Firefox WebExtensions - Two years later, functionality test

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Mrkvonic, Nov 23, 2019.

  1. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    9,827
  2. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    13,024
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Yes exactly, Tab Mix Plus and Classic Theme Restorer were killed, and that made FF unusable to me. NoScript also became a complete mess with a horrible GUI. But I don't blame WebExtensions, I blame Mozilla. These features should be a standard on any browser.
     
  3. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    9,226
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    It's not so bad, Super-Kevin!

    Fx.jpg
     
  4. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    9,827
    Not bad. Just not as fabulous as it should be.
    What you got there in your browser?
    Mrk
     
  5. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    9,226
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    ext.jpg

    Only these extensions.
     
  6. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    2,083
    isn't "jsto&o" redundant, since you can do it via ubo's cp?
     
  7. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    9,226
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    Probably. I just like a toggle on/off switch in the GUI, like back in the day with SeaMonkey.
     
  8. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    2,083
    fair enough. :thumb:
     
  9. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    9,226
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    It's much easier. lol
     
  10. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    2,083
    you know that it's ubo toolbar popup ui i'm talking about, right? not the dasboard. bc, it's just one more click and the toggle button (per site) is just there.
     
  11. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    9,226
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    Yes, but a GUI toggle is still faster and simpler. If I change adblockers it would still be there. I use the same toggle on Opera (Ubuntu).
     
  12. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    2,083
    ok, i take your point. :thumb:
     
  13. Pharao

    Pharao Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2014
    Posts:
    81
    Well, web extensions as the name tells, allow content manipulation at some extent leaving you without control over your browser's functionality.
    This is intended and is in fact an incapacitation of the user. People must use the browser as prescribed by the developer.

    XUL based (legacy) extensions give you the freedom of both, manipulation of web content and adapting browser functionality to your needs.
     
  14. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    9,226
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    When I said SeaMonkey, I actually meant K-Meleon. Although with an extension I could do something similar in SM. Toggling JS on and off is the nearest I can get to NoScript without actually using NoScript.
     
  15. Joxx

    Joxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Posts:
    1,561
    Yes, Firefox stopped being "our browser". Fortunately Palemoon carries the torch.
     
  16. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    2,083
    i don't like the idea of having too many extensions installed. bc, the way i see it, the more extensions you have, the more you're exposed to attacks.

    https://blog.jscrambler.com/case-study-mitigating-browser-extension-attacks/

    https://www.slashnext.com/flaw-reinforces-browser-extensions-as-potential-attack-vector/
     
  17. Pharao

    Pharao Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2014
    Posts:
    81
    Technically there's a huge difference how toggling in SeaMonkey and K-Meleon works compared to how it works in web extensions.
    In SeaMonkey and K-Meleon, execution of JavaScript is disabled at browser level. That's how things should be done.
    Web extensions are forbidden to access internal preferences of the browser. Hence extension devs are forced to apply workarounds.
    Such a workaround is to block/unblock JavaScript in web content (web extensions - dirty approach) instead of toggling on/off by disabling execution at browser level (legacy extensions - clean approach).
     
  18. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    9,226
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    I have seven extensions. That's hardly extravagant. I doubt I'm exposing myself to attack by very much. Considering most of them contribute to browser hardening.
     
  19. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    9,226
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    OK, thanks. It still blocks JS at some level though. Which is all I want.
     
  20. wat0114

    wat0114 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Posts:
    2,869
    Location:
    Canada
    I agree. Too bad Firefox lacks the option to disable javascript on a per site basis. It can only be disabled globally in about:config, but that's pretty useless for granular control of websites or top level domains. Chrome has the option in settings to disable javascript globally, and allow on a per site or top level domain basis. The option in uBO extension, as pointed out above, works very well at least, or the extension used by @Daveski17. Still, every browser should have some sort of half decent Javascript control built-in.
     
  21. jpcummins

    jpcummins Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Posts:
    516
    Location:
    Terre Haute, IN
    My system is Windows 10, Home Edition. I have had Firefox on my computer for at least 3 years, both Chrome and Opera are working fine. Recently a Mozilla Crash Report that said, "Firefox had a problem and crashed. We'll try to restore your tabs and windows when it restarts" appeared when I tried accessing Firefox. I could get no farther than the Mozilla Crash Report, the browser would not load. I tried uninstalling Firefox and reinstalling the latest edition, which was the same edition I had, to no avail. As a last resort I entered Safe Mode and accessed Firefox but did not see anything I recognized, so I reset Firefox. This resulted in a folder, Old Firefox, appearing on my desktop. I still could not access Firefox, so I uninstalled Firefox and deleted the folder, Old Firefox, from my desktop. Each time I uninstalled Firefox I used Revo Uninstaller Pro. I have again downloaded the latest Firefox Edition but before I try installing it I wanted to ask other Forum Members if there is anything else I should do to assure all Firefox Files are gone. Any suggestions or recommendations will be appreciated. And as always I would thank you in advance.

    John
     
  22. wat0114

    wat0114 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Posts:
    2,869
    Location:
    Canada
    Hi jpcummins,

    i went through pretty much exactly the same scenario a few weeks ago with Firefox on Linux MX-19, except without using Revo or any 3rd-party uninstaller, and also ended up with a Firefox old folder on the desktop after uninstalling Firefox, deleting any leftover Firefox directories then re-installing Firefox, finally fixed the issue. I've concluded Apparmor (mandatory access control) probably caused the issue, so unfortunately it's nothing related to Windows 10, but I wanted to share my experience with you because of all the similarities.
     
  23. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,742
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Hi JP, (to do a clean install) delete the Mozilla folders in AppData Local and Roaming and also delete the folder in Programs files if it was not deleted automatically when you uninstalled Firefox.

    Bo
     
  24. jpcummins

    jpcummins Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Posts:
    516
    Location:
    Terre Haute, IN
    Thanks for replying Bo, I appreciate it very much. in AppData there is no Mozilla folder in Local but there is in LocalLow and Roaming. I presume it is sale to delete the Mozilla folders but will wait until I hear back from you before doing so. There is no Mozilla folder in Program files, so I presume Revo UnInstaller Pro did its job. Once I delete the Mozilla folders I will reinstall Firefox and hopefully it will work as it did. Again, thanks so very much.

    John
     
  25. jpcummins

    jpcummins Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Posts:
    516
    Location:
    Terre Haute, IN
    Thanks for replying, I do appreciate it very much. Not sure what caused Firefox to act up but after I delete the Mozilla folders, as Bo suggested, in AppData I will reinstall it and hope for the best. Again, thanks for replying.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.