Firefox

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by maddawgz, Aug 25, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. maddawgz

    maddawgz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Posts:
    1,277
    Location:
    Earth
    Hi peeps when i was lookn at firefox Process it says 30.304K didnt realise it was a bit of a hog? that's the biggest thing on the pc ? I realise its a safe browser.. but is that normal? MD
     
  2. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    Yes very normal. With six extensions and one webpage loaded I have 31092K.
    It never bothered me, because I like Firefox.
     
  3. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    thats nothing. its known to get up to xxx,xxx
     
  4. maddawgz

    maddawgz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Posts:
    1,277
    Location:
    Earth
    ahhhhhhh thanx never noticed b4... ok glad its all fine :D
     
  5. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,648
    Location:
    Hawaii
    It also leaks memory -- or did they finally fix that?
     
  6. JRCATES

    JRCATES Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Posts:
    1,203
    Location:
    USA
    Hi bellgamin,

    Not yet. Word is that supposedly that won't TRULY be fixed (probably not really even addressed) until the release of version 2.0.

    So it's still leaking and using memory, but I've discovered a small little workaround. Minimize (NOT CLOSE) the Firefox browser and then maximize again - just for a split second. While it's a bit annoying to do every so often, the memory does drop quite substantially.....
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.