firefox doesnt work when launched by an external app

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by WSFuser, Oct 23, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    if firefox is not open and i doubleclick on a favorite or click on a link within an app or anything else that will cause firefox to start, it will not be able to load any site. if firefox is already open and i do the same, then it works fine. any ideas?
     
  2. FirePost

    FirePost Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    212
    Process control from your firewall?
     
  3. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    firefox does load, the problem is that sites wont load, and afaik firefox is allowed. also at the mozillazine forums someone suggested setting IE as default browser then resetting firefox as default. im not at the afflicted firefox installation, however, so i will try on thursday. meantime any other ideas are still welcome.
     
  4. Eldar

    Eldar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Posts:
    2,126
    Location:
    Vilvoorde (Belgium)
    What you could try is opening Explorer and going to Extra > Map Options.
    Select the Tab 'Files types' and navigate to the URL extension.
    Does it say to Open with Firefox?

    If not, change and select through navigation the Firefox executable.
    Be sure to check the box to 'Always open with'.

    It should work now. :)
     
  5. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    i repeat: firefox does load, the problem is that sites wont load.
     
  6. Eldar

    Eldar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Posts:
    2,126
    Location:
    Vilvoorde (Belgium)
    Oops! My apologies. ;)
     
  7. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,802
    Location:
    Texas
    Did you try building another profile? Are a lot of users having this problem?
     
  8. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    well due to the problem mentioned in this thread i uninstalled firefox and the profile. the problem was caused by the webmail compose extension, but now i have this problem and i wont be able to test firefox til thursday.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.