Firefox problems

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Antarctica, Oct 15, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Antarctica

    Antarctica Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Posts:
    1,620
    Location:
    Canada
    Is it only me or someone else having problem with the latest version? Some pages dosn't display correctly or hanging down. For exemple Wilders Forum pages takes a long time to open and then there are some strange Icons all over the place.o_O

    I don't have this problem with IE.

    And my PC is free of virus or Spyware.

    http://img394.imageshack.us/img394/9041/screenhunter19rm.png
     
  2. snowbound

    snowbound Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Posts:
    8,723
    Location:
    The Big Smoke
    I recall reading here some time ago of similiar issues with past versions.

    If i remember right, clearing the cache, closing FireFox then opening it again fixed it for most.....:doubt:


    snowbound
     
  3. Antarctica

    Antarctica Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Posts:
    1,620
    Location:
    Canada
    Thanks snowbound for your answer. I had already tried clearing the cache but it doesn't solve the problem.:(

    Is there a way to come back to the previous version, because I didn't had this problem before ugrading?
     
  4. snowbound

    snowbound Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Posts:
    8,723
    Location:
    The Big Smoke
    I'm sure there is but i would just hold on for a bit as i'm sure someone will see your thread here and have a fix for this issue. ;) :D

    snowbound
     
  5. Mele20

    Mele20 Former Poster

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Posts:
    2,495
    Location:
    Hilo, Hawaii
    Do you have another profile you can use? This could be caused by a corrupted profile. If you don't have another one already, create one and see if the problems go away. If they do, then your current profile is corrupt. Profile corruption is at the root of many, if not most, Fx problems. If a new profile works properly, you can move bookmarks, etc. into the new profile.

    Your problem might also be caused by an extension that needs upgrading. Have you tried upgrading all of them after getting the latest Fx? I am still on Fx 1.0.6 because I know I will have problems with my extensions if I upgrade very soon after a new release. I also have had many problems with corrupted profiles that cause all sorts of odd things to happen with Fx. When you upgraded to the latest version did you do it clean and start with a new profile into which you brought your bookmarks and some other files that contain your settings? Best when upgrading to a new version of Fx is to save those files, then delete the profile. Then clean install the new version of Fx. Then import the settings you saved from the old profile to the new default profile.


    http://kb.mozillazine.org/Profile_folder
    http://www.mozilla.org/support/firefox/profile
     
  6. Antarctica

    Antarctica Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Posts:
    1,620
    Location:
    Canada
    Hi Mele20,
    Thanks for your help. Sorry for my dumb question. How do I create a new profile in Firefox?:oops:
     
  7. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,802
    Location:
    Texas
  8. Antarctica

    Antarctica Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Posts:
    1,620
    Location:
    Canada
  9. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,802
    Location:
    Texas
    You can also try Firefox in the Firefox safe mode. It should be on your start menu. All it does is disable any extensions and themes you use.
    If you have no problems while running in the safe mode, and extension could be the source of the problem.
     
  10. Antarctica

    Antarctica Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Posts:
    1,620
    Location:
    Canada
    Thanks all, it was one of my extension who was creating the problem. After removal, everything came back to normal.
     
  11. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    so the rest of us may know, may u say which extension it was?
     
  12. Antarctica

    Antarctica Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Posts:
    1,620
    Location:
    Canada
    It was RIP extension.

    http://rip.mozdev.org/
     
  13. Mele20

    Mele20 Former Poster

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Posts:
    2,495
    Location:
    Hilo, Hawaii
    AI'm glad you found the problem. I have heard others say RIP has problems with the new version. I love RIP so I am staying with the older version of Fx for a bit.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.