location:
    USA
    I've been using these builds as my primary browser. I have had no issues with any of the 89 builds from the first beta through this one.
     
  4. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,797
    Good to know. :)
     
  5. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,797
    Looks like 89 is up on the Mozilla FTP server. -http://ftp.mozilla.org/pub/firefox/releases/89.0/
     
  6. reasonablePrivacy

    reasonablePrivacy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2017
    Posts:
    1,394
    Location:
    Member state of European Union
    It is in Snap Store's (Canonial apps repository for Linux) latest/candidate channel as well:
    Code:
     latest/candidate: 89.0-2       2021-05-31 (544) 185MB -
     
  7. plat1098

    plat1098 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2018
    Posts:
    1,067
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    Has anyone gotten it (v. 89) via the internal updater yet?
     
  8. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,797
    Not yet. I don't think it will be until tomorrow.
     
  9. plat1098

    plat1098 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2018
    Posts:
    1,067
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    OK, thanks, Trooper.
     
  10. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    6,454
    Location:
    USA
    It should hit the updater today. The RC2 was the final. Same checksum.
     
  11. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    67,950
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    FYI. Firefox 90.0 Beta 1 released June 1, 2021. Available via Internal Updater (24.1 MB - 64-bit).

    The Firefox Beta page's Download button downloads Firefox Setup 90.0b1.exe (51.2 MB).
    Choose which Firefox Browser to download in your language.
    Release Notes.
    System Requirements.

    Also, Firefox 90 for Developers (Draft page, not complete)
     
  12. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    67,950
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    FYI. Schedule Update.
     
  13. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    67,950
    Location:
    U.S.A.
  14. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    67,950
    Location:
    U.S.A.
  15. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    14,384
    Location:
    Slovenia
    Firefox now autoupdates on Windows even when not running
    https://www.bleepingcomputer.com/ne...autoupdates-on-windows-even-when-not-running/
     
  16. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    3,970
    Wasn't that introduced longer ago? To have firefox updated with windows updates?
     
  17. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    6,454
    Location:
    USA
    Nope. It runs a service for elevation but it does not update when Firefox is not running.
     
  18. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,797
    Can you run stable and beta on the same machine? Are there any new tools to do this?
     
  19. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    3,970
    you install any build on one OS without tools, firefox is able to separate profiles since version 67 (dedicated profiles). There is no need to use a portable, but it may help to keep it easier. But be aware that you cannot use a portable as a standard browser without tricks and tweaks, then you better deal with a regular installation.
     
  20. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    3,031
    if what you mean by "standard browser" is default browser, you wouldn't want to do that anyway. because it wouldn't be a portable browser anymore.
     
  21. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,797
    Well I have stable installed and wanted to install beta. But it just wanted to upgrade my stable build to beta. So I backed off for now. I guess Mozilla still wants to have everything run under one profile unless specified otherwise? That is why I asked if their were any tools tricks etc. Thanks.
     
  22. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    6,454
    Location:
    USA
    Not sure if this is current enough but it looks like something that should work.
    http://forums.mozillazine.org/viewtopic.php?f=23&t=2821799
     
  23. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    3,970
    It is "default, thx. The portable starter (portableapps.com) is able to transport command line parameters to firefox. this would mean that you should not make firefox as default browser within firefox but with a small tool (forgot the name) to make the starter as the "default browser".

    anyhow additional to the portable you can add the portable profile folder to the profiles.ini so you can reach that profile from any firefox with the profile manager "firefox.exe -p".

    The portable itself resists portable, but you construct links around it in your windows (dont know about linux and others) to concat the portable to windows functions.

    or the other way round. install firefox as usual and put the portable profile into profiles.ini or select it by folder with the profile manager (create profile > select folder)

    dont mix up builds with profiles are mentioned in the next text:

    Thats wrong - different firefox builds on one profile means 100% data loss and failures. please read again or investigate for "firefox dedicated profile"
    The KB is outdated. as written firefox is able to select its profiles based on its installation folder, dedicated profiles since v67. you can install any build and it will create its own profile and use this forever as long you dont change path or name. and firefox builds will warn if you use a profile which is generated from itself because this will result in failure and data loss (no joke).
     
  24. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    6,454
    Location:
    USA
    Good to know. That was all I could find in the time I had to look.
     
  25. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,797
    Thanks @xxJackxx and @Brummelchen

    So I just have to change the path to where it is installed and I am good to go?
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.