Firefox Ghostery Plugin blocks website tracking

Discussion in 'privacy technology' started by Cutting_Edgetech, May 7, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Cutting_Edgetech

Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

I've been using Ghostery plugin for Firefox for several months now. Its a great little addition to add to your privacy setup. Its intended for blocking websites from tacking you on the net. The user does not have to answer any pop-ups. It blocks everything on its own, and notifies the user what it is blocking in real-time. I recommend it to anyone that cares about their privacy. It has never caused me any problems that I have sometimes experienced when using applications that block cookies or script. Every webpage I have ever visited worked flawlessly with this plugin.
    -https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/ghostery/?src=cb-dl-mostpopular

Last edited: May 7, 2012
  2. Cudni

Cudni Global Moderator

Indeed a good tool to have in the arsenal

3. klarm

klarm Registered Member

I've been using it for a while now. wasn't sure if it is really blocking or just notifying. glad it does indeed block :thumb: .
    cheers.

4. Pinga

Pinga Registered Member

5. vasa1

vasa1 Registered Member

6. vasa1

vasa1 Registered Member

BTW, there's another thread existing on Ghostery here.

7. guest

guest Guest

So what? where are the good reasons except the paranoia?
    The program do what is says.

Report it https://getsatisfaction.com/ghostery
    https://getsatisfaction.com/ghostery/searches?query=ooyala&x=12&y=7&style=topics

Last edited by a moderator: May 8, 2012
  8. vasa1

vasa1 Registered Member

I don't use it. I just installed it the one time to "look inside".

9. kupo

kupo Registered Member

The author of Ghostery already made a statement about this. Please stop spreading FUD. Ghostery is a great tool and now a featured extension in Firefox.

10. Pinga

Pinga Registered Member