Firefox's massive overhaul moves to beta

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by lotuseclat79, Mar 21, 2014.

  1. lotuseclat79

    lotuseclat79 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    5,102
    Last edited: Mar 21, 2014
  2. mattdocs12345

    mattdocs12345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013
    Posts:
    1,785
    Location:
    US
    If I wanted Chrome I would just download one. WTF is wrong with mozzilla teamo_O I hope iceweasel and seamonkey dont' fall for this nonsense.

    If menubar disappears completely then I will run Internet Explorer in Wine....on Linux.
     
  3. Nanobot

    Nanobot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Posts:
    238
    Location:
    Neo Tokyo
  4. Masterblaster

    Masterblaster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2013
    Posts:
    260
    Location:
    USA

    This is why the reboot
    Usage
    Chrome 46.60%
    IE 24.64%
    Firefox 20.37%
    Safari 5.06%
    Opera 1.33%
    Others 2.00%
     
  5. mattdocs12345

    mattdocs12345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013
    Posts:
    1,785
    Location:
    US
    Why do I have to add an extension to have a normal browser. How hard is it to leave it as an option.
    Thankfully iceweasel team will probably take care of this. But I dont longer recommend firefox to family and friends.
     
  6. noone_particular

    noone_particular Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Posts:
    3,798
    For the same reason you needed to install an app like StartIsBack in order to get a normal desktop on Win 8, because some developer thinks that it's their place to tell users what they want. In both cases, when an application or extension is needed just to get back what you had, the new version isn't worth having.
     
  7. Robin A.

    Robin A. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Posts:
    2,283
    Have used it for 30 minutes. No complaints, I like it.
     
  8. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,129
    Location:
    USA
    Is this actual usage or simply the number of downloads/installs? As for Chrome how much is due to the fact that it's bundled with numerous apps? I often see it on my customers' PCs and they don't know how it got there or what it is. To my knowledge Firefox is not bundled which means that people actually have to choose to download and install it.
     
  9. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,129
    Location:
    USA
    Firefox doesn't suddenly become Chrome because they change the look a little. Firefox remains far ahead of Chrome in terms of customization and extensions IMHO.
     
  10. Wroll

    Wroll Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Posts:
    549
    Location:
    Italy
    I don't understand the fuss about about this change. Now we will have curvy tabs and a button was moved from the tab bar to the address bar. Or did I miss some other changes?
     
  11. allizomeniz

    allizomeniz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Posts:
    906
    Mozilla need to go back to school and learn the meaning of too much too soon. There are a few people who always have to have the latest and greatest, but for me personally they've become a joke.
     
  12. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    8,699
    No status bar.
    Moronity.

    Mrk
     
  13. Wroll

    Wroll Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Posts:
    549
    Location:
    Italy
    Oh, haven't used that thing since ages because of these stupid wide monitors. All my buttons were moved on my address bar.
     
  14. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,030
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    Gotta agree with Wroll here, I've been running the beta on my notebook & it seems OK. Certainly not the disaster I thought it would be. I haven't used the status bar on Fx for sometime. I don't really miss it. Admittedly it doesn't have the speed of Maxthon (for me anyway) but it's quite responsive. ABP & NoScript work fine. I reckon I will be able to live with the final release, the beta's not bad at all.
     
  15. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    4,052
    Location:
    USA
    Same here. It's not as bad as I thought it would be. It really doesn't bring as much change as I thought it would.
     
  16. Q Section

    Q Section Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Posts:
    771
    Location:
    Headquarters - London & Field Offices -Worldwide
    Maxthon used to and probably still does call home in a surreptitious manner which the developer admitted to after it was squeezed out of him (figuratively speaking). This is not to say Firefox or other programmes do not.

    A third-party firewall with user control is necessary to catch and stop this behaviour.

    Best regards
     
  17. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,030
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    Yeah, I expected more of a drastic change. I can still drag the GUI icons where I like them, have DDG as my default search engine and customise it with a persona. :)
     
  18. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,030
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    I'm shagged then 'Q' as I have a Maxthon Cloud account! Nearly every browser I like to use, whether Android or Windows, phones home. o_O
     
  19. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,976
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Seems to be more Developer Changes (What's New) than anything else, at least in this Beta 1. So far, this version is working pretty good.
     
  20. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    8,046
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    LOL, still need to check it out, but I did see some screenshots. I was thinking the same thing. :)

    You know what´s a joke to me, ~Possibly offensive comment removed~

    I´ve noticed that there is a delay in loading search results when you search from the address or search bar. It´s because they are redirecting searches.

    They are probably getting paid for this stuff (by Google for example) and don´t bother to fix this. :thumbd:
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 22, 2014
  21. Austerity

    Austerity Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2013
    Posts:
    367
    Location:
    Georgia / USA
    Massive overhaul? You mean there is a possibility it could a) load fast, and b) load pages fast?
     
  22. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,030
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    Let's not get ahead of ourselves. ;) :D
     
  23. cnople

    cnople Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2013
    Posts:
    48
    Location:
    UK
    Does it still have the Menu bar? I didn't see it in the screenshot.
     
  24. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,976
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    cnople, via the New Customization Mode, Show/Hide Toolbars, you can make the Menu bar appear.
     
  25. TheWindBringeth

    TheWindBringeth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012
    Posts:
    2,089
    I downloaded the portable apps version of "FF 29 Beta 1 Rev 2 with Australis UI" (http://portableapps.com/news/2014-03-20--firefox-portable-29.0-beta-1-released) recently. Played with it *after* disabling my network connections (since it lacks the protective configuration/extension changes my normal FF has). Some things I recall noticing:

    - No status/addon bar or ability to create one. Having a "standard" bar where multiple extensions can display persistent status information is quite useful. Some would naturally prefer that being at the bottom as well. In part because it helps to keep status separate and visually distinguish the bottom of the window/page.
    - You can move some toolbar items to the same horizontal band as the menu bar, but can't move the location bar up there. Which is a reasonable thing to want to do and something I've often seen done.
    - The location bar and tab bar appear permanently joined with the tabs on top, which may account for why the location bar can't be moved up to the menu band. This arrangement may be desirable in a several ways for those who use tabbed browsing. However, not everyone does use tabbed browsing or would want to. Supporting tab-free arrangements is a pretty logical thing to do. The rigid arrangement/limitation will be a nuisance for some.
    - The "Bookmark this page" and "Show your bookmarks" buttons are joined and inseparable. Poor assumption here... that all users will want both.
    - The back/forward buttons and refresh button being permanently attached to the location field creates some inconsistency in UI elements and may not be desirable to some.
    - Developer tools should be individually place-able on toolbars.
    - Sign-in to sync should be a removable/hide-able item so admins can discourage its use.

    I think these customization limitations will be.. justly... disappointing to some users. One of the main rules of UI design for personal devices is "maximize customization" because what's best for a user greatly depends on personal preferences, any physical limitations they have, the tasks they commonly perform, the form factor of their device/display, etc. I think Mozilla could have and should have done better.

    Could you please elaborate on that second sentence and what you did to substantiate that conclusion? Have you examined network activity to verify some kind of redirection? If so, please explain what you saw. If not, no need to reply.
     
    Last edited: Mar 22, 2014
Loading...