Firefox SpeedUp

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Rico, Feb 19, 2016.

  1. Rico

    Rico Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,692
    Location:
    Texas
    Hi

    I'm using FF 44.0.2, can this be speed up any? I think I'm down to the 'add-ons' I want to keep. Seems some sites FF is frozen until the last graphic loads, then I can maneuver.

    Thanks
    Rico
     
  2. hayc59

    hayc59 Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Posts:
    2,124
    Location:
    R.I.P. Roger(roddy32)
    Hello Rico ;)
    This is what I use, works pretty darn good also works for palemoon
    SpeedyFox
    http://www.crystalidea.com/speedyfox
     
  3. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    3,871
    What does this extension do that moonchild the pale moon developer cant do..?
     
  4. CHEFKOCH

    CHEFKOCH Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Posts:
    301
    Location:
    Swiss
    Nothing, it's just gimmick CCleaner can do the same, it removes or compress the sql files and that's what they call 'speed up' you can do it or just delete the file and it will re-created the next time (or simply use Ccleaner).
    Normally you not need it, because FF, Thunderbird usually cleaning some databases automatically (if maintenance service is present/running). You can also tweak a bit about:config to set new limits for the databases/cache and that mostly have the same effect. Or in other words, placebo tools. :mad:
     
  5. Rico

    Rico Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,692
    Location:
    Texas
    Thanks I'll give it a try & post back!
     
  6. Rico

    Rico Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,692
    Location:
    Texas
    Well that was pretty easy & seems much better,

    Thanks Hacy59
    Rico
     
  7. hayc59

    hayc59 Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Posts:
    2,124
    Location:
    R.I.P. Roger(roddy32)
    Rico, your very welcome
     
  8. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    753
    Further to what CHEFKOCH said.
    If you open up CCleaner, then click on the Applications tab, then tick "Compact Databases" in the Firefox section, it will pretty much do the same thing.
    It reduces the size quite considerably.
     
  9. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    2,280
    Hmm, "Compact Database" Firefox shows nada and SpeedyFox Firefox profile run reports optimized 9 files was 13MB now 5MB....re-run was 12 now 5....re-run was 5 now 5...
    Edit: ran Firefox for 5minutes. SpeedyFox run reports optimized 9 files was 12MB now 5MB.....o_O
     
    Last edited: Feb 20, 2016
  10. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    1,732
    omg what some crap and st**p hints - forget ccleaner messing up firefox files - same for compacting anything. firefox will unpack on next startup. firefox is pretty able to do its own stuff best.

    if firefox feels slow remove rubbish extensions or plugins. plugins are installed from 3rd-party. check also for adware. antivirus is also lowering performance.

    if you want proper help insert infos from
    Code:
    about:config
    (not raw) and
    Code:
    about:plugins
    here!

    in worst case reset the profile and start over
    https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/refresh-firefox-reset-add-ons-and-settings
    if firefox feels sloppy when scrolling turn off smooth scrolling in settings.
     
  11. Nebulus

    Nebulus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2007
    Posts:
    1,582
    Location:
    European Union
    This sounds like a plugin problem (Flash?). I encountered such a problem some time ago and the only solution was to block the offending web element using an ad-blocking extension.
     
  12. Rico

    Rico Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,692
    Location:
    Texas
    @Brummelchen - Thank You for your comments!

    I do not understand the following:

    (not raw) and

    are you asking for a post, containing contents of about:config & about:plugins ??

    I'm pretty security conscious & very sure adware is not a problem, my AV is Emsisoft IS, not sure if this runs heavy compared to the competition.

    Sorry don't know why : makes the face & removes the p from plugins. Not intentional
     
  13. CHEFKOCH

    CHEFKOCH Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Posts:
    301
    Location:
    Swiss
    He want to know if your changed something and he or we need something to work with. Mostly or in some situations firefox can speedup by several known about:config tweaks or by removing or fixing old things, same like plugins/extensions, so he/we could directly see.

    But I guess just use a fresh profile and then mostly it should work well.
     
  14. Rico

    Rico Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,692
    Location:
    Texas
    The only change to FF was the addition of "Speedy Fox" mentioned earlier this thread
     
  15. Rico

    Rico Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,692
    Location:
    Texas
    from about:plugins

    Cisco, open H264 video codec

    Adobe Primetime content decryption

    Adobe AAM detect

    Google Update

    NVIDIA 3d vision <not a gamer>

    photo gallery

    Intel Identity Protection

    Google Earth Plugin

    ITunes application detector

    shockwave flash

    PDF xchange viewer
    ______________________________

    From tool > addons << not previously mentioned >>

    DuckDuckGo Plus
    Ghoestry
    HTTPS everywhere
    No Script
    Roboform
    Stummble Upon
    Ublock
    WOT
     
  16. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    1,732
    uninstall ghostery, wot and noscript. ublock replaces all. no wonder why firefox acts slow for you.

    comments, hints, solutions:
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/threads/ublock-a-lean-and-fast-blocker.365273/

    for the plugins you have to judge yourself if you need all - openh264 and adobe prime are the html5 video codecs. if you need flash, ok, but the rest seems futile. firefox itself is fast enough for almost all systems and uses average values. some people offer special compiled versions for different cpu - i dont care.
     
  17. Rico

    Rico Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,692
    Location:
    Texas
    Brummelchen - Thank You! Amazing
     
  18. CHEFKOCH

    CHEFKOCH Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Posts:
    301
    Location:
    Swiss
    A lot of useless extensions/plugins, remove if possible all of them.
     
Loading...