Firefox Extensions

Discussion in 'other security issues & news' started by ErikAlbert, Sep 20, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    I have Firefox v1.0.6 and the extension "Tabbrowser Preferences v1.2.8.4"
    causes some kind of message in red at the bottom :

    %tabprefsDTD;
    ^

    If I disable the extension the message is gone.
    If I uninstall the extension the message is also gone.
    So it's certainly THIS extension and not caused by any other extension.

    Is it possible that this extension doesn't work properly with this version of Firefox and has somebody else the same trouble ?
    If nobody else has that problem, it's probably something on my computer that causes this message.
     
  2. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    are u sure its the latest version? try creating a new profile and then installing the extension.
     
  3. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,719
    Location:
    Texas
    Try the Tab Mix extension. Same thing but better in my opinion. :)
     
  4. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    if ur a risk taker, try TabBrowsing Extension. its the ultimate tab extension tho highly not recommended by mozillazine forum and possibly buggy (for some). also for ronjors suggestion, theres tab mix plus.
     
  5. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    Firefox Extension "NoScript v1.1.3" vs. Options

    If you click on "Tools/Options/Web Features" in Firefox you have two options :
    1. Enable Java
    2. Enable JavaScript
    I didn't mark both options, so they are both disabled.

    But I don't understand the relationship between NoScript and these options,
    they both have something to do with Java but they seem to do the same thing.

    If the extension "NoScript" is installed, does the value (enable/disabled) of the options "Java" and "JavaScript" still matters ?"
     
  6. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    Thanks Ronjor I will try that one.

    @WSFuser.
    No I'm not really a risk taker. My Firefox is the most important tool on the net :)

    EDIT :
    Thanks Ronjor, the extension "Tab Mix v0.2.2.3" seems to be normal, at least no red message.
     
    Last edited: Sep 20, 2005
  7. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,456
    I have the same opinion... :)
    http://tmp.gary.elixant.com/
     
  8. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    Yes, I'm very sure. I check these things before I write a post.
    I'm not a beginner, I work as an Application Analyst, I'm just not a security expert :)

    And I still don't know if that extension is a trouble or not.
     
  9. solarpowered candle

    solarpowered candle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Posts:
    1,181
    Location:
    new zealand

    http://www.noscript.net/features . He says that you shouldn't disable JavaScript in Firefox, i.e. Tools|Options|Web Features|Enable JavaScript option must be checked (JavaScript enabled), otherwise JavaScript is disabled everywhere even if allowed by NoScript .
    JavaScript is blocked by default. You will be able to allow JavaScript execution selectively, on the sites you trust. If you left click on the icon, you can change JavaScript permissions using a simple menu for each of these sites that you allow javascript on either temporarily or always.
     
  10. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    Are you sure about this ? Did you really test this ?
    I always disabled Java and JavaScript from the beginning, even when NoScript wasn't installed.
    And I also tried that icon to turn javascript on and the layout of that website changed. I could be wrong but I have a good memory.
    I will try to find a practical example to prove it.

    EDIT :
    Yes you are right both options have to be enabled and NoScript takes care of the rest.
    Thanks alot for the info and my memory sucks this time.
     
    Last edited: Sep 22, 2005
  11. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    2,824
    This is a known problem. I reported it earlier this week on dslreports.

    Download the newest version. That should fix it. If not, I have another work around for you. ;)
     
  12. solarpowered candle

    solarpowered candle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Posts:
    1,181
    Location:
    new zealand
    another good extension that works fine with no script is adblock plus http://bene.sitesled.com/adblock.htm . These can be updated often through > tools > extensions > check for updates.
     
  13. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    Adblock was my very first extension, so I have that one already.
    I'm still reading and translating these countless extensions LOL.
    Nevertheless THANKS for mentioning it.
     
  14. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    I assume you are talking the extension "Tabbrowser Preferences".
    I removed that one and replaced it with "Tab Mix", but I need some time to evaluate it.
    Thanks for your post :cool:
     
  15. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    2,824
    Yes sir. It is fixed in the newest version. But if you have tab mix, you are all set. ;)
     
  16. Notok

    Notok Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Posts:
    2,969
    Location:
    Portland, OR (USA)
    I ditched Tabbrowser Preferences for Tab Mix Plus as well, and not looking back.
     
  17. Pollmaster

    Pollmaster Guest

    That's the main problem with firefox. Profiles tend to get corrupted at the slighest drop of the hat.
     
  18. lotuseclat79

    lotuseclat79 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    5,089
    Hi solarpowered candle,

    I have been using NoScript for a while now (version: 1.1.3.2), previously with Firefox 1.0.6 and now with an updated Firefox 1.0.7, both Java and JavaScript enabled. Recently, I downloaded and installed the netcrafttoolbar extension version 1.0.3.3 for Firefox (also the IE version, not yet installed) which blocks phishing websites.

    To my surprise, when I now login to my ISP (to my homepage), NoScript blocks and notifies me the option to allow about:blank! As we all know, about:blank is a hijack, but this is from my homepage at my Trusted ISP, not all websites, but maybe one other I have run into.

    I am wondering if the netcraft toolbar introduced the about:blank pest or not. The block does not happen on all websites, so I am wondering if my ISP's website is infected or am I?

    Scanning has not revealed anything, however, I did get a hijack alert from Spy Sweeper which I disallowed - don't know if this is the same home page hijack as about:blank or not.

    So, clearly, we must be very careful about the web sites we trust!

    -- Tom
     
  19. Pollmaster

    Pollmaster Guest

    Neither.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.