Firefox & YouTube

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by samy, Apr 5, 2020.

  1. samy

    samy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2008
    Posts:
    186
    When I am using Fierfox I cannot open any YouTube movie . I always got the warning: "An error occurred . Please try again later".
    The same YouTube movie can be opened using Google Chrome or Explorer.
    Which setting do I have to modify/add in order to solve this problem.
     
  2. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    3,479
    which adblocker and antivirus is working?
    assuming you are using vulnerable windows 7 you probably dont use Defender + MSE!?
     
  3. Spartan

    Spartan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2016
    Posts:
    841
    Location:
    California
    Disable your adblocker and try again. I use AdBlock Plus for all my browsers and never have an issue.
     
  4. samy

    samy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2008
    Posts:
    186
    HI
    i am not using an adblocker. I am using Eset and Malwarebytes anti exploit. I disabled both and the problem is still there.
    Why when using Google Chrome or Explorer I have not this issue.
    I am suspecting some setting within the firefox "Tools" "Options" .
     
  5. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,766
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Hi samy, perhaps you ought to try testing with a new Firefox profile. It takes only seconds. Is the thing to do.

    You shouldn't be having issues watching videos in YouTube using Firefox.

    Bo
     
  6. samy

    samy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2008
    Posts:
    186
    Hi
    I uninstall Firefox and reinstalled it. I got the new Firefox profile. The problems remains.
     
  7. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    2,124
  8. samy

    samy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2008
    Posts:
    186
    Hi IMBD
    I activated the test. The attached YouTube video (in the test) worked..
     
  9. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    2,124
    so it's either a security sw or dns server issue.
     
  10. samy

    samy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2008
    Posts:
    186
    I already changed some settings from the Firefox "Privacy and security" page and turn-off protection on YouTube websites (add it as exception).
    this does not solve the problem
    Regarding the dsn server, IMHO I don't thing it is the issue since with other browsers I don't have a problem
     
  11. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    2,124
    sam, dl ff portable from portableapps.com and see if the issue persists.
     
  12. kronckew

    kronckew Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Posts:
    343
    Location:
    CSA Consulate, Glos., UK
    have you tried Help-restart with addons disabled? if you are syncing your 'new' installation may be picking up and reinstalling the cause from the cloud. If that works, re-enable the addons one at a time till you find the culprit.

    FF 74.01 x64 works for me...
    youtube.jpg
     
  13. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    3,479
    disabling wont help, you need to uninstall - start with MBAM uninstall first. but i would bet its more ESET to blame, first disable SSL scanning.
     
  14. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    5,915
    Location:
    USA
    Though I primarily use Firefox most of the time, YouTube is the one site where I don't as it tends to suck. If you don't want to use Chrome the new Edge has been fine for me as well.
     
  15. Azure Phoenix

    Azure Phoenix Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2014
    Posts:
    1,237
    *MBAE

    Malwarebytes Anti Exploit, in this case.
     
  16. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    3,479
    thank you for the correction. but i dont think that MBAE is causing this solely because eset also has an anti-exploit module
    http://help.eset.com/glossary/en-US/technology_exploit_blocker.html
    they may collide.

    about the error message
    https://support.google.com/youtube/thread/10329866?hl=en
    https://support.google.com/youtube/thread/32344218?hl=en
    (to read last comments - could be yt itself)

    solution have several methods
    https://medium.com/@sumona7chatterj...n-error-occurred-try-again-later-dd22c165934f

    i am not able to reproduce the message with ublock/umatrix whatever i block i only got the waiting circle, no message. (chromium)

    beside MBAE i would try a new profile when eset's blocking module (webfilter) is not the issuer.

    other solutions for firefox:
    https://support.mozilla.org/de/questions/939314?&mobile=0 (disabling video downloader)

    yesterday no trouble here. sorry.

    option: portable firefox to verify if it is the profile or firefox itself
    https://portableapps.com/support/firefox_portable
    if it works, then it may be the profile.
     
  17. samy

    samy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2008
    Posts:
    186
    Hi Brummelchen
    Thanks for the interesting information.
    I disabled all the protective functions from Eset, stopped all MBAE protection, Disabled the three Firefox plugins and restarted the browser
    with Add-ons Disabled (i.e. in the browser safe mode). the problem is still there.
     
  18. summerheat

    summerheat Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    Posts:
    1,865
    Create a new profile by executing

    firefox.exe -P

    and see if the problem persists. You can always switch back to your old profile if you want.
     
  19. samy

    samy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2008
    Posts:
    186
    Hi Summerheat
    Created a new profile. It WORKED.
    I understand that this new profile will become my default one?
    meaning the previous one will be "forgotten"?
    Thanks


    Hi again
    (I edited the thread above)
    The problem was solved when using the new profile.
    after switching on the PC the problem re-occurred ?
    .
     
    Last edited: Apr 7, 2020
  20. samy

    samy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2008
    Posts:
    186
    Following my thread above
    I created a new profile . The problem remain.
     
  21. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,766
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Samy, after you created the new profile, at first you said things were working OK, right? If that was the case, then perhaps an extension you added afterward is whats causing your issue. What did you add? After creating the new profile, you have to be aware of changes you make in Firefox and extensions you add, as is likely something you had in the old profile is what was messing things up for you. So, you don't want that in the new profile, or you ll end up with the same problem. If something in the old profile was causing your issue, you really want to identify what it was. Because otherwise, if you make the new profile pretty identical to the old one without knowing what caused the issue, then you ll end up with the problem in the new profile as well. This is probably why you have the problem now in the new profile.

    Bo
     
  22. wat0114

    wat0114 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Posts:
    2,900
    Location:
    Canada
    @samy

    Preferences->General->Performance, uncheck "Use recommended performance settings", then uncheck: "Use hardware acceleration when available" ...see if that makes a difference. Obviously creating a new profile worked until after a re-start, so it seems you were led down the right path.
     
  23. samy

    samy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2008
    Posts:
    186
    wat0114
    1. unchecked as above
    2. created a new profile (checked that boxes are also unchecked)
    3. problem remains

    Bo
    After creating the first profile (it was the first time) I "enjoyed" opening all types of YouTube videos. I imported bookmarks from a file were bookmark file is save. After re-booting the computer the problem appeared on the new profile.
    I remove the profile, and created 6 new profiles (one each time), without success.
     
  24. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    13,771
    Location:
    Slovenia
    Could this be related to your problem?

    YouTube borked when users enable Firefox anti-fingerprinting
    https://www.bleepingcomputer.com/ne...hen-users-enable-firefox-anti-fingerprinting/
     
  25. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    3,479
    privacy.resistFingerprinting was swapped from the TOR project
    https://wiki.mozilla.org/Security/Fingerprinting
    https://www.privacy-handbuch.de/handbuch_21v.htm
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.